We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel & Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely modern hotel & Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel within 18 months and I loved it all over again! Rooms are modern and spacious and everything was still in good condition like the first time round. Dark curtains to block out light so you get a good sleep and very sound-proof rooms, we didn't hear a thing. The pool and bar on the top floors give you an awesome view, worth the trip upstairs to enjoy. Lots of lifts to use so you are never ever waiting for too long, even at busy check out time.

We were on level 22 and we were down in Melbourne this time for our anniversary. I wrote to the hotel in advance to see if they would consider any "extras" for our stay, and we were very lucky to receive a room upgrade & champagne which was a fantastic surprise. Thanks Crown Metropol Reservations team. In terms of the view, the first time I stayed at this hotel, I had faced the docks, this time round it was the city.

The hotel is connected well to the Crown Complex below with shops, restaurants and food hall. It is also well connected to the mutiple bridges that head across to Flinders St or the Convention centre. Despite the bleak Melbourne weather that we experienced (again!), everything was in a reasonable walking distance and you just have to love the tram network so close by. Southbank is just a short walk away with more restaurants (although there's a bit of construction happening along the way at the moment).

Rooms for improvement (only very small suggestions though!) when they renovate down the track would be the height and thickness of the privacy wall of the bathrooms....at the moment they have the Japanese 3/4 height look which although looks great with the room decor, it just isn't practical and I would hate to be sharing the room with a friend/work colleague at conference, or that I didn't know too well (!) Also the showerhead could definitely be improved, it is too small/cheap looking, and not luxurious enough for such a large shower space (and luxurious hotel), and it sprays in all sorts of directions - minor improvements but worth the mention to the hotel designers that may be reading this!

Room Tip: (1) City luxe views are nicer than the other ones (2) Check in/check out times are ridiculously cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    671
    198
    68
    45
See reviews for
328
860
82
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The room was amazing! There was a long walk from the lift to the room though, not good for heels! We had a party at crown so location was amazing for us! In saying all this the service was horrible! when we arrived we waited to get into drive way for valet. Once in the line for check in was nearly out the door. After waiting 30 mins the service lady was extremely rude, unhelpful and had no people skills what so ever making eye contact once!! Once we go to our room we rang a little while later for our car so we could go to a dinner, they advised us that we had to go down stairs before they would bring our care up! We waited 25 mins down stairs for our car and again no sorry or thanks for waiting. So many better hotels in melbourne as we are usually in one every second weekend because we live on the peninsula. Id rather get in a taxi to a hotel that delivered excellent service as it really does make the stay alot more pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Immaculate and spacious rooms. Feels brand new and very contemporary. Most comfortable bed and pillows I have come across in a hotel.

View from my room was not so great, but full height windows make it very airy.

Part of a large casino complex with a dozen or so restaurants and an eclectic food hall. Location is 5 mins from the river and is particularly handy for the conference centre and trams.

One gripe is that there its no free wifi anywhere.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Metropol when it first opened, and again last year.
Rooms are comfortable and very modern in style.
When in corridors it is a bit dim, and can feel a bit deserted at times. Service is generally pretty good - but feels a little generic.
I guess more than anything we are just devestated that Maze has gone!!
If you want to stay at the casino, this is a reasonable priced option - with only a short walk around a bend and you are in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Family went and stay here last year and we were put almost at the top level of the hotel which had scary high views but very nice. Comfortable room and bed but we all agreed that the pillows were not at all comfortable and felt like the bed was hot and cold during the night for some unknown reason.

Overall, another good hotel, for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you enter the delicately scented, oversized lobby you know you are in for a touch of class. The modern clean lines of the foyer carry through the rest of the hotel, with subtle designer touches adding to the sense of quality and style.

I stayed in a gorgeous room on level 23 and absolutely adored falling asleep with the lights of melbourne flickering through the giant floor to ceiling windows. The black walls behind the bed add a touch of sexy to the room, without being overpowering. The decor is warm and stylish, the bed was big and inviting.

The rest of the property is just as sexy, and if you are staying there you must take time to visit the pool on level 27 and have a drink on level 28. And in the morning, the breakfast buffet at Mr Hive was yummy!

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and i will be back for more!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my partner and I have to say I am very impressed. The hotel has exceptional views of melbourne, extremely clean, spacious, and fantastically designed. The Hotel staff were also extremely friendly, anything you need they can get you. The hotel is conjoined to the Melbourne casino and is conveniently in the heart of Melbourne.
The hotel also have a bar called '28' which is located on the top floor offering amazing views of Melbourne. The decor of the bar is brilliant and a must if you stay at the hotel.
This hotel offers the best of the best! I cant find anything bad to say, absoultely loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.