We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is a good hotel for anyone with business on the Southbank side of Melbourne. It is clean and modern.

Room Tip: Choose your view - each room gives a different view of the Melbourne skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    874
    531
    156
    56
    34
See reviews for
244
659
65
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Circleville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Metropol had everything you would need for you vacation stay or your business needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

A very good hotel located near the river and the Crown casino About 15 minutes walk to the main part of the city. Shops and takeaway food are available close to the hotel by following the walkway on level 1 to the end and going down the escalators. There is a store and liquor outlet open until 11PM on th eopposite corner to the hotel. For a relaxed experience, walk to the river, and walk north to the city on the same side as the casino. You can cross to the city at several points where there are pedestrian bridges. Walk the city laneways where there are lots of restaurants and funky little shops. La Camera in the Southbank shopping centre does a great inexpensive breakfast (and lunch special right now). This is on the same side as the casino (walk East, same side as river) just before the main traffic bridge that has the railway station opposite (Flinders St). There are quite a few bars/restaurants E of the Casino, where you can sit and watch the world go past. Also, the bar on the river, on the "pontoon" under the last pedestrian walkway before Flinders St Train station is a bit of fun!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went to a convention held in the Crown complex, and having never been to the Crown complex we decided to stay in the Metropol for the 3 days of the conference. I'm glad we did.
Having eventually found the right entrance, we were welcomed and from then on, everything just flowed with absolute professionalism. My car was parked and the bags were dealt with, they appeared in our room when we registered 8 hours later. That night we went out to dinner, and were amazed by the Maze ( yes it's said to be in trouble, but we found it great, if a little pricey).
The room was well sized, although the view from our 15th floor room included a large carpark in the fore ground, looking across to Melbourne was quite interesting.
Still the bed was good with 4 huge pillows. The room has a lot of nice touches - like a selection of magazines and a box with additional little bits we might need ( like a shaver and toothbrush). There was lots of storage space, nice robes and slippers were also provided. Our contacts with the hotel staff were both pleasant and quite helpful.
So, we had a great weekend, and incidentally had a good conference as well. Thank you Crown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Went to a show at Palms in the Casino so spent the night in the disabled suite. The view from window was over the carpark so nothing to see there but the room was very good. Showere and toilet all nice and accessable. A trip down to level 1 saw us able to wander over the overpass into the casino and shops for an enjoyable evening returning to our room which was quiet from inside or outside traffic noises. Car parking was a tad expensive being $40 but it was valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had booked to visit the Tutankhamun exhibition at Melbourne Museum on Saturday morning, and needing a place to spend the preceding night, we decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Crown Metropol. After coming in on a late flight, navigating the darkened streets of Melbourne was tricky, but we were guided by the large illuminated 'crown' sign atop the hotel buildings. However, this sign didn't take us to the hotel, but to the Crown Towers - to avoid delays, check and see that you have the correct Crown destination as there are three 'Crowns' within a block of one another. Once we found our way to the Metropol, though, we were treated like royalty and everything was taken care of very professionally and courteously, despite the lateness of the hour. I loved the little touches that define a stay such as this: the selection of magazines in the room, the boxes of mints at reception, the cuddly dressing gowns, the Vidal Sassoon hairdryer with retractable cord ... it's the attention to detail that makes it special. The room itself is a large rectangle with ample wardrobe space and thoughtfully designed layout. The bathroom is designed to maximise ambient light and lend an air of spaciousness by not having walls between it and the room - privacy is obtained by the use of frosted glass and/or pulling sliding panels across the open space between the bedroom and the bathroom. We had breakfast at Gordon Ramsey's Maze restaurant which was pleasant, but a little inflexible in the options available. There's the Full English breakfast or the Continental, and that's it - take it or leave it. All I wanted was coffee and a croissant but that could not be catered for (perhaps this failure to cater to customer needs is why, according to a whisper I heard, Maze restaurant is not doing well and may be closing soon!) We asked to leave our car and baggage at the hotel while we went to see King Tut and even though we had already checked our, we continued to be treated like royalty by the concierge and car park valet staff. I highly recommend this hotel - it's spacious, luxurious and treats the customer as king!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and i stayed at the Metropol for one night last week and found it fantastic. The room was modern and clean and being a fussy person that i am on where I stay, I definitely recommend staying here. We ordered room service for breakfast, though expensive (as you would expect at a 5 star hotel) it was delicious and was sent up very quickly after the order was made.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.