We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Stayed at The Loft!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun
Ranked #23 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Stayed at The Loft!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed one night at The Loft suite at Crown's newest hotel, and we were both very impressed. The loft is a corner suite with a spacious living area, seperate bedroom and an amazing bathroom (technically has two bathrooms but the main bathroom is fantastic!!). They have three TV's (living area, bedroom, bathroom) and I was just super impressed. The bath was HUGE and extremely luxurious, with a massive seperate shower area. Perfect for a relaxing couple's weekend away, but the living area is just begging to be used for pre-drinks (no parties allowed lol). The only fault I would say was there were a few visible stains on the couches, which were quite light in colour. I would reccomend they change their couches to a darker shade.

We tried the room service, which is all from Gordon Ramsey's MAZE restaurant. Since we are both vegetarians, there was hardly anything for us to eat. We ordered the risotto and the pasta, and both were average. Not a fan of MAZE.

However, I AM A FAN of the Spa - Isika! We chose a one-hour massage in the couples room (am extra $50 per person - totally worth it!). The room is massive, with a huge free-standing bathtub, seperate bathroom with a steam room, two comfy couches and of course, the massage tables. The set up was awesome, I really loved it! We used the room about 40 minutes prior to the massage - was so relaxing. The massage itself was also one of the best I've had, and I will definately be back!

The service at the front desk was also wonderful!

Overall, I loved it!

Room Tip: Go get some bath balls from LUSH for the bath - you must utilize this bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    594
    172
    62
    39
See reviews for
277
734
70
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Likes: Great location within the casino complex, contemporary decor and furnishings, very comfortable bed, high quality soaps, shampoos etc, awesome pool overlooking the city

Dislikes: Hard to find reception when you first turn up. Otherwise everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Nice place to stay, new clean and comfatable. Close to many things, public transport, convention centre and of course Southbank.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

a very chic looking room with a nice bed and bathroom, modern decor, ipod dock which was handy and good size flat screen TV. The hotel is in a great location just a short stroll to the main Crown complex. The only thing I didn't like was the colour of the carpet and on check-out, someone had charged their breakfast to our room but otherwise a lovely experience, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

the hotel is modern and very well equipped
in a good position in mlebourne, close to all you need and on good transport links

they were very busy at check in time 4.30 Friday had to wait around 20 minutes to check in
breakfast saturday was a disaster, paid for level 28 access, tables not cleared, no butter on the table, has to find a waiter to ask for butter, to be told it's on the table, which is wasnt!! not offered tea or coffee at all, had to track down another waiter to ask for a tea and one black coffee, after 15 minutes asked another person, to follow it up. after asking a third person, two tea's arrived, it had now been half an hour . the tea pot was so full when i pushed the plunger down, boiling tea spewed all over the table............... not good. i think they were having a bad day, but it did not give a good start to our day either and we paid 315.00 for the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have stayed at Crown Towers before (in 08) and it was excellent ... and Metropol was equally strong.

Hotel is nice, design is fantastic, location central. Rooms are big, bed is comfortable, good pillow selection, large bathroom, strong shower, plenty of room, fast internet, good breakfast, excellent gym, amazing pool and helpful staff. When traveling for business these are the mandatories and they nailed them all ($38 breakfast buffet was a little rich however ...)

It was effortless which is what you want in a business hotel. Loved my stay, will keep this as my regular as it is very close to the Westin and Park Hyatt in being the elite in Melbourne CBD accomm.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I recently booked a room at Metropol as part of a suprise birthday for my partner. When booking I mentioned this to the staff member and we had a lovely bottle of complementry bubbles and chocolate waiting in our room which was much appreciated. Unfortunately I had especially requested a room at least above the 15th floor and the booking agent told me she had requested a room with a city view which was exactly what I was looking for - however arrived to a room on the 12th floor overlooking the carpark :-( VERY DISAPPOINTING as it didnt give me the wow factor of a view I was looking for.
Room was spacious and bed was extremely comfortable. Ipod dock was also great as we forgot to pack an iphone charger. Bathroom was spacious but thought the clear glass door on the shower and toilet was a bit crass. Offered very little privacy. Ok for us but we both acknowledged that it definately would not be for everyone.
Location was great. Confused by previous comments about Casino being a distance, if it was any closer it would be in the closet! Loved the airwalk so you don;t have to venture outside in the freezing cold to get anywhere inside the complex. Room was lovely and quiet though despite being so close.
Bath robes and bathroom additions were definately up to standard. Thank you for the mini toothbrush and paste as I forgot to pack mine!
Blinds were also great for those needing a sleep in after a big night at the Casino - kept the room in total darkness.
Overall a great stay, mostly just disappointed with th room level and view - if I had of known I would have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.