We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely....if you upgrade to a studio room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Melbourne to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely....if you upgrade to a studio room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Up until about a year ago, whenever I wanted a weekend in my city but away from home I would book a room at the Crown Towers to enjoy a weekend of fine dining, a few drinks and some time to relax and unwind. The Crown Towers is one of my favourite hotels in the world but about a year ago my partner and I thought we would try the new Crown Metropol and we were not disappointed. We always book a studio room which is a corner room with floor to ceiling windows which makes the room feel bigger than a standard room (I am pretty sure the rooms are also bigger than the standard room). The hotel is quiet and the staff are excellent. I would definately recommend this hotel to visitors coming to Melbourne.

Only bad thing.....the breakfast at Maze has never been good. Last time I was there a week ago, every single thing was cold.... Was a disappointing end to a nice visit for the night at the Metropol.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,211
    672
    198
    69
    45
See reviews for
328
861
84
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Couldn't fault this hotel, the staff were fantastic, the rooms comfortable and spacious. The swimming pool and gym on the 27th floor has the best views in Melbourne.
Loved every minute

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

stayed on a 3 night package recently, worth the discount rate of $196/night, (excl breakfast). The rack rate is many times that, so shop around! Rooms were spacious, with a lounge, king bed, great views across to Port Phillip Bay, fantastic beds you melt into. You must check out the top level enclosed pool and spa, with views over Melbourne, do a few laps. A block away from the Southbank precinct, and the river, but well worth the walk. You can take a short cut through the casino, so shops and undercover the whole way to the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending a conference. The service was good. Our room was brilliant - very cleverly designed bathroom which makes the space appear bigger. Comfy bed, especially pillows. My favourite was the pool complex on floor 27, large infinity pool and spa with lots of sun loungers in the internal sun deck - great to swim and lounge while taking in the view of Melbourne.

A bit too far away from the buzz of central Melbourne CBD, but having said that there is SO much to do in the Crown Complex, you could come here for a week and never actually have to leave the Crown Entertainment Centre.

OK value for money - I guess because the hotel is quite new, everything is clean and high quality and so it doesn't seem so bad to spend a bit extra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What I like best about this hotel is that the standard rooms are larger than most hotel rooms, in a modern and functional style.

The bathrooms are clean and large. They have a shower only, no baths.

The internet access is wi-fi (not cable), but it is sufficently robust and fast (but $22/day).

The desk is large, the wardrobe is large, there are floor-to-ceiling windows, the beds are comfortable and the linen good, and there is a large widescreen TV on the wall.

The top floor infinity pool, gym and spa area are excellent, with views across Melbourne.

I have on occasions found the service levels variable, particularly at reception, but on the latest occasion everything went smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel, last time, my room got flooded with water running down the inside of the window.!! This time I am pleased to say everything worked well in our room. We had access to 28 which is a club option upgrade you can buy when booking, I recommend it as you have pre dinner drinks and canapés with sweeping views of Melbourne's sky line. This is also your venue for Breakfast, which was nicely presented although service was a little slow and disjointed. Overall we had a nice experience, staff need to smile more and be a little more on the ball with Service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Modern, clean, fantastic location! Three words says it all!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience contemporary luxury in its purest form at Melbourne's Crown Metropol hotel.Your senses will be heightened with the many special touches that make every stay both relaxing and memorable. From the moment you take in the hotel's elegant form and enter the uniquely designed reception area, you will feel a sense of peace and calm that makes every visit to Crown Metropol a welcome escape from day-to-day life.- Winner of the Luxury Accommodation award at the RACV 2011 Victorian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Crown Metropol Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Metropol Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.