We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment style accommodation in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of About Melbourne Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added About Melbourne Apartments to your Saves list
About Melbourne Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Apartment style accommodation in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at AM a couple of times now, and I would highly recommend it. As the rooms are located in a residential building, it really feels like a home away from home. I most recently stayed in Apt. 401 in mid February 2013.

Self contained, and very well appointed, the kitchen has a gas cooktop with rangehood, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and a full-size fridge. It is kitted out with all the cookware, utensils and crockery you will need if you want to be 'self sufficient' and cook all your own meals (there are IGA and Woolworths supermarkets within walking distance). There is also a small stereo unit with iPod dock on the kitchen benchtop which is a great touch. Oh and there is a dining table with seating for four!

However, given its fantastic location you are within minutes of Chinatown, the Greek precinct, and the centre of the city for all manner of culinary delights. Its so easy to jump on a tram and be connected with Lygon Street in Carlton, Federation Square, the Arts Centre, Southbank, or cross to the other side of the city to Docklands.

Inside the apartment there is a fantastic couch setup to stretch out upon, a big screen LCD TV & DVD (with a selection of discs on offer) but there is no pay TV just the digital free to air, but this is not an issue in my opinion. The bedroom is really nice and comfortable and there is plenty of robe space and coat hangers provided. The bathroom is quite spacious (featuring a large shower recess - no bath) and also includes a washer & dryer which is extremely handy for longer stays and another aspect which truly enables you to be self-sufficient within the apartment.

There are not many negatives, but as has been mentioned by others, the free-standing AC unit in the living area is very noisy, and while the west facing apartments can get quite warm in the afternoon in summer, it doesn't take too long to cool the room down so you don't have to put up with the AC noise for long. The windows are treated with block out blinds so they help reduce the heat load. There is a fan provided for the bedroom.

Personally I don't have a problem with it, but you need to be aware that being in the heart of the CBD, and above a laneway with bars and restaurants, there can be some noise from late night revellers, and the sound of rubbish trucks and glass bottles being collected in the early morning. Having said that, there was very little noise coming from adjacent apartments. As it is a modern, Architect-designed building, you can expect that the construction conforms to current standards and has good acoustic separation, given that it is a residential tower.

Overall, with what is provided in the apartments, I have found that they are excellent value for money. If you don't mind not having a reception desk and sometimes having to check yourself in (keys left for you in a lockbox in the lobby) if arriving out of business hours, but instead rather than feeling like you are staying in a motel/hotel you have your very own 1-bed apartment in the heart of Melbourne, then About Melbourne Apartments is the place for you!

Now I am tempted to try one of the larger penthouse apartments ... :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon! Hopefully in one of our Penthouse Apartments next time :)

We appreciate your thorough feedback on so many aspects of our apartments, and will certainly take it all on board in hopes of improving on our offering next time!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    26
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
51
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woomera, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice, clean 1BR self contained apartment, walking distance to most of Melbourne's main attractions, including the majestic MCG. Great welcome, Good security, fantastic access to all kinds of food outlets, but a couple of little items disappointed us. One was that there was only one aircon in the living area and none in the bedroom. Admit that this was apparently mentioned in the ad, but the heat wave in Vic made it uncomfortable. Speaking of aircon, the other disappointing item was that if you used the cooler (which we had to) you had to go out on the very squeazy balcony, and get the bucket hidden down beside the compressor, and empty it periodically so it wouldn't overflow down to the people below. That's a first and totally unnecessary @ $185 per night. Don't get me wrong...we will consider staying again....but not in Summer.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the air-conditioning provided during your stay. We do feel that we advertise what we provide very clearly in order to avoid not adequately meeting guests expectation:
"Fitted reverse cycle air-conditioning/heating in living area/fan in bedroom"

Unfortunately as you mention there has been a heatwave in Melbourne recently, something over which we have no control, and unfortunately in these plus 37 degree conditions most air-conditioning struggles to cope. We did provide you with an additional portable air-conditioner in an effort to provide some relief. However we do suggest to guests that are particularly sensitive to the extreme heat that they choose alternate accommodation in buildings that are fitted with central air-conditioning.

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We always stay in Crown casino hotel whenever we visit Melbourne. But 2weeks ago, I click through to check on some of the apartment because we just had a 7month olds baby boy.
We need a place to feel like home and more space for our son to crawl around.
So I picked About Melbourne apartment. And it was a surprise for us when we walked in the apartment. Opened the balcony door and wow, such a peaceful view. We looked around to make sure everything nice and clean for our son. And yes, we ve got everything that we need, even more what we expected. Thankyou.
Later that night and a day after, we discovered that the apartment is right in the heart of Melbourne with all the shops, restaurants, bar.... around, what a place to stay, lay back and relax without any worries of where to go, what to eat.
We really enjoyed our stay. Its definitely a place for us to come back in the future.
Thankyou Amelia for the service.
Not sure about the parking though. The price and the limited carspace???

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

For your next stay please note we do have very limited underground security car-parking available at our property, but it MUST be booked with your stay (prior to arrival). Unfortunately during your stay there was a very high demand and all our on site car-parking was already fully booked!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfect for the people wanting to feel like true Melbournites.

We were three visitors sharing a double bed and a queen bed and there was enough room for us all. The set up and location of these apartments are unbeatable. It is impeccably decorated with all the small features of home - complimentary dvd's, cookies and cereal. Everything in the room is for you to use, free of charge. Very modern furnishings and very clean. Walking distance to the CBD and very easy to find for taxi's.

We did have one problem. There was a lot of miscommunication between us and the people who ran the apartments. There is no reception to the building (it is literally an apartment block) so we got there completely unsure how to get to our room. We had not been informed that we would need to let ourselves in, and didnt receive a phone call, in fact I had to call and then be told nobody was on site and then were given instructions over the phone as well as a run down to the apartment on my phone call. This also became difficult in sorting out payment. Also on our final morning, a knock on the door revealed the cleaner ready for us to leave. We had not been told a check out time and there is no place for baggage storage.

Disregarding this the location and set up of the apartments are unbeatable and is perfect for visitors wanting to feel like they live in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are sorry to hear you felt there was a high level of miscommunication regarding your booking and our procedures! We do try to provide guests with as much information as possible about our apartments and location and check in procedures to avoid this however we understand this can sometimes be overwhelming. We will certainly take your feedback and suggestions on board and try to streamline our service for next time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I had a few nights at this apartment in November. Our room was comfortable and well designed. The kitchen was well fitted out so that we could buy food from the markets and make our own meals. Great restaurants in the laneway downstairs and close to theatres and good bookshops. The manager was really helpful and organised a car to take us to the airport. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer! Fantastic apartments and location! Definitely will be staying here again. Within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Stayed on the third floor with a cute balcony overlooking a quaint laneway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in one of these funky, comfortable and very well located apartments for a week over Xmas. It was our 2nd time here and we were impressed all over again. Our apartment was on a higher floor this time and slightly bigger, representing really good value for money. It was large enough for us to host a dinner party for 6 people one night, using the great little BBQ on the balcony and the well equipped kitchen.

The furniture and inclusions are all colourful and great quality. Comfy leather lounge, great bed with quality linen, excellent pillows. Ameilia has really put some effort and care into setting up the apartment. The little touches like an expresso machine, ipod dock and chocolate chip cookies were greatly appreciated. Also, when we had to ring her on Xmas night (!) due to a slight problem on check-in, she was really helpful and got the issue sorted first thing the next morning

All of Melbourne's wonderful sporting facilities, shops and restaurants are right outside your door here and it works out cheaper and easier than a hotel. This is definately our Melbourne address whenever we visit!

Room Tip: The apartment with the BBQ on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to About Melbourne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Melbourne Apartments

Address: 16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — About Melbourne Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Melbourne Apartments is a boutique accommodation business, supplying AAA Tourism Four **** Star rated modern, spacious, luxurious One and Two Bedroom self-contained apartments to accommodate both the corporate and leisure traveler to Melbourne. About Melbourne Apartments are located in the east "Paris End" of Melbourne CBD, in a residential building designed by renowned architecture firm Daryl Jackson. The building is located in Liverpool Street, a lane way which runs between Bourke and Little Bourke Streets (parallel with and in-between Exhibition and Spring Streets). Our apartments are located in the heart of Melbournes' theatre district in between Her Majesty's Theatre and Princess Theatre, near China Town, major Bourke Street tram stops and Parliament Train Station, and are located a short tram or train ride from Melbourne's best attractions, renowned shopping precincts, bars and restaurants. We are within easy walking distance to Melbournes' sporting precinct Rod Laver Arena, MCG, AAMI Park and Federation Square and only a quick tram ride (free on the City Circle tram) to Etihaad Stadium and Docklands, Southbank and the Crown Promenade or Queen Victoria Market, St Kilda beach, or the Brunswick/Lygon/Chapel Street dining/shopping precincts. You could pamper yourself and relax at one of the salons or day spas within metres from our front door, or indulge at one of the nearby award-winning cafes, restaurants or bars, perhaps Gingerboy or Longrain next door, or the infamous Pelligrinis, George Calombaris' Press Club, or MoVida! Or you can simply walk to nearby Fitzroy gardens for a 'barefoot in the park' experience! Our inner-city location offers a luxurious boutique accommodation alternative for travelers and an exciting array of activities to do or see close by! About Melbourne Apartments is a cosmopolitan contemporary refuge for travelers with discerning tastes. Each of our apartments is individual with a distinct style and aesthetic, the beauty of which is to enhance and differentiate your stay each time... no matter if it is your first or hundredth visit to Melbourne and About Melbourne Apartments! At About Melbourne Apartments we offer a menu of apartments for guests to choose what best suits their needs: from One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments, to One Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, and our Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment. About Melbourne Apartments provides you with a taste of inner city Melbourne apartment living at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your About Melbourne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage About Melbourne Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.