We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well decorated, well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of About Melbourne Apartments

Save Saved
You added About Melbourne Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
About Melbourne Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“well decorated, well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfect for the people wanting to feel like true Melbournites.

We were three visitors sharing a double bed and a queen bed and there was enough room for us all. The set up and location of these apartments are unbeatable. It is impeccably decorated with all the small features of home - complimentary dvd's, cookies and cereal. Everything in the room is for you to use, free of charge. Very modern furnishings and very clean. Walking distance to the CBD and very easy to find for taxi's.

We did have one problem. There was a lot of miscommunication between us and the people who ran the apartments. There is no reception to the building (it is literally an apartment block) so we got there completely unsure how to get to our room. We had not been informed that we would need to let ourselves in, and didnt receive a phone call, in fact I had to call and then be told nobody was on site and then were given instructions over the phone as well as a run down to the apartment on my phone call. This also became difficult in sorting out payment. Also on our final morning, a knock on the door revealed the cleaner ready for us to leave. We had not been told a check out time and there is no place for baggage storage.

Disregarding this the location and set up of the apartments are unbeatable and is perfect for visitors wanting to feel like they live in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are sorry to hear you felt there was a high level of miscommunication regarding your booking and our procedures! We do try to provide guests with as much information as possible about our apartments and location and check in procedures to avoid this however we understand this can sometimes be overwhelming. We will certainly take your feedback and suggestions on board and try to streamline our service for next time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
49
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I had a few nights at this apartment in November. Our room was comfortable and well designed. The kitchen was well fitted out so that we could buy food from the markets and make our own meals. Great restaurants in the laneway downstairs and close to theatres and good bookshops. The manager was really helpful and organised a car to take us to the airport. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer! Fantastic apartments and location! Definitely will be staying here again. Within walking distance to great restaurants and shops. Stayed on the third floor with a cute balcony overlooking a quaint laneway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in one of these funky, comfortable and very well located apartments for a week over Xmas. It was our 2nd time here and we were impressed all over again. Our apartment was on a higher floor this time and slightly bigger, representing really good value for money. It was large enough for us to host a dinner party for 6 people one night, using the great little BBQ on the balcony and the well equipped kitchen.

The furniture and inclusions are all colourful and great quality. Comfy leather lounge, great bed with quality linen, excellent pillows. Ameilia has really put some effort and care into setting up the apartment. The little touches like an expresso machine, ipod dock and chocolate chip cookies were greatly appreciated. Also, when we had to ring her on Xmas night (!) due to a slight problem on check-in, she was really helpful and got the issue sorted first thing the next morning

All of Melbourne's wonderful sporting facilities, shops and restaurants are right outside your door here and it works out cheaper and easier than a hotel. This is definately our Melbourne address whenever we visit!

Room Tip: The apartment with the BBQ on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your second stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments again very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in these well located apartments for a weekend. Great location to shopping,trams,sporting events and concerts.We were greeted in the foyer then took the lift to our 1bedroom apartment which was light, clean and spacious.. Kitchen looked well equipped but we were to busy deciding where to eat out in this gorgeous city.We didn't even go far as the apartments have some great places for drinks/ dinner in the same block.Coffee machine was loved (as were the bickies)in the mornings sitting out on the balcony in the sunshine.The bed was comfy and the bathroom had lots of nice products to use.
These apartments are good value considering the average hotel prices we seem to be charged in Australia.
Looking forward to finding another reason to visit Melboune and will defiantly stay at About Melbourne Apartments again

Room Tip: The higher floors have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights on the 3rd floor one bedroom apartment which was modern and very clean. Check in was very easy even though the flight was delayed due to bad weather. We had Stephanie meet us at the apartment, she then showed us in and how to use everything. Did experience some noise from the restaurants below, but you do tune out after a couple of nights.

The location is excellent between Bourke and Little Bourke and Russel and Exhibition streets, we found we walked most places as there are an ubundance of cafe's, restaurants, 7 elevens, wine bars and boutique designers. It is also a very short walk to Myers and David Jones in the Bourke st mall. Trams are available on bourke st and taxi stand on Little Collins.

We also used the transfers offered by the apartment and the guys were really friendly and prompt.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again because of how friendly Amelia and Stephanie were, quality of the apartment and location.

Thank you we had a great break and felt very comfortable, we will be back.

Room Tip: 303 worked really well for mother and son. Would recommend to go higher in the building if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The best thing about these apartments is the location. close to shops, bars, restaurants and trams in one of my favourite parts of Melbourne. The apartments are well fitted out with great attention to detail but there are a few problems - the most glaring of which is the lack of internet, (not really clear on their website) which in this day and age is just weird.

The apartments are in a residential block and are in no way sign posted as "About Melbourne". This can be confusing on arrival if you were expecting a reception. The owners own half a dozen or so apartments in the block (none of them being actual penthouses).

In a 10 night stay, my apartment was only serviced once. Personally, I think this should be every two days - but no biggie.

The apartments themselves are great, but can be hot in summer. There are fans and airconditioners in the apartments, but for some reason they are the noisiest appliances in the world. If you like peace and tranquility, this is not the place for you. Its the city, and there are lots of city noises. If you are a light sleeper, pack some ear plugs.

GOOD POINTS:
- Location, location, location
- well fitted out - tvs, washer/dryers, coffee machines, kitchen appliances etc.
- for those who hate hotels, they are nice "home away from homes"
- good attention to detail eg, washer detergent, take away menus, instruction manuals.
- nice balconies.

BAD POINTS:
- No internet/wifi
- beds are double, not queen sized.
- fans/air-conditioners are incredibly noisy
- apartments can get hot
- staff are a bit rude/passive aggressive (not really your hospitality/hotel types)

I guess the big question would be - would I stay there again? Now that I know what to expect - the answer is probably yes, but not in summer. Its a great location, well fitted out and comfortable, but its 2 biggest strikes are how hot the apartments are, and the lack of internet.

Tripadvisor has no "good". only, "average" or "very good". Very good is a bit too much, but Average is a bit too little - so my review would be "Good" if i could...

Room Tip: The western facing ones get hot in summer. try to avoid at this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to review About Melbourne Apartments!

We appreciate your feedback regarding our business.
However, we do very clearly state in ALL of our advertising that we do not provide any type of internet access at our property. Due to our location, the installation of WiFi over 11 floors of this residential building is not possible at this stage due to the very prohibitive costs for our small business. Please rest assured we would very much like to provide some form of WiFi and when we find a solution that ensures we do not have to pass the high costs onto our guests we will certainly take it up! In the meantime we continue to advise guests who require WiFI as a necessity that they are better placed to stay elsewhere more suited to their needs, as the last thing we want is to have guests stay and be dissatisfied with our apartments.

I feel that perhaps some of your criticisms of our business could have been avoided had your accommodation been booked by you yourself, rather than booked and paid for on your behalf. We aim to outline very clearly that we are entirely self-catering apartments located in a residential building, in no way do we claim to be a hotel or to offer the same services as most much larger accommodation businesses provide. Many of the items you have specifically critiqued are clearly outline in our information which was obviously not provided to you by those booking your business trip on your behalf, which I think may have avoided some of the issues you have raised regarding your stay.
Specifically our apartments are fitted with only standard Queen size beds, no doubles?
As the owner/manager of the business I have 15 years experience in the hospitality/hotel industry, and all of our staff are extensively trained and currently working in the industry?
I believe our staff were very quick to respond when you damaged the aerial socket in your apartment whilst using your gaming console, and this was repaired with minimal inconvenience and without any additional charge to you.
In regards to the heat/noise that you brought up, unfortunately you did have some very hot weather whilst you are in Melbourne, and we will certainly take on board your feedback regarding the excessive noise of the cooling we provide and try to improve this for your next visit!

Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to About Melbourne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Melbourne Apartments

Address: 16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — About Melbourne Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Melbourne Apartments is a boutique accommodation business, supplying AAA Tourism Four **** Star rated modern, spacious, luxurious One and Two Bedroom self-contained apartments to accommodate both the corporate and leisure traveler to Melbourne. About Melbourne Apartments are located in the east "Paris End" of Melbourne CBD, in a residential building designed by renowned architecture firm Daryl Jackson. The building is located in Liverpool Street, a lane way which runs between Bourke and Little Bourke Streets (parallel with and in-between Exhibition and Spring Streets). Our apartments are located in the heart of Melbournes' theatre district in between Her Majesty's Theatre and Princess Theatre, near China Town, major Bourke Street tram stops and Parliament Train Station, and are located a short tram or train ride from Melbourne's best attractions, renowned shopping precincts, bars and restaurants. We are within easy walking distance to Melbournes' sporting precinct Rod Laver Arena, MCG, AAMI Park and Federation Square and only a quick tram ride (free on the City Circle tram) to Etihaad Stadium and Docklands, Southbank and the Crown Promenade or Queen Victoria Market, St Kilda beach, or the Brunswick/Lygon/Chapel Street dining/shopping precincts. You could pamper yourself and relax at one of the salons or day spas within metres from our front door, or indulge at one of the nearby award-winning cafes, restaurants or bars, perhaps Gingerboy or Longrain next door, or the infamous Pelligrinis, George Calombaris' Press Club, or MoVida! Or you can simply walk to nearby Fitzroy gardens for a 'barefoot in the park' experience! Our inner-city location offers a luxurious boutique accommodation alternative for travelers and an exciting array of activities to do or see close by! About Melbourne Apartments is a cosmopolitan contemporary refuge for travelers with discerning tastes. Each of our apartments is individual with a distinct style and aesthetic, the beauty of which is to enhance and differentiate your stay each time... no matter if it is your first or hundredth visit to Melbourne and About Melbourne Apartments! At About Melbourne Apartments we offer a menu of apartments for guests to choose what best suits their needs: from One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments, to One Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, and our Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment. About Melbourne Apartments provides you with a taste of inner city Melbourne apartment living at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your About Melbourne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage About Melbourne Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.