We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of About Melbourne Apartments

Save Saved
You added About Melbourne Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
About Melbourne Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We just got home from staying in the third floor apartment for 2 nights... I could have stayed forever. A perfect apartment!!! Perfect size, so comfortable and homely. The location was fantastic. So many restaurants and bars to choose from in the evening, and a variety of coffee shops in the morning. I'm not a good sleeper, but i slept in every morning witout hearing any sounds from outside. We will definately stay there again :)

Room Tip: perfect for a single person or a couple....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We work very hard to ensure the high quality of our apartments and the enjoyment of our guests, and it is lovely to get confirmation we are obviously doing something right!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Amelia Phillips
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fantastic, extremely clean, modern, easy access to public transport, fast walk into the city, couldn't find anything to complain about! Will more than likely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Amelia Phillips
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed in the penthouse apartment for three nights and we were delighted with it's location, space and fitout. Other than a lack of internet access (which we'd planned for based on previous reviews) they have thought of everything we could have wanted for during our stay.

The apartment, while advertised as a penthouse, is actually on the 9th floor of an 11 story building. Having said that the views are lovely looking out towards Spring St, Parliament House, etc. It is convienient to everything, including may good restaurants (both cheap and top end).

We will certainly stay at About Melbourne Apartments on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Apartment 904 is advertised as a Penthouse Apartment due to it being one of the largest apartments in the building including being far more spacious than the apartments on the two floors above!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Amelia Phillips
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

WE stayed in the one bedroom apartment for 3 nights and it was great. The apartment is really comfortable and well located. It is up the top end near Spring street, close to the MCG, Chinatown and we even walked to Lygon Street (15 minutes) one night for dinner. Amelia met us at the building and explained all about the facilities etc. We have stayed in many other apartments in Melbourne on various trips and we will definitely be staying here again. Everything is so close and convenient, it is perfect.

Room Tip: Our one bedroom also had a foldout bed which our daughter used. She actually slept on the couch whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

In regards to the fold-away box bed we provide - it is one of the most expensive on the market offering a fully sprung mattress, this is the first complaint we have ever received about it, however we do recognize as with all fold-away/sofa beds they are of course never the same as sleeping on a regular mattress/bed. We do have Two Bedroom Apartments available which we always recommend for longer stays, as we feel a fold-away bed is a more appropriate for a couple of nights only, and of course we prefer that guests not use our expensive high quality sofas as beds.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week of our 3 week honeymoon and absolutely loved everything about the apartment, being the best accomdation we stayed during our holiday. The location is fantastic and everything in the apartment was what we needed. Very clean and Amelia was lovely. She was able to accomodate us with a carpark at last minute notice. Thank you very much. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Melbourne and will definitely tell our Brisbane friends this is a great place to stay while in Melbourne!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenbrook
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment and once again loved it.
The location is great, apartment very clean and beds very comfy especially after a long day carrying the girls shopping.
Thanks Amelia for the great service and look forward to staying with you again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misgav
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very easy check-in - were met at the apartment by Amelia who gave us a run-down on the facilities as well as useful information about local places (such as where to buy groceries and wine). The place was spotless, and well-equipped with everything you could need, including, for us foreigners, a power-plug converter to allow to connect up with any style of foreign plug, as well as all the basics, and some not so basics (such as cereals for breakfast). The location was perfect, easy walking distance to either attractions of the city, or the free tram that cicles the city. Although the apartment was not large, it was very well laid out, so we had a a very comfortable and usable lounge (with massive TV), comfortable bedroom, and suprising large bathroom (including washer/drier) with a lovely shower.

A great place to stay for a city break!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aboutmelbourneapts, Owner at About Melbourne Apartments, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of About Melbourne Apartments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to About Melbourne Apartments very soon!

Warmest Regards
Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to About Melbourne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about About Melbourne Apartments

Address: 16 Liverpool Street | 225 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — About Melbourne Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Melbourne Apartments is a boutique accommodation business, supplying AAA Tourism Four **** Star rated modern, spacious, luxurious One and Two Bedroom self-contained apartments to accommodate both the corporate and leisure traveler to Melbourne. About Melbourne Apartments are located in the east "Paris End" of Melbourne CBD, in a residential building designed by renowned architecture firm Daryl Jackson. The building is located in Liverpool Street, a lane way which runs between Bourke and Little Bourke Streets (parallel with and in-between Exhibition and Spring Streets). Our apartments are located in the heart of Melbournes' theatre district in between Her Majesty's Theatre and Princess Theatre, near China Town, major Bourke Street tram stops and Parliament Train Station, and are located a short tram or train ride from Melbourne's best attractions, renowned shopping precincts, bars and restaurants. We are within easy walking distance to Melbournes' sporting precinct Rod Laver Arena, MCG, AAMI Park and Federation Square and only a quick tram ride (free on the City Circle tram) to Etihaad Stadium and Docklands, Southbank and the Crown Promenade or Queen Victoria Market, St Kilda beach, or the Brunswick/Lygon/Chapel Street dining/shopping precincts. You could pamper yourself and relax at one of the salons or day spas within metres from our front door, or indulge at one of the nearby award-winning cafes, restaurants or bars, perhaps Gingerboy or Longrain next door, or the infamous Pelligrinis, George Calombaris' Press Club, or MoVida! Or you can simply walk to nearby Fitzroy gardens for a 'barefoot in the park' experience! Our inner-city location offers a luxurious boutique accommodation alternative for travelers and an exciting array of activities to do or see close by! About Melbourne Apartments is a cosmopolitan contemporary refuge for travelers with discerning tastes. Each of our apartments is individual with a distinct style and aesthetic, the beauty of which is to enhance and differentiate your stay each time... no matter if it is your first or hundredth visit to Melbourne and About Melbourne Apartments! At About Melbourne Apartments we offer a menu of apartments for guests to choose what best suits their needs: from One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments, to One Bedroom Penthouse Apartments, and our Two Bedroom Deluxe Apartment. About Melbourne Apartments provides you with a taste of inner city Melbourne apartment living at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your About Melbourne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage About Melbourne Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.