We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once bitten, twice shy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   99 A'Beckett Street | Corner Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Once bitten, twice shy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The noise from the nightclub opposite until 3.00am was horrendous, they need to invest in double glazing.
We booked an apartment with cooking facilities so we could eat in if we wanted but no table. Why have cooking facilities in the apartment and not provide a table? The kettle only worked intermittently.

On the positive side the location was fine(noise excepted) for shopping, markets, trams etc.
Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    119
    50
    22
    22
See reviews for
55
80
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about these apartments is the price followed by the Korean BBQ available at the Jorean/Japanese restaurant opposite. Also close to Vic market which is great at the weekends. Apartment was quite noisy due to bad glazing but not enough to disturb me.

If you are travelling to Melbourne on a budget then this is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

the apartment hotel is opposite a night club so it comes with all the perks of free music in the middle of the night

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We turned up early than the published check in time to reception and were warmly welcomed by the staff. We were given great directions to the room, which offered much more than we expected for the $89 we paid per night (premium apartment). The apartment was definitely small, but had a nice small balcony that you could open up and get some fresh air from. It had full kitchen facilities including a microwave, gas stove, dishwasher, sink, utensils and crockery.Also had a washing machine/dryer combo and ironing board/iron! We were amazed at the cleanliness and and how modern the room was (great shower heads A+!) + it had reverse cycle air-con/heating.

Perfect location, just a short walk away from la-trobe street (which the free city circle tram line runs along). Also a very short walk to the queen Victoria markets. Couldn't have asked for a much better location. Perfect place to base yourself from for a couple of nights, or even longer.

The only weird thing is that the kitchen is right next to the (very comfortable) bed. Wasn't an issue for me - just a good use of space.

Check out was a breeze as well. Handed over the keys and off we went!

In short , couldn't have asked for more - cheaper/better than a hostel, and great spot. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The apartment was good for the price you paid, and suitable for us travelling with a one year old. No noise issues for us and our one year old loved the view of the trams. The lady on reception the first couple of days of our stay was very friendly and helpful. Until check out we were happy with our stay. Unfortunately we will now not return or deal with this business again. Their service and follow up assistance was terrible.

The gentleman on reception the morning we checked out was gruff when we checked out. It was busy. We had thirty minutes until our taxi arrived for the airport so at reception's suggestion we left our two bags behind the reception desk. We were given no bag tags and the gentleman dealt with us whilst being on the phone. On our return from our walk we could only find one of our suitcases. The gentleman was not helpful and did not even seem concerned initially. It was only after I became upset, and people waiting in reception helped us look that he acknowledged the issue. My husband checked another taxi that was leaving with a group of people as the receptionist told us someone had come and picked up our bag moments earlier. Another guest waiting to check in informed me she had been there for ten minutes and no one had taken a bag. The receptionist never offered to take my contact details or offer any advice or information. I took a business card off the front desk and wrote my name and details of the suitcase before having to leave to make our flight. As we were leaving I was quite distressed as I did not feel the matter was going to be followed up at all. I rang the CityEdge phone number from the taxi. I was quite upset. They asked if certain things were done eg. our room checked, details taken, luggage area checked. I explained we checked what we could but had to give our details to reception and little effort was made. They said they would call me back before my flight. I was back in regional NSW before I received the returned call advising the bag could not be located. At 6pm that evening we received a phone call from a male saying he had found our luggage in a taxi at Melbourne Airport. This person arranged thankfully for our luggage to be left at Baggage Services. When I called Baggage Services to arrange the return of our bag they said City Edge were following it up, turns out this person had also been staying at CIty Edge and had just come from there. I called the City Edge number and they said they did not know our bag had been found. They could not assist with return of the bag and my only grounds to appeal this was with a manager in two weeks time when they returned from leave. When I did this I got a wordy email basically explaining how wonderful they were but not responsible for my bag and hence not going to help. By help I mean not only financial help but also help in liaising with or advising of local services.

So in short it cost us over $150, numerous phone calls, and more than a day of my own time for our bag to be returned which arrived home five days after us.

The worse thing of the whole ordeal our son's beloved teddy was in the lost bag that I had put in there before leaving reception thinking it was safer there then with him in the pram.

So yes the apartment was cheap but for the added costs associated for us with this trip we would have been better to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: We asked for a one bedroom apartment so we could put our little man to sleep and still enjoy the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my second stay at this property, having stayed there previously about 12months ago. I picked this property again this time because I wanted a 1bdr place with kitchenette facilities, and this suited the bill ideally for price, location and room type.

The hotel would be best described as cheap and cheerful, and that's not a bad thing in this instance. It at the top end of that scale and I'd happily stay there again. The rooms are not huge, but big enough to be comfortable in without falling over yourself, and they are clean. There are scuff marks here and there and it's not perfect, but it is clean and comfortable.

The only major criticism I'd have is that the bed in my room was 2 singles pushed together to make a double (I picked double, not queen, so I'm not complaining about the size of the bed), but there was nothing, other than the sheet, to hold them together. They really need to be zipped together or something to make the bed a lot more comfortable. The other thing that I'd suggest is that I'd prefer a couch rather than 2 chairs in the room, but that's only a personal preference.

Other than those things, great property, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is an ideal place to stay if you had a family of three to four looking for a service apartment in the central of Melbourne City. The room rate was very good as compared to those 3-4 stars hotel in the city. The location is at the tip of the central city which is very convenience to all the places of attraction. You can easily walk to catch the free tramp to move to the further part of the city. The room is very spacious and clean. There is even a washing/dryer machine in the bathroom. The lounge area which can sleep another adult is spacious to host some friends if need to. I will be back again if I will to visit Melbourne City.

Room Tip: 2 floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel

Address: 99 A'Beckett Street | Corner Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY IN A CENTRAL MELBOURNE CBD LOCATION! Studio, one and two bedroom apartments with a distinctive style born from a desire to provide a striking alternative to mainstream accommodation. The alternative that is competitive whilst offering The Comforts of Home® and real value for money. A sensational Elizabeth Street address from which to walk or tram to everything in central Melbourne. All City Edge® on Elizabeth apartments offer a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, euro style laundry, air conditioning and LCD TV. Take advantage of this exciting CBD location. City Edge® Apartment Hotels. For savvy travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.