We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for a short, fun trip! Free!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Library of Victoria

State Library of Victoria
328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$60*
and up
Private Tour: Melbourne City Discovery
Ranked #10 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
kcbenz34
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go for a short, fun trip! Free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were going to miss this, but the concierge at our hotel convinced us not to…wow, were we glad that he insisted! It's a beautiful building, and free to peruse for as short or long a visit as you please. After learning so much about Ned Kelly (who, as an American, I had never previously heard of) on our bicycle tour and at the Melbourne Gaol, it was very cool to see his actual armor. The old books, art work and historical artifacts were quite interesting. It was a great, short visit and you won't regret a stop at the State Library!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    238
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Don't miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This wonderful building is a working library with many people reading and researching. It is free to all residents of Victoria. The high domed reading room at he top of the building is spectacular

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, iconic, very Melbourne !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I live in Melbourne and have been to this iconic library many times throughout the years, it is truly an impressive building. Both the exterior and interior are stunning, there is plenty of available space to use laptops or you can use one of the provided computers. There is an enormous selection of books, there is also an entertainment area of children (video games, ect). The library is in a great location, there is food, cafes all around and is easily accessible by tram.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
528 reviews 528 reviews
282 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Walk back in time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I relish playing tourist in the city I reside.

I often just walk through the reading room which never fails to impress…it certainly enhances one's interest to study.
Check out the exhibition space there is always something worth seeing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went to the geneological section and got assistance to look up my ancestors.Staff excellent..Chap got Books and Web sites to help and assist me. looked up Old Newspapers etc.Very busy place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Library of Victoria also viewed

 

Been to State Library of Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Library of Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.