We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Lilburn, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is a new hotel with clean and nicely decorated rooms. It was very hard to find the hotel even with the driving directions. The airport shuttle does not come to the hotel which is not clear from their web site. The desk will direct you to the train station via two flights of stairs where you catch the shuttle to the airport. We did find an alternate route to the train station going up the elevator in the garage next to the hotel to street level avoiding the stairs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    828
    283
    61
    23
See reviews for
292
507
199
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel is brand new, clean and close to the CBD but I would not recommend staying here. Considering the blatant disregard to basic customer service, one night was enough.

My partner and I arrived to check in and were faced with a staff member who could not find our reservation. She searched and searched, stared at the screen blankly, shot us a few "ummms".. but failed to reassure me that she would eventually find it. I was scared that the booking hadn't been made properly!

When she eventually found the reservation, she asked for my credit card to place a $50 'hold' for any additional charges on top of the room fee (which would be released back into my account upon checkout). Having said that was fine, I handed over my debit card.

I was then told that using the credit function would attract a surcharge, but was told I could avoid it if I used a non-credit account to pay for the room.

Stupidly, I agreed to save a dollar or so and said I would pay the room on cheque. What is apparently "policy" meant that I was charged for the room, plus had $169.00 withheld from my account. Having checked out on Saturday morning, the money is still missing from my account on Tuesday.

At no point was I told that the hotel's policy meant that I would essentially be charged $288.00 for a $119 stay and lose a substantial chunk of my savings over the weekend (especially as a student).

On top of that, seeing as room service was charged at $5.90 for delivery, my partner chose to purchase drinks at reception but was ignored and had to wait 15 minutes before being served after a "yeah, they're over there".

Having e-mailed the hotel, I received a call from the manager whose only apology came in the form of "I know it's not an excuse, but we're a new hotel. Our staff need more training. I've printed out your e-mail for them to read".

My hope was that the manager would recognise my complaint and attempt to somehow rectify the situation, but this was not the case.

In-genuine. No incentive to come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

No frills hotel very close to the CBD, next to Flinders Train Station, and about a 10-15 minute walk to Bourke Street Mall (tram will take 5 minutes).

Good value hotel, rooms are new and very clean. Stayed in room 911, good view oif the Stadium. Good size LCD screen with Foxtel and movies on demand which cost A$15 each

Took 10 minutes to walk to Crown Casino and the tram stop (Collins St) was only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Get a day pass for unlimited travel on trams for A$6.80 per day.

Little hard to find property but this should be fixed shortly as they are building a ramp to the hotel from the station. Sugguestion to hotel - you need more signage from the train station please!!

Staff friendly and experienced. If your after breakfast on the weekend, walk to Crown Casino and check out the food court or restaurants (most of the cafes around the hotel where shut on Sunday - they seem only to be monday to friday operations to cater for the business workers). Hotel also has a breakfast buffet, $A15 if you pre book or $A18 on the day.

Had dinner at the new Gorden Ramasy Resturants, Maze, located at the Crown Complexe. 10/10 for food and service. A great dining experience.Cost us A$330 for 2 including 2 bottles of wine, 2 cocktails and a 7 course tasting menu (A$95 each).

We paid $89 per night (Travelzoo.com.au) which was a fantastic rate. We will be back again. Thanks Travellodge!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great value accommodation. Room was clearly very new and spotless. Efficient reception. Hotel in general was functional, not flashy, and did the basics very well including breakfast. Only small disappointments were low water pressure in the shower and breakfast buffet being cleared away 10 mins early. Otherwise a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent two nights at Travelodge Docklands. The hotel is located behind Southern Cross station and is a midway point between attractions in the city and Docklands.

Whilst our room wasn't large, it was well laid out, clean and modern. It had a television, fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable and the room's heater was very effective. Bathroom was well laid out. The shower's water pressure was good although water temperature fluctuated.

Staff were nice; check in and check out were quick and easy. Whilst there are three lifts, they're quite slow. The hotel doesn't have parking; there's an undercover car park next door, although it's a little pricey.

If you're looking for a comfortable stay, with easy access to the city and without having to spend an outrageous amount, definitely consider Travelodge Docklands. If you're looking for somewhere to eat nearby, we strongly recommend Mecca Bah.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

That was our third trip to your location and it just keeps getting better.Easy to find, great value,sensational location and has access to everything we need. All transport walking distance, shopping close handy & 500 metres from Etihad Stadium. A tram around the corner to the MCG. Believe me it doesnt get any better than that. We will return Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I was in Melbourne for an overnight business trip and booked a special $94 rate including breakfast for 1 (book on their website on Tuesdays). The hotel is a 10 min walk from Southern Cross Station so very convenient if you are using the Skybus. The check-in was friendly and I was put on the top floor of the hotel as per my booking request without prompting. The room was big and comfortable with a large flat screen TV, microwave and desk. I had a good night's sleep and enjoyed my breakfast the next morning - nothing flash - but all the basics like eggs, bacon, sausage etc that you need. For the price paid, this was an absolute bargain and very convenient for public transport. Even though it is slightly outside the CBD, it is so close that I would recommend to anyone. If you want to be near a business in Docklands or Etihad Stadium it is perfect. The only small issue is that there is some building work on Aurora Lane and it looks a bit messy (no noise) - however, once this is finished it will all look fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.