We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights with my wife and our 14 year old son. Who slept in the fold out bed which the room was amble sized to accommodate. The hotel looks reasonable new, so the furnishing and deco were in good condition, the hotel had a self service laundry which was a big surprise to find in a CBD hotel, which we took full advantage of as our laundry had been backing up. The hotel is located in a strange spot down a little dark alley way and the lobby is not very well identified, I would be a bit cautious about walking down the alley way from Collin’s St late at night on your own. As I said previously the hotel is located in an odd spot and is neither in Docklands nor the CBD however is close enough to Collin St trams and the train station to make it convenient enough and we had no issues darting in and out of the hotel during our frequent visits to the CBD. The view out of the windows was nothing special, however that wasn’t a concern as we were out and about most of the day. The Continental Breakfast was first rate as was the overall service from hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Paddles1964,

Thank you for your review on our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Our location attracts a large number of our guests and we believe that our area is a safer part of the Melbourne CBD.

We hope you will choose us as your preferred Melbourne hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    440
    174
    42
    12
See reviews for
142
275
120
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I booked a one night stay at the Travelodge Docklands, because I was going to the airport the next day.

The location is the best thing about this hotel. Situated very close to Southern Cross, so very ideal if you´re heading to the airport, Etihad Stadium or to South Wharf for shopping. I didn´t realize I could take the stairs just a one minute walk to the right out of the entrance before I was leaving, so you actually be at the Southern Cross Station in no time.

The reception staff was friendly and I got to check in earlier than I was supposed to. The room itself was not exactly impressive, but very clean and suitable for solo/business travelers.

As for restaurants there are a few nice places closeby, so you don´t need to walk to Crown Towers everyday as one earlier reviewer writes. In my room I got a coupon for a restaurant just two minutes walk away (Platform 28), where you will get a free beer (partnership with Travelodge) and I was lucky to stay here the day they had the Steak Night (Monday). There are also some nice cafes in this area if you don´t have breakfast included in your stay.

Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Dear FyFazan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our focus is to always create a wonderful experience for our guest and with your feedback as indication that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Jan. for Aust Open tennis. Short walk from Airport Skybus or train at Southern Cross train station. No steps to negotiate if you walk across bridge towards Etihad Stadium, take lift in Channel 9 building down 4 levels, & walk 100 metres around the corner. Short walk to stop D5 tram stop to free Circle Line or Tennis trams. Room on top (13th) floor was clean, modern & comfortable for couples, with a view over train station construction site & rail yards, but noise was not a problem. Breakfast was all you could ask for. Absence of a swimming pool may disappoint some. Air Cond was excellent despite daily 40 degree C plus temperatures. Only drawback was lack of nearby restaurants for evening meals, so we walked to Crown Casino several times. Felt quite safe at night walking along streets containing refurbished storage warehouses & high rise buildings. Great value for money, friendly staff, & only improvement would be style of furniture in breakfast room if you wanted to really be "picky".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Graham B,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We are also glad that you found our location convenient and short walking distance to all the main attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good location. Nice big room for 3 person. Very comfortable beds and linen.The room was ready already at 8. am, which was great! Helpful staff. Good breakfast. The furniture at restaurant and the lobby looks from "Ikea".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Jansku2013,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Our focus is to always create a wonderful experience for our guest and with your feedback as indication that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel was easy to find, located in Docklands, not within a walking distance to the CBD, but close to a couple of tram lines (including the free city tram). Parking was provided at the public car park next door - $20 for 24 hrs - with multiple entries and exists allowed, but the parking ticket had to be validated at the reception each time.

The room we stayed in was on the 10the floor. It wasn't very spacious, but it had a king size bed, sofa, desk with a chair, flat screen TV, kitchenette with a microwave and mini fridge and ensuite bathroom. Everything was clean, basic toiletries were provided and so was tea, coffee and milk.

Unfortunately, there were a few negatives: the window was very small and the room was dark. The view we had was of an office next door. WiFi was very expensive and breakfast was not included in the room price. Last, but not least, staff at the reception were not very helpful in providing any kind of information.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear pralinka10,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Travelodge Docklands.

I was most concerned to read of your experience and would like to discuss the matter further with you should you wish. I can be contacted at the hotel on 03 8615 1000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback, we hope you will choose us again for your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here to be close to railway station for Skybus and trains. Short walk to hotel which is in a quiet buiness district between Collins and Bourke Streets.
Would be great in footy season! Modern room with king bed, microwave, fridge and some plates and cutlery. This was very handy when we're felt like eating in one night with a microwave meal. Our window overlooked the stadium and Southern Cross Station but good noise dampening muffled any excess noise.
Didn't try the breakfast in hotel as plenty of places open caterr for office staff nearby during the week. Sunday was a different story with nothing open nearby. Would definitely stay again as great value for location.would like to see room key to activate lifts for better security as anyone could enter hotel and access floors unnoticed especially when check in staff busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear AdelaideShell,

We are delightful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is valued by many of our guests. An easy access to trains buses and trams with on a short walking distance.

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Room itself was very good. Great service and the location was perfect. However our room was right next to the service room so every 10 minutes in the day time there would be the loud noise of the door opening. So loud we thought it was our rooms door being opened. Very annoying. Noises of a washing machine/ dryer could be heard in then night as well. I was glad I was only staying two nights.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Louise R,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review. We appreciate all feedback positive or negative.

I was very troubled by your feedback and would like to offer my sincerest apologises for any frustration or disappointment you felt as a result of your stay. We would like to discuss the matter further with you should you wish. I can be contacted at the hotel on 03 8615 1000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback, we hope you will choose us again as your preferred Melbourne hotel in the near future.
Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.