We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Vacation ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Seremban District, Malaysia
1 review
“ Vacation ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Pleasant stay. Hotel room was very comfortable and clean. Strategic location and convenient access to the South Wharf within walking distance to diners and shopping mall. Lastly very friendly front desk hoteliers n would recommend it to future travellers to Melbourne!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi stupendeous,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    339
    146
    32
    9
See reviews for
93
221
98
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quakers Hill, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I only just returned home yesterday. I stayed for 5 days and I was extremely impressed. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in ever. The free tram was only a 5 min walk away. Train station 3 min walk. DFO 10 min walk. Crown 15 mins away. The only thing is it doesn't have a pool. Other than that and price of course I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor. So quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Katie B,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here during our most recent trip to Melbourne. The room was well priced and very comfortable. The hotel internals were modern and pleasing. We slept well on the bed and had a nice view of the city from our window.

The location was slightly out of the way but once we got our bearings navigating our way to the main tram, train and bus routes was easy. Most of our locations were in the CBD / eastern suburbs as opposed to Docklands itself.

Concierge staff were very polite and assisted us greatly by holding our bags from our morning arrival until check-in time and likewise until we left the CBD for our flight in the evening of the day of our departure. This was highly appreicated.

We will certainly consider coming back next time we are in Melbourne. For the price we paid Travelodge docklands ticked all of the boxes for our stay. We are very satisfied customers from our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi WayneK227,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you’re traveling to Australia from the US, don’t mistake the Travelodge’s here for the same ones we have back home; at least not the Travelodge Docklands. Unlike its namesake brand in the US, this hotel was new, modern and very hip. Thanks to the floor to ceiling windows, the rooms were bright and fresh with a very contemporary feel to them. And with a desk for working and a small couch for relaxing, I found the rooms spacious. I am surprised at some of the other comments that proclaim that it’s in a great location. I did not find that to be the case. It sits on the edge of the CBD, behind the Southern Cross train station and it is a little bit of a walk to get downtown. There is currently not an abundance of restaurants close or things to do; but the area is going through massive constructions projects and I am sure very shortly the Travelodge Docklands will be in a prime location. But, the location was only a minor inconvenience, and for the price and feel of the hotel, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi expat_ord,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs. We also think that we have a beautiful hotel in a great location.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at this classy hotel once again in November 2012 and and November 2013. Service vastly improved and am pleased staff are most attentive and very caring unlike my horrid experience back in 2011. My feedback from 2011 was taken on board seriously and was extremely pleased. UNBEATABLE LOCATION in the Docklands Precinct featuring priceless venues like Etihad Stadium nearby. Very impressed guys. I will definitely be returning, depending on availability & price. I highly recommend rooms on the higher floors to avoid street noises.

Room Tip: Room 1131 or any other room ending in 31 or the rooms at the opposite end featuring great views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi vermilion777,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

Our main focus is to create a delightful experience for all of our guests. It is always a great pleasure as a team to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us here at Travelodge Docklands.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

2nd time we have stayed here. Got a king sized bed for a great price of $149 included bottle of wine. Near etihad stadium and 15 minute walk to south bank convention centre, Polly wood side, Jeff's shed and casino. Will
Ce again if price right. Carparking $20 underground. Only downfall is you need to
Exit carpark
At opposite end to entry to motel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Biggav1965,

The Team at Travelodge Docklands Hotel are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at Travelodge Docklands recently. Checking was quick and all staff were very helpful and friendly even though there were a lot of people checking in at the same time. The room was clean, modern and quiet. Great location - easy walking distance to Southbank and Southern Cross Station. I will definitely stay here again. Thanks.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen A, Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jenny H,

I would like to thank you for providing us your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was convenient for all your needs.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jen Aktag | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Travelodge Docklands Hotel
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.