We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a game show contestant, I didn't choose the Travelodge but I had always put them at the higher end of my expectations.

When we arrived, check-in was friendly and efficient. However we were charged a security deposit of $50 for expenses we might incur and the mini bar was mentioned. Well there was no mini bar, so I did wonder what the $50 was for. We were told on check-out that the money would be deposited back into our account.The check-in clerk also told us of the restaurant on the 4th floor. As it was cold outside, we decided to eat in their restaurant, it was closed.

We found a little hotel called the Nixon, not far away that had a Monday night $15 steak special which included salad, chips and a drink, excellent value and I would recommend the Nixon to anyone staying in that precinct.

The lifts were fast and when we got to our room, we went through the whole,"push in, pull out, faster slower" thing before the door unlatched using the key card.

No free internet and a $20 parking charge are pretty common for this kind of hotel.

The room was nicely appointed and although tea and coffee were provided, no biscuits. This may be a trivial thing for you, but I have never been to an Australian hotel/motel where a few biscuits(read cookies for my American readers) were not included.

The bed was quite hard, so my hips were a bit sore after a night's sleep. We were on the 6th floor with a view of mostly businesses as you would expect in a large city, and the room was pretty quiet.

I know, your next question will be about the showers. Started well, nice and hot then faded to cold, disappointing! There was no glass in the bathroom for rinsing your mouth after brushing your teeth. If you wanted to put your head down near the tap to rinse your mouth, you couldn't because the sink was too long.

Breakfast was in the restaurant on the 4th floor and was very nice, everything you would expect in a hotel of that standard.

So there you have it, a nice hotel, well appointed but with less than I expected. A little care would have gone a long way towards a better rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    519
    203
    45
    14
See reviews for
172
316
133
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As per title loved the location, great if you need to be near the MCEC or Etihad Stadium. Great location to public transport or loads of parking nearby if bringing your own wheels, though parking in any CBD is pricey. Breakfast was Ok , could have had more healthy choices, but for a budget business hotel it was fine. Would stay again if going to another conference at the MCEC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good location if you're going to the footy at Etihad stadium, or needing close access to Southern Cross station. Not so good if you are in Melbourne to do things on the other side of town (MCG, theatres, etc). Room was clean but basic. Not much near the hotel but only a short walk to shops at Southern Cross station. Make sure you use the lift when arriving from the walkway at the Etihad stadium end - you dont need to use the stairs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Travelodge Docklands is in a great central location - if you don't have any mobility issues or a lot of luggage! Be aware there are quite a number of stairs to between Collins Street or the Spence Street walkway and Aurora Lane. I found it easier to take the carpark lift up and down, located along the left side of 700 Collins Street (Australian Bureau of Meteorology/Medicare building), entry from the street just next to the stairs down to Aurora Lane. I'm not sure if access to the lift is closed out of hours, as I came and went during weekday business hours.

Essentially located behind Spencer Street Station, the Travelodge is well-located for travellig to, from and around Melbourne. The Skybus terminal is only a few minutes walk away but, if you take the walkway from Spencer Street Station (up the escalators in the middle and heading toward Etihad Stadium), there is only stair access down to Aurora Lane unless you want to go the long way around.

The hotel itself is quite minimalist and sparse but with a pleasant feel. The reception staff are pleasant and efficient, and willing to help with enquiries and calling taxis, etc. They also offer luggage storage, although it appears regular suitcases are left in the lobby near the counter and any laptop bags are kept behind the counter for safekeeping. The area around the hotel can seem a little isolated late at night but seems to be reasonably safe. There are plenty of places to eat within only a few minutes walk and there is a Woolworths supermarket inside Spencer Street Station on the Collins Street side which is handy for water and self-catering needs.

I had a king room on the top floor and it was well-appointed, clean and comfortable. I loved the little couch, which was a good spot to read or watch the tv and the work desk was a good size. The bathroom was clean and simple, with just a shower. The location of the toilet directly behind the bathroom door was a little cramped and odd but, as it was just me in the room, it didn't bother me too much. Plenty of bench and shelf space for toiletries and the sink was large enough to wash a plate withouth splashing everywhere.

The mini fridge had a good amount of space for my own use and the minibar prices were quite reasonable. A nice touch was the provision of menus for a few local eateries, in case the fairly slim room service menu didn't cut it and you didn't want to go too far from the hotel. Having the microwave and kettle along with crockery and cutlery meant I could easily self-cater an easy meal or snack. The in-room safe was also a nice addition, but I didn't need to use it, and there were also a few easily accessible power points.

Overall, the Travelodge Docklands is a well-appointed hotel in a good location and, for what I paid, I was very happy with the quality of the accommodation. I would definitely consider staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Comfortable room, has e everything you need except a PowerPoint in the logical place for the ironing board (don't you hate that!!). Staff were very helpful too. But I was really surprised that you could clearly hear the train station platform announcements! Ruined my nights sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room at the lift end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went over to watch the football at Etihad, so was looking for somewhere close & accessible. It is certainly close to the stadium and close to Southern Cross station 5min walk max. The price is good value, rooms are clean but a bit on the small side (we had a twin room) not much space to move around but if all you are looking for is somewhere to store the shopping & sleep then it ticks all the boxes. The breakfast is $19 a head and fairly typical for these hotels would strongly suggest that you eat in one of Melbourne's many cafes for breakfast - better value for $.
In saying all that with the hotel you get what you pay for - a good clean basic room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

After flying in we took the Skybus to Spencer St Station and a short walk to the hotel, just so easy.
The room was fine, a little tight for 3 guys, but all we needed.
Breakie was yummy and cheaper if you pre-booked.
The stadium was less than a 5 minute walk, just what we were after.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.