We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern, clean hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a great deal in April 2013 and can recommend the Travelodge for a short stay. Room was modern, bright, spacious and clean. Location was great; only a short stroll to the free City Circle tram stop, 10min walk to Harbour Town outlet shopping mall, close to Docklands restaurants and bars, virtually adjacent to Etihad Stadium and Southern Cross railway station, etc. If you don't mind being a short distance away from the main city centre, this is a great choice for a peaceful nights' sleep and offers good value for money. My only complaint was the fee for WiFi, but I guess more and more hotels charge for this now. However, I would still stay at the Travelodge Docklands again in future if their pricing remains competitive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear OzMaryAnn

Thank you for sharing your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location suited your needs.

I do hope you choose us again when you are next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    892
    289
    63
    25
See reviews for
318
539
204
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here to go to soccer at Etihad Stadium, great location easy walk to trams, trains etc. Very quiet with adequate rooms, good bedding and heating in rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast. A hidden away location which is very central, would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear szoka

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands.

I would agree that we are a perfect spot to stay if you are in Melbourne for any event at Etihad Stadium.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights - Friday/Saturday. Staff friendly and helpful especially Madi. Small but clean and comfortable room. Very quiet. Great bed/bedding. Easy access to walk to free City Circle tram and other trams on Collins Street. Close to Spencer Street Station/shopping and South Wharf DFO. Breakfast very nice. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear evking

Thank you for your positive review about Travelodge Docklands.

I am delighted that you have recognised Madi's exceptional service and I have passed your feedback to her.

We hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Adequate, comfortable, clean accommodation with just enough space for 3 single beds for 3 travellers. There's a good little kitchenette but you must go to reception to purchase minibar items. Take all your bathroom items as there was only one little shampoo & conditioner between 3 of us however there was a good hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Finding the entry was a nightmare approaching via Collins St or the bridge over the railway station. There are a series of steps or lifts and buildings to traipse around and no visible signage to guide the walker. Neither bedside lamp worked on arrival but immediate attention received and problems resolved. Fine for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Lovely comfy clean beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Maturegirl3199

Thank you for your review on Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and now that you know where we are we hope you'll choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

One night stay. Room was available for early check in. Deryk was polite and helpful.

Room clean, quiet and comfortable. Bed is great not too hard or soft.

Bathroom clean with decent size shower.

Heating works well and the room feels cosy warm.

Mini bar prices over the top. $5 for a mars bar, $5.50 for a small packet m&ms.

No problem with wifi, it is expensive but that isn't unusual in Australia.

Great location for the sky bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear 2shea

Thanks for posting about your experience at Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments to Deryk.

We hope you choose to stay again soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Beauty, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Location - great location to Southern Cross and a good decent/scenic walk to Southbank etc.

Room was clean and the amenities were good (which included a microwave and cutlery etc.) Although the room wasn't huge, there was plenty enough space to place our luggage without tripping over as well as a lounge chair to sit on.

We weren't sure what expect with breakfast because of some of the reviews but it was enjoyable and we always received great service (especially from Louise!) We pre booked ahead and paid $14 pp which was quite reasonable.

We left our luggage in storage after we checked out so we could explore Melbourne some more. Unfortunately on our return bag collection was very slow. There was a big line of people checking in and no one else was around to open the storage room and help us. 25 minutes later we were getting worried as we had a Sky Bus / flight to catch. Maybe a better system (concierge) is needed?

All in all (for the money we paid - I know this can vary depending on how/who you book through) this hotel was great value for money and the location is ideal if travelling in and out to Southern Cross by SkyBus or train. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear MountainToCoast

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I'm glad you liked the location - it is tucked away but handy to transport and shopping.

I have passed on your feedback to Louise and she is delighted you have recognised her exceptional guest service.

We hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Travelodge Docklands, good location close to Southern Cross station. Great customer service from all receptionists, especially Melissa and Erica. They were willingly to help us as first time coming to Australia

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr Alex 12,

Thank you for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable time in Australia and we are glad that we were able to assist you during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands when you next visit Melbourne.

Regards

Melissa Theodorus
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.