We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Budget find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great for a short overnight stay.Comfy bed and easy access to where you need to be.
Good location and staff were helpful. Had a quiet room which was a bonus for a very busy Friday evening.

Mini bar was basic but not exorbitant and the television coverage was excellent. Clean fresh sheets and very clean room, parking is easy and safe. Upside......... easy check-in and a great room. Downside...... the towels look a little tired although very clean.

Would I stay again........... yes definitely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear AntoinetteS1104

Thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Docklands.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    505
    196
    45
    14
See reviews for
165
311
131
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean, basic hotel. "Standard Twin Room" with a mate - very small, with a couple of single beds, but fine for a boys trip, where you really just need a base to operate from. 5 minute walk from Southern Cross Station, 10 minute walk to South Bank, 2 minute walk to Etihad.

Room cleaned daily. Great location for above facilities, but a basic boring hotel in a drab area otherwise.

Ideal for a footy trip or similar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Masha65

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad the location suited your needs and hope to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location was excellent. Walking distance and easy access to Etihad Stadium, restaurants, Spencer St Station, trams (including the free City Tram service) and buses. Clean, quiet and functional hotel. Restaurant more like a school cafeteria. Offerings were fine but the same each day for our 6 day stay. Staff at reception were helpful. We were charged $150 bond on our credit card in case we used the mini bar. The mini bar was empty. They said the refund would take 3 - 5 days to be refunded.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sea_change09

Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you liked our location - Docklands is an area which is certainly changing and developing all the time!

In regards to the bond - we do not charge anything to your credit card, we take an authorisation which the bank releases on departure. Please feel free to contact me for more information.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

the location was close to spencer st station and ameniities were clean. hotel was very quiet , the shower was a bit too small .overall the standard was average,
BUT $50 was charged to our credit card as a bond against the room/minibar etc of which we did not use.
this was charged on check in and i was informed that it takes 3- 5 days to be refunded . that must amount to a fair bit of interest being accrued for the travelodge, on other peoples money. Whats wrong with the staff checking the room. We noticed that there were dirty plates/ trays sitting outside other guests rooms waiting to be collected from 6pm until 10am the next day . Yuk.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear andreakim0

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on Travelodge Docklands.

On check in an authorisation hold is taken on your credit card. This is standard hotel procedure and allows you to charge meals at local restaurants back to your room account, as well as ordering room service, pay per view movies, breakfast, minibar etc. The funds are held by your bank not the hotel and when the transaction is finalised on check out the hold is cancelled by your bank and no entry for this amount will appear on your statement.

Please see the following link for more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Authorization_hold

To answer your query - Travelodge does not make any money from interest as the hotel does not receive any funds.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The restaurant on the Fourth Floor was excellent for the Buffet Breakfast we attended yesterday. The variety of choices was excellent. The staff were on top of it all and continually replenished the food available. The coffee was excellent. The surroundings were clean and very bright and pleasant. An altogether relaxing and satisfying experience. I would go again at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Leonie P

What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. I have passed them onto the team and they are delighted.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Enjoyable 4-night stay during the Tennis Open. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Docklands itself teems with people during office hours, however, the area was relatively dead after work hours in our mid-week stay. This is substantially compensated for by the proximity within walking distance of the free City Circle Tram Service and the Southern Cross Railway Station. Hotel decor was modern and minimalist, although we liked the edgy streetscape photos in the halls and one in our bedroom. The bedroom was comfortable with an acceptable mattress and ensuite and the usual facilities. WIFI is only free in the public areas. The instant coffee in the rooms was the cheap, fine powder variety - pretty undrinkable. Breakfast was ok, however, the bacon was fairly fatty, a few items were a bit slow to be replenished, and the scrambled eggs were a bit past it when we got to them. Cleaning staff were quite good but consistently ignored their own environmental policy about only washing towels left on the floor.The price was good for a capital city and we would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. Lowe level rooms on the railway side could be somewhat noisy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear aidor

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Travelodge Docklands. I am personally delighted that you found our team friendly. They pride themselves on their levels of guest service and it's great that you took the time to let us know.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hoel is clean and comfortable for a short business stay or overnight for footy at Etihad. If you we're looking to stay longer than a night or two then I would stay closer to the CBD if this was for a holiday. The area where this hotel is located is close to the spencer st train station but there's not a lot else around here - its more of a business area.

Etihad stadium is about 100m away so a perfect hotel for the footy etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear TeamGTravel

Thank you for your positive review on Travelodge Docklands.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to again stay with us if you are returning to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.