We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
gold coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

the location was close to spencer st station and ameniities were clean. hotel was very quiet , the shower was a bit too small .overall the standard was average,
BUT $50 was charged to our credit card as a bond against the room/minibar etc of which we did not use.
this was charged on check in and i was informed that it takes 3- 5 days to be refunded . that must amount to a fair bit of interest being accrued for the travelodge, on other peoples money. Whats wrong with the staff checking the room. We noticed that there were dirty plates/ trays sitting outside other guests rooms waiting to be collected from 6pm until 10am the next day . Yuk.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear andreakim0

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on Travelodge Docklands.

On check in an authorisation hold is taken on your credit card. This is standard hotel procedure and allows you to charge meals at local restaurants back to your room account, as well as ordering room service, pay per view movies, breakfast, minibar etc. The funds are held by your bank not the hotel and when the transaction is finalised on check out the hold is cancelled by your bank and no entry for this amount will appear on your statement.

Please see the following link for more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Authorization_hold

To answer your query - Travelodge does not make any money from interest as the hotel does not receive any funds.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    333
    144
    32
    9
See reviews for
87
217
96
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The restaurant on the Fourth Floor was excellent for the Buffet Breakfast we attended yesterday. The variety of choices was excellent. The staff were on top of it all and continually replenished the food available. The coffee was excellent. The surroundings were clean and very bright and pleasant. An altogether relaxing and satisfying experience. I would go again at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Leonie P

What a great review! Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. I have passed them onto the team and they are delighted.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Enjoyable 4-night stay during the Tennis Open. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Docklands itself teems with people during office hours, however, the area was relatively dead after work hours in our mid-week stay. This is substantially compensated for by the proximity within walking distance of the free City Circle Tram Service and the Southern Cross Railway Station. Hotel decor was modern and minimalist, although we liked the edgy streetscape photos in the halls and one in our bedroom. The bedroom was comfortable with an acceptable mattress and ensuite and the usual facilities. WIFI is only free in the public areas. The instant coffee in the rooms was the cheap, fine powder variety - pretty undrinkable. Breakfast was ok, however, the bacon was fairly fatty, a few items were a bit slow to be replenished, and the scrambled eggs were a bit past it when we got to them. Cleaning staff were quite good but consistently ignored their own environmental policy about only washing towels left on the floor.The price was good for a capital city and we would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. Lowe level rooms on the railway side could be somewhat noisy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear aidor

Thanks for taking the time to comment on Travelodge Docklands. I am personally delighted that you found our team friendly. They pride themselves on their levels of guest service and it's great that you took the time to let us know.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hoel is clean and comfortable for a short business stay or overnight for footy at Etihad. If you we're looking to stay longer than a night or two then I would stay closer to the CBD if this was for a holiday. The area where this hotel is located is close to the spencer st train station but there's not a lot else around here - its more of a business area.

Etihad stadium is about 100m away so a perfect hotel for the footy etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear TeamGTravel

Thank you for your positive review on Travelodge Docklands.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to again stay with us if you are returning to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Another couple and ourselves were doing the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant and did not want to drive back to our Melbourne suburban homes after indulging in the included drinks. We decided on this hotel as it was very reasonably priced and within walking distance to the Tram pick up area.

We initially found it very hard to find and our sat nav was equally as confused but once there we discovered plenty of paid car parking buildings right on the doorstep which was very handy.

Check in was quick and although we had a view of the medibank offices our friends had a pretty good view from their room over to the north west of Melbourne. Luck of the draw I guess. It was a hot Melbourne day and the air conditioner was working fine as well.

Our room was really just a hotel room but was clean and comfortable with a nice size flat screen TV, a king size bed and a microwave and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was tiny but modern and clean. We noticed the sewerage smell others have spoken of when we ran the hot tap in the bathroom vanity. Very strange.

We ordered some room service close to 11.00 pm which came fairly promptly and was fine and reasonably priced. We also had the breakfast buffet in the morning which again for $14 a head I thought was excellent value, with everything you could pretty much think of including asian style rice porridge. Yes it was reminiscent of coles caferteria but the day we were there we could eat out in the warm morning air and we thought it was quite pleasant and relaxing.

Close to Southern Cross station and walking distance to Southbank this hotel was ideal for our purposes and considering what we would have to pay elsewhere for a night in Melbourne we were pleased with our choice. Check out was the easiest ever! If we found ourselves needing to stay overnight in Melbourne again we would certainly consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ausrose

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive and in-depth review of Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to recount your experience. We think the location makes us an ideal place to base yourself to take advantage of all Melbourne has to offer. We are indeed close to transport - including the free city circle tram, South Wharf DFO is just over the river and the CBD is a five minute walk across the foot bridge (with elevators to make it that much easier)

We hope you return soon!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Valley NSW
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay at Travelodges regularly all over Australia and this is similar and as good as others. Good location close to Southern Cross station. The room was - as always - clean, quiet and comfortable. The rate was very competitive and it was therefore good value. Staff were really good. The downside was it's position in terms of nearby restaurants and cafes ... there just aren't any or many nearby and none on site apart from the breakfast room. This means that for lunch or dinner you have to walk a fair way and the closest options aren't as good as other parts of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear WestyTweedValley

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I have shared it with the team here and we hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werribee, victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, it was fantastic for the location, the function we attended was just around the corner, about a 2 minute walk, but that was about it. The room was very small and the breakfast certainly left a lot to be desired, it was like eating at Coles cafeteria, plastic chairs and tables, the price was good though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear buggsusa

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I always appreciate guest feedback and have taken your comments on board.

I hope to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Travelodge Docklands Hotel
Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.