We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Comfortable, Clean, Outstanding Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Modern, Comfortable, Clean, Outstanding Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Another couple and ourselves were doing the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant and did not want to drive back to our Melbourne suburban homes after indulging in the included drinks. We decided on this hotel as it was very reasonably priced and within walking distance to the Tram pick up area.

We initially found it very hard to find and our sat nav was equally as confused but once there we discovered plenty of paid car parking buildings right on the doorstep which was very handy.

Check in was quick and although we had a view of the medibank offices our friends had a pretty good view from their room over to the north west of Melbourne. Luck of the draw I guess. It was a hot Melbourne day and the air conditioner was working fine as well.

Our room was really just a hotel room but was clean and comfortable with a nice size flat screen TV, a king size bed and a microwave and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was tiny but modern and clean. We noticed the sewerage smell others have spoken of when we ran the hot tap in the bathroom vanity. Very strange.

We ordered some room service close to 11.00 pm which came fairly promptly and was fine and reasonably priced. We also had the breakfast buffet in the morning which again for $14 a head I thought was excellent value, with everything you could pretty much think of including asian style rice porridge. Yes it was reminiscent of coles caferteria but the day we were there we could eat out in the warm morning air and we thought it was quite pleasant and relaxing.

Close to Southern Cross station and walking distance to Southbank this hotel was ideal for our purposes and considering what we would have to pay elsewhere for a night in Melbourne we were pleased with our choice. Check out was the easiest ever! If we found ourselves needing to stay overnight in Melbourne again we would certainly consider staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear ausrose

Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive and in-depth review of Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to recount your experience. We think the location makes us an ideal place to base yourself to take advantage of all Melbourne has to offer. We are indeed close to transport - including the free city circle tram, South Wharf DFO is just over the river and the CBD is a five minute walk across the foot bridge (with elevators to make it that much easier)

We hope you return soon!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    938
    305
    66
    25
See reviews for
335
568
215
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Valley NSW
Level Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay at Travelodges regularly all over Australia and this is similar and as good as others. Good location close to Southern Cross station. The room was - as always - clean, quiet and comfortable. The rate was very competitive and it was therefore good value. Staff were really good. The downside was it's position in terms of nearby restaurants and cafes ... there just aren't any or many nearby and none on site apart from the breakfast room. This means that for lunch or dinner you have to walk a fair way and the closest options aren't as good as other parts of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear WestyTweedValley

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I have shared it with the team here and we hope you choose to return in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werribee, victoria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, it was fantastic for the location, the function we attended was just around the corner, about a 2 minute walk, but that was about it. The room was very small and the breakfast certainly left a lot to be desired, it was like eating at Coles cafeteria, plastic chairs and tables, the price was good though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear buggsusa

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I always appreciate guest feedback and have taken your comments on board.

I hope to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Not a bad hotel, I mean its nice and cheap, good for an over night stay but wouldnt stay for anymorw than that. Front office staff are very friendly, special thanks to 'Jacky' for pointing out some nice places for dinner. The extra service was apappreciated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear happycamper19873

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased you recognised Jacky's exceptional guest service - I have passed your comments onto him.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Not the type of hotel I would "choose" to stay at however bed was big, comfy and clean.

Bathroom was okay - yeah agree weird how the toilet is behind the door.

Either the aircon or me was menopausal -hot one minute cold the next.

I did get the occasional waft of sewage smell mentioned by ther guests I wonder if it is a docklands thing.

Most of the staff I came in contact with we're friendly

I was there for a conference the service for this was hot and cold too food so so

Had a backpacker hostel feel about it

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mumof1fromGlenIris

Thank you for reviewing Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased you found the team here friendly. They take great pride in their guest service so I am sure they will be delighted at the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night so the area (Docklands & Southern Cross Station) was fairly quiet once the sun set. If you approach from Collins St there's stairs to the street where the entrance is or you can do what we did, use the car park lift situated on the Collins Street level to the right of the stairs - Level 4 is Collins St & Level 1 is the ground level. As stated the rooms are very clean, its a fairly new building, comfy beds and not much more to add to other positive reviews on the hotel itself. If you go to the northern side of Southern Cross station there's plenty of food as well as the Skybus terminal in Spencer Street, so its a great location if you're using public transport. Skybus is $17 one way to Tullamarine Airport, $28 two way (Adult). There's a Coles supermarket a bit further north along Spencer St near the Lonsdale St intersection. A 15 minute walk to Crown Casino, lots of choices for food & entertainment including a Village cimema complex. Check in/check out were a breeze and the staff were very welcoming. If you need to get around don't forget to use the #35 - City Circle Free Tourist Tram. It travels in both directions along - Flinders Street - Harbour Esplanade - Docklands Drive - La Trobe Street - Victoria Street - Nicholson Street - Spring Street - Flinders Street about every 10-15 minutes. Great location if you plan to go to Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tony_W60

Thanks for taking the time to submit such an informative review on Travelodge Docklands.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location here and we hope you choose to return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel is in a nice spot, we attempted to walk to DFO Docklands and we are fit and was 15min easy each way, bit to far to walk on a hot or wet day. Not many restaurants nearby especially that offer good food - so we went to Melbourne for Dinner. Checkin was a bit of a nightmare we checked in at 1.15pm (a little early) and told to come back at 2.00pm, we came back at 2.30pm and told rooms still may not be ready? luckily the room was ready. Parking is expensive, the hotel offers for $20 a day and there is a wilson parking about 200metres away which is costly also. The rooms are very small (the toilet is behind the door and you have to shut the door to use it. We had booked a King bed which was 2 singles pushed together with a seam down the middle - not comfortable at all. The rooms had everything in them and were adequate. Wouldnt want to stay any longer than 1 night being so small. The rooms were fairly clean - we found lots of stray hairs in our bed and on our towels. The coridors in the hotel are filthy and look like never cleaned. We only paid $90 for our room and was good value for that. Breakfast is available for $14 buffet or $19 on the day, we decided to dine out as the restaurant looked more like a school cafetaria. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Frequentoztravellers

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With regards to the hotels beds - they are Sleepmaker Hotel Supreme King Zip beds - which allow the hotel to change the bedding configuration if needed.

Our parking is $20 per 24 hours - this is amongst the cheapest options for parking in the CBD.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#82 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.