We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a conference” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok for a conference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Not the type of hotel I would "choose" to stay at however bed was big, comfy and clean.

Bathroom was okay - yeah agree weird how the toilet is behind the door.

Either the aircon or me was menopausal -hot one minute cold the next.

I did get the occasional waft of sewage smell mentioned by ther guests I wonder if it is a docklands thing.

Most of the staff I came in contact with we're friendly

I was there for a conference the service for this was hot and cold too food so so

Had a backpacker hostel feel about it

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mumof1fromGlenIris

Thank you for reviewing Travelodge Docklands. I am pleased you found the team here friendly. They take great pride in their guest service so I am sure they will be delighted at the feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    620
    233
    53
    18
See reviews for
207
369
150
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night so the area (Docklands & Southern Cross Station) was fairly quiet once the sun set. If you approach from Collins St there's stairs to the street where the entrance is or you can do what we did, use the car park lift situated on the Collins Street level to the right of the stairs - Level 4 is Collins St & Level 1 is the ground level. As stated the rooms are very clean, its a fairly new building, comfy beds and not much more to add to other positive reviews on the hotel itself. If you go to the northern side of Southern Cross station there's plenty of food as well as the Skybus terminal in Spencer Street, so its a great location if you're using public transport. Skybus is $17 one way to Tullamarine Airport, $28 two way (Adult). There's a Coles supermarket a bit further north along Spencer St near the Lonsdale St intersection. A 15 minute walk to Crown Casino, lots of choices for food & entertainment including a Village cimema complex. Check in/check out were a breeze and the staff were very welcoming. If you need to get around don't forget to use the #35 - City Circle Free Tourist Tram. It travels in both directions along - Flinders Street - Harbour Esplanade - Docklands Drive - La Trobe Street - Victoria Street - Nicholson Street - Spring Street - Flinders Street about every 10-15 minutes. Great location if you plan to go to Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tony_W60

Thanks for taking the time to submit such an informative review on Travelodge Docklands.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location here and we hope you choose to return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel is in a nice spot, we attempted to walk to DFO Docklands and we are fit and was 15min easy each way, bit to far to walk on a hot or wet day. Not many restaurants nearby especially that offer good food - so we went to Melbourne for Dinner. Checkin was a bit of a nightmare we checked in at 1.15pm (a little early) and told to come back at 2.00pm, we came back at 2.30pm and told rooms still may not be ready? luckily the room was ready. Parking is expensive, the hotel offers for $20 a day and there is a wilson parking about 200metres away which is costly also. The rooms are very small (the toilet is behind the door and you have to shut the door to use it. We had booked a King bed which was 2 singles pushed together with a seam down the middle - not comfortable at all. The rooms had everything in them and were adequate. Wouldnt want to stay any longer than 1 night being so small. The rooms were fairly clean - we found lots of stray hairs in our bed and on our towels. The coridors in the hotel are filthy and look like never cleaned. We only paid $90 for our room and was good value for that. Breakfast is available for $14 buffet or $19 on the day, we decided to dine out as the restaurant looked more like a school cafetaria. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Frequentoztravellers

Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

With regards to the hotels beds - they are Sleepmaker Hotel Supreme King Zip beds - which allow the hotel to change the bedding configuration if needed.

Our parking is $20 per 24 hours - this is amongst the cheapest options for parking in the CBD.

We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nothing significantly wrong with this hotel except it's very bland and characterless (even for a Travelodge). It's very close to Southern Cross Station and the SkyBus terminal, and an easy walk into the city. Docklands are is a grim, windswept tribute to souless urban planning so don't expect to see much life after hours or on weekends.
The King room was pretty cramped, just managing to fit the bed, a desk and a chair.
The microwave and plates/cuttelry etc were a welcome bonus.

The bathroom was quite large but lacked shelf/vanity space, the shower looked eerily like something you'd find in a morgue and there was an unpleasant odour (like sewerage) greeting you as you walked in.

Desk staff were friendly and on the ball.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear NoMoreBunking

We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on Travelodge Docklands.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel, while clean and tidy, is quite austere and has an almost sterile feel to it. As seems to be the norm in Australia, internet access is not included and is quite pricey when ordered. Located very near the train station, this would be a good jump off point for someone that needs easy access to public transportation. The hotel has a limited room service menu and getting a meal involves a bit of a walk. I would definitely not recommend this hotel of travelling with children unless you are only planning to sleep here as there is really nothing for them to do nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear john98026

Thank you for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. I am glad you liked the location - just as a tip, there is a restaurant almost opposite the hotel where you can charge back meals and drinks to your room.

We hope you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked in for a four night stay and am currently spending my third night at the hotel. Room is compact but very clean with large flat screen TV, desk and very comfy bed. Only a 6 minute walk from skybus terminal. No cafes or convenience stores in the immediate vicinity but plenty in the next street and near Southern Cross Station. The air conditioning is the best and easiest to work of any hotel I have stayed in. No remote, just slide a switch, turn a dial and instant cool air - love it. I would definitely stay again. It is also a very safe hotel as we had to evacuate last night due to a strong burning smell on 12 th level. I was in a deep sleep but the evacuation voice and signal was loud and clear and boomed into the room waking me up at 1 .20 in the morning. Fire brigade attended and eventually all was well. It is comforting to know that this hotel has a fire plan and a very loud and effective alert system that no one could sleep through. I was late to breakfast the next morning and the attendent kindly offered to give me directions to some cafes serving breakfast. All the staff are friendly and the large modern art prints on the walls are a nice feature. Even has room service. Decor in room is modern and minimalist. Great for exploring Melbourne and having a comfortable bed for the night. There is little noise either inside or out. At less than 100 per night for my stay it is a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear swans_fanCanberra

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you also for your understanding regarding the alarm. As you noticed it was not a false alarm and the systems worked the way they were designed ensuring the safety of our guests.

We hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Clean, tidy, modern, well looked after and organised. Located a few hundred yards from Southern Cross Station so good for access to the city, and on the fringe of the CBD, so good location if you want somewhere a bit quieter. Only thing against it might be that it's in Docklands, which is very sterile and pretty deserted in the weekends, unless Etihad Stadium is being used, where I suspect it will be jammed with people going to and from the game(s).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear MobileKiwi

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Travelodge Docklands.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you choose to stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.