We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Short version: Very pleasant stay. Location is great for business travelers, sports fans and people attending conventions nearby. Suits well for couples on holiday and families on a short stay in Melbourne. The downside is that it's not exactly in the heart of Melbourne however, it's a short walk away from the city circle. Right next door to Channel 9 and Etihad Stadium.

Long Version: This is what I consider to be a business hotel. Namely, it's nice and comfortable for the troops, located close to the business district of Melbourne and it's kitted out to suit their needs. Right down to the coin laundrette downstairs. Having said that, it's great still for families and couples for short stays, maybe for three or four nights max. If there's some sort of cooking facility (Communal or in-room) then it would be perfect for that niche (there's at least two large supermarkets nearby).

The room we had was a standard, it wasn't huge but it was neat and comfortable. The hotel is close to Etihad stadium, Crown casino (approx 15 min walk), Southern Cross train station, various convention centers and the Docklands area. It's about 15 min walk towards the King street district and the free city circle trams.

The hotel has a coin laundrette downstairs and an internet kiosk (both coin operated).

Staff-wise, friendly and professional.

My main criticism? The bed size. We booked for a king size, and yes its a king size, just slightly on the small side. The other is the view. Views of the office staff across the road is about all you'll get. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    816
    281
    60
    23
See reviews for
286
498
196
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel and staff were very acceptable and the facilitity is anexcellent location for Southern Cross. Our only issue was that we walked from Southern Cross, saw the neon sign clearly and set off, not off over the bridge we found later, but down Bourke St extension eventually into Aurora Lane - there are multiple levels of buildings and walkways. The walkway from the Station is so convenient! There is no indication at eye level at 66 Aurora Lane that this is the main entrance - we asked others and walked past the large reception area twice before deciding to go in quite hot and bothered. Not sure how one would drive in to Aurora Lane.
Good value Doznil

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for your positive review. We do hope you choose to return to Travelodge Docklands in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed at the Docklands recently for five nights - previous stay was ten nights and recommended to friends who also stayed four nights. Had a dreadful experience and fell out of a single bed - sure it is not a standard size and hit the side of my head on the side table. Was there for a school reunion which I had to hobble to in lot of pain caused when I crashed to the floor. The bath towels were inferior and so were the blankets. My first stay was when they first opened and I am sure the manchester has not been replaced since then. Location is great - breakfast is offered quite good value but no dining for dinner. Cleaning staff a little lax and are not consistent with replacing coffee, tea and milk. On check in you are asked for your credit card for incidentals to cover the cost of the mini bar. We had no mini bar so thought this was a little cheeky - (nuisance value).

Room Tip: Do not request a single bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am dissapointed that your recent stay was not up to your expectations.

With regards to the beds in the hotel, the single beds are a sleepmaker king single. I'm sorry that you hurt your head. This is not the experience we like our guests to have!

We do take a preauthorisation to cover incidentals. Whilst selected floors do not have mini bars, guests do have access to telephones, pay per view movies, internet, restaurant and room service and affliated local charge back restaurants. This necessitates the need for a security deposit in the form of a credit card preauthorisation.

Please feel free to contact me to discuss further should you wish.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at Travelodge Docklands 8 Mar 2012 and have stayed four times since it's opening - the rooms are clean and tidy. The position is excellent: a stones throw from Etihad, short walk to Southern Cross, Docklands is a pleasant stroll, CBD 15 mins by foot, Crown Casino about 10 mins and Southbank 20 mins. we were able to park our car on the premises for $16 excellent value compaired to many others. Our only complaint is that the towels are almost thread bare a poor effort for such a well established hotel chain. We will stay again and next time will ask for new towels in advance. 8-I

Room Tip: Exit from carpark a bit confusing; you come out a distance from the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thanks for your positive feedback. I am glad you enjoy staying at Travelodge Docklands. I have forwarded on your comments this morning to our linen supplier and hope that the next time you stay the toweling is at a standard that you would expect.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed in the Travelodge Docklands Melbourne for two nights in February and was a little apprehensive as in the UK Travelodge have a varied reputation some good some bad as anyone who has stayed in the Gatwick Airport South venue would testify!
I was looking for somewhere near Southern Cross station to catch the 'Overlander' and the reviews looked positive so gave it a try.

The Hotel is just west of Southern Cross station and is easlily walkable in a few minutes although there does seem to be quite a few steps to negotiate from either bridge to get to ground level unless there is a direct route that I missed. The entrance isn't that recognisable from a distance but you can't miss it if you go past it. Once inside check in was quick and the young lady quite cheerful. The room was not over large but very well set out with pleasing decor and a large window with a view of the Melbourne skyline.

Probably standard in this part of the world but a microwave and fridge were provided as were a small number of utensils and glasses (please take note in the UK). I didn't try the dining facilities or bar here as I went out instead. The bed was confortable and there was no noise from outside or from other rooms. Check out was quick in the morning as well.

My judgement may be tainted by UK travelodges but this was a good hotel for my short stay I only wish the exchange rate was better !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Excellent location, some staff have communication issues, but overall all misunderstadign were sorted out - thanks to James Coleman who is an understanding & people-focused manager. I am very pleased with their clean rooms and will be recommending Travelodge Docklands to any budget conscious traveller. Housekeeping staff need to learn communication skills as some of them do not understand plain instructions at times. But overall a great experience time and again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ETIHAD STADIUM are a must! What a view! Priceless!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our hotel. The team and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I had stayed in the Travelodge Hotel from Saturday 25 February to Thursday 1 March 2012 and had enjoyed my stay in the hotel. The fact of the matter is that the services in the hotel are very excellent, the full buffers breakfast and the dinners are very delicious. As the matter of the fact, people who works either in reception or in the restaurant are both friendly. I stayed in 814 King size bed room and every things were perfect; and it just like staying a living room. Yeah! when I mentioned a living room, an engineer can understand them what includes in a living room. I am so delighted and very happy that I had picked the right hotel in the center of Melbourne.

Room Tip: If some one plan to spend his/her holiday in the Great City of Melbourne, I would recommenced to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review on our hotel. We hope that you return before too long.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Otel and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.