We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Or E gun
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The location rather than being out of the way is actually pretty convenient given the free circle tram that is available. Located near the stadium and railroad tracks, noise is actually not a problem, but you will want to avoid days when games/concerts are taking place as many people use this hotel as a crash pad for those events, and things can get messy and loud. In addition, the new and impressive Southern Cross Station offers a number of amenities, including a large grocery store (Coles) to supplement your dining choices and provide whatever else you may have forgotten.

The bathroom is clean with good water pressure. The bed is comfy enough, though being a budget hotel, the sheets are not the softest.
Overall a pleasant stay - you know what you're getting at this star level and Travelodge delivers it without surprises.

FYI: The Melbourne airport shuttle service arrives at Southern Cross Station before sending passengers to their hotels in smaller vans. Which means you have the option of wheeling your bags across the footbridge to the hotel if you don't want to wait for the shuttle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. On behalf of the team I'd like to thank you for choosing us and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    460
    186
    45
    12
See reviews for
151
290
127
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had two nights here in December, for a pre-Christmas shopping trip. Within about half an hour of our plane landing we were in our hotel room (via Skybus and a short walk) - it doesn't get much more convenient than that!

This hotel is our preferred accommodation for shopping trips - it's within close walking distance to DFO South Wharf (10 mins), Southern Cross Station (2 mins) and the free City Circle tram route (5 mins - but early risers, beware the timetable - the free service doesn't start until 10am each day). If you don't mind a walk, it's only about 15-20 minutes into Bourke Street Mall (took us about 30 mins pausing and window-shopping along the way), plus a bit extra for Chinatown, Southbank etc. We did the walk across town a couple of times and really enjoyed seeing all the little shops and cafes - but if trams are your preference they're everywhere!

On this trip we found the service friendlier than on previous stays - admittedly we had to initiate the smiles and warmth but when we did so they were returned without hesitation - and we were thrilled when we arrived at about 8am (up since 4am to get the plane) to be told that our room was ready - we certainly didn't expect that in the week before Christmas. Overall we were really happy with our stay and we will definitely return.

Pros:
- Efficient, professional and friendly service
- Location, location, location
- Clean rooms
- Comfortable beds
- Good range of free TV channels
- Reasonably-priced internet access in the foyer next to reception
- No apparent discrimination against customers who have booked using online discount site (wotif/lastminute etc) - we've stayed multiple times using various booking methods and we always get a consistent standard of room, which is great!

Cons:
- Room service meals were pretty basic and unimaginative (pile of lettuce + drenching of balsamic vinegar = bad bad side salad!), but I guess that's in line with the Travelodge service - streamlined, no frills, etc. It was fine for a basic meal at the end of a long day of shopping.
- It's probably worth pointing out that, as two females, we wouldn't have felt very comfortable walking back to our hotel late at night - normally we wouldn't think twice about it if we were staying in the heart of the city - but this is just 'out of the way' enough to make the thoroughfare a bit daunting in the dark.

Essentially if what you're looking for is a clean, quiet, convenient room with everything you need for quick pit-stops between shopping, eating, sightseeing etc, Travelodge Docklands is ideal. We've stayed there several times and will return again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such and informative and useful review. We are so pleased you chose to stay with us again and that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

Great handy location with the train station, less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel.
Great fancy lobby and polite service from staff.
The rooms where very large, with en suite with big shower.
It had a mini bar with soft drinks wine and beer.
Also they were a selection of nuts chocolate and other sweets, you do have to pay for it when you check out but it's nice knowing it's all there, the room also had a micro wave and dining equipment. I went out and bought a few horrible microwaveable meals to eat.
I was vext I didn't have more time to stay at the hotel to enjoy it more with the nice comfortable beds and great widescreen tv.

The one thing that bugged me was that you had to pay for wifi, which was very expensive, so I just had to use my mobile for the Internet.

All in all it was a great hotel, shame the wifi fee's is hindered me giving the hotel a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thanks for such a positive review. We have shared your comments with the team and they are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked this hotel through Wotif for a reduced price and was glad I didn't pay full price. The hotel is brand new so everything is clean and fresh but the rooms are tiny, and this part of Docklands seems to be so squashed, with everything built on top of each other, all windows look out on another building. However access to Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross Stadium and all the corporate buildings based here is second to none. A short walk from the hotel (50 Mtrs) gets you to lifts to get on the right level for the trains and trams. Nice hotel with pleasant staff and easy access to everything in Melbourne but no bells and whistles

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review Travelodge Docklands. We are pleased your stay was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. And will return again in January for 4 more nights. Was a great overall experience for us and the hotel staff were very courteous and polite and extremely helpful.
Our only complaint was that the drains omitted a bad smell but this was not unbearable. Aside this the room was roomy enough for
2 and we were able to get a free
12 o'clock checkout by liking and checking in at their Facebook page. :D thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

When you looking for a "no glam", low cost accomodation that is modern, clean and walking distance to Docklands then look no further. I wouldn't ordinarily book this type of accomodation however it was perfectly placed to walk to a Christmas function at Central Pier, Docklands.
I was pleasantaly surprised when i stepped inside. Although the rooms are small in size, you can look past this for the price and the ease of walking to nearby restaurants

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for choosing Travelodge Docklands and wish you all the best for the new year.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed four nights Dec.
The room was minimalist. We only had one pillow each, less than the norm of two to a person that we have come to expect. The blanket was not clean cos there were a couple of strands of hair stuck to it when we first entered the room. The carpet was definitely not vaccumed as my sensitive skin started to itch badly. The bathroom had only soap (which didnt lather well) and nothing else, not even a shower cap. The bathroom floor was dirty, as strands of hair were left behind each of the four days we were there. The towels were grey and thin and looked like they were not washed. When I first poured boiled water onto a tea cup, I saw specks of black stuff come out of the kettle. The housekeeping dept truly needs an urgent overhaul.
The other properties in Oz that we stayed prior to this, were all generally quite good. Having been used to a rather high standard, Travelodge was quite a let down.
Thankfully, service was quite good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Conveniently located near Southern Cross train station and the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I have taken your feedback to the housekeeping team to ensure they improve the areas you identified.

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you back if you are returning to Melbourne in the future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.