We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Docklands to your Saves list
Travelodge Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Hotel was a little hard to find by car and there is a lot of building work going on around the hotel. The front office staff were pleasant and checking in was fine. The room was quite large and clean. There was a fridge, flat screen tv, table and couch. The bathroom was small but adequate. Easy walking distance to Spencer St station and Collins Street, but accessed up a flight of stairs. Complimentary breakfast was good, plenty of hot food buffet style. Staff offered to hold luggage after check out.
Tram trip to Richmond only took 10 minutes and after 6pm the ticket is valid until 3am the next day. Gotta love Melbourne trams.

For the purpose of this trip the hotel was well located although for pleasure trips I would prefer to stay further in to town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments. On behalf of the team at Travelodge Docklands I'd like to thank you for choosing us and hope that you will return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    622
    233
    53
    18
See reviews for
208
369
150
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

Was not delighted when I learned work booked me here, but was pleasantly surprised after check in. A new hotel with clean simple comfort really well located.
Some noise issues, wet rooms with big loud dryers in the hall, and train noise frm Southern Cross.
Breakfast and Internet are great value. Not quite a business hotel, but a fair compromise. I would not be disappointed if booked here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thanks for your positive review. In regards to the noise from the dryers - unfortunately just prior to your stay with us, one of our guests hung something on a fire sprinkler head setting it off. This flooded 3 floors of the hotel. We are pleased to advise that the hotel has now dried out and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

For value for money, this place would be hard to beat. We found the staff very helpfull, the rooms a good size and clean.The breakfast was good value provided you booked in advance, and the hotel is very well situated for all amenities, with just a short stroll to the the river, with its many bars and restaurants, and a stones throw from the Etihad stadium.The only gripe we have is the view from our window could have been better,but when your out most of the day (and night)it did'nt really matter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thanks for your comments. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return some time in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Have stayed here quite a few times and had not been impressed but they hve definetly cleaned up their act to make this a good value location for one or two night stays.

Greeting and service on arrival was excellent with them allowing me to access room prior to midday. Room well presented and very clean. Rooms are of average to small in size and if you are staying here for more than a couple of nights it can feal as if you are cramped in especially if you want to do some work in room.

Its in a good location with a number of restaurants close by (reasonably priced) and offers easy access to city and Southern Cross station.

Rooms have mini bars now and also a limited room service menu.

Did'nt try breakfast this time but it has been ok previously.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback of the hotel. We are glad you noticed the guest services we have added.

The team at Travelodge Docklands look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hotel is nicely situated--only a few minutes walk from Southern Cross Station and only 5 -10 minutes from free City Circle Tram stops. Staff was very helpful--a quick shout out to Clare--our Penquin Express tour was unexpectedly cancelled--she quickly called another tour group and we were able to experience the penquin parade : )

Room was about the same size as the Holiday Inn on Flinders. Breakfast was a typical breakfast buffet--actually not as expensive if prepaid as other hotels in the area. Area is quiet after work hours and felt safe walking around at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Nancy

Thank you for your positive comments. I have passed on your feedback to the team and they are pleased you enjoyed your stay (especially Clare!).

We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after our 2-day Great Ocean road trip. It is located behind Southern Cross Station, there is a pedestrian walkway from the station to a building beside Travelodge Docklands where you can take the lift or stairs to go down and walk to Travelodge. The pedestrian walkway is also connected to the Etihad Stadium which is easier to walk to Melbourne Docklands, you can also catch the free tourist shuttle from here or free tourist tram. It is also just a 3 minute walk to the tram station where you can catch the free tourist tram. The area is well lit at night even the pedestrian walkway so it is relatively safe.
The hotel is quite new. It is just a small hotel but is comfortable. The staff where friendly but in the morning when I rang reception for an iron, I had to ring again after 20 minutes to follow it up. The room is of good size. The bed is comfortable. There is a sofa bed, table and chair, mini fridge and microwave with plates, glasses, cups and utensils. The toilet is a bit small but it was okay. Size wasn't really a problem but the shower floor was grimy. Everything else in the room was clean though. The TV was good size unlike the tiny TV we had in Ibis Lt. Bourke. They also have cable with tons of sports channel to my husband's delight. Breakfast was typical but was worth the $12 we paid for. They have wifi for $19.95/24 hours.
On our second night, the fire alarm went off at 4am prompting us to "prepare to evacuate the building" which caused us a bit of an anxiety specially being located on the 13th floor (highest floor). Fortunately the lifts still worked, but I guess it isn't wise to use it in an event of real emergency. When we came down, firemen where already there. After about 5 minutes we were told that everything was okay and we can return to our rooms. Firemen where waiting on the 13th floor, when the elevator door opened the firemen asked people on the elevator who was in one of the rooms because the fire alarm went off in their room. To our dismay the ladies in that room where giggling about it. Take Note, this hotel is a NON SMOKING HOTEL. But I have no clear idea what really happened there.
But aside from that mishap which kept us awake for a long time afterwards, we had a good stay here. Would definitely stay here again if I come to Melbourne.

Room Tip: highest floor for more view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel so comprehensively. We are delighted that your overall stay with us was a positive one.

I would like to clarify your point in regards to the lifts. In this building - being a relatively new one - the elevators are actually fire rated and are an emergency exit in case of a fire. Should the emergency have been real you would have been in no danger by using this method to exit the building.

Thank you for your understanding and please don't hesitate me directly should I be of assistance to you.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, comfortable bed, rooms clean, breakfast was good value even though I was not keen on the eggs and sausages. The location was ok not too far to walk to town or the trams were close to jump on. As this hotel is next to a train station the noise was not as noisy as I would have expected, and one thing about the rooms, the walls are not thin, so there was no noise from rooms either side or top or bottom. Would def stop here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesColeman, General Manager at Travelodge Docklands, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thanks for your positive comments! The team at Travelodge Docklands are glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

James Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Docklands

Address: 66 Aurora Lane | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Docklands Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.