We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sofia

Hotel Sofia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sofia
Save
You added Hotel Sofia to your Saves list
277-287 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived for an overnight stay. We were mysteriously upgraded to a superior room as soon as we arrived. Upon entering the room was very unpleasant and very poor quality - the phone did not work so I rang from my mobile and were told if we needed anything we would have to go downstairs! The lamps were ripped and shabby. As for the view if you were from say Vietnam and missing home you would be feeling right at home. And this was the superior room!!! Very disgusted!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
6
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Upon arriving, the place was dirty, smelly and the staff were very rude. we were told it was 4.5 star, more like 1 star. Back packers would of been more cleaner. we felt un safe. After telling management it was not what was advertised and we require a refund, they refused. we contacted wot if, who were and are extremely helpful. they would not give our money back. the phones in room wouldn't work, and the lamps on the table, well let me just say that chicken feed or reject shop lamps are as good as myer lamps. Over all a very very poor and dirty place. I felt like I was in a 3rd world country.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room, they are FILTHY, old and smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 6 days during the British Lions tour. Hotel was clean and quiet, had breakfast which was a bonus. Ajoins a pub thats does really nice meals that are reasonably priced. Location is close to the main railway staion and tram stop that includes the free city tram. The only downside was you had to give a $150 "bond" when you signed in. This was taken off your credit card. On leaving the "bond" was returned but staff said it could take upto 5 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very nice place to stay for a short stay, the room was small but it was ample for the short stay, very clean, staff helpful and the room was quite quiet at night. Breakfast was ample and plenty, with scrambled eggs, bacon, eggs, toast, cereals, fruit and juices. The hotel is near the king st tram stop and a very short walk from the Skybus interchange at Southern Cross Station. Some very good Restaurants very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After gaining last minute tickets to Australian Open, I then had the mad internet search for some reasonable accomodation for my son and I. Hotel Sophia ticked the boxes with availability, close to tram stop and reasonable price. After booking this hotel I read some of the reviews and was worried what my son and I were going to encounter. I was plently surprised. Staff were friendly, room was clean, beds were comfortable ( we had a king size and single bed, plus a lounge), and the bathroom had recently been refurbished. Whilst it did have a shower over the bath, not my cup of tea, it was spotless. Our room was at the back of hotel, so night time noise wasn't a problem. It was only a short walk to tram stop and Coles was close by for any grocery supplies. Breakfast was included in the price. It was basic but that suited us and it included a selection of cereals, toast, eggs and hash browns. This hotel has obviously been a pub in its day, hence the high ceilings and layout. If you are wanting a Hotel to sit in and look and the view, this is not for you, but if you are like us and just want something clean and cofortable to come back to at the end of a busy Melbourne day, I would have no hesitation in recommending this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the the back of the hotel. We had no problem with no nightime noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sofia for one night as we were in Melbourne for a gig at the Etihad Stadium. The location was great for the stadium, train station, bars and shops. We had a double room with shared bathroom, which was clean and had most facilities you could want. Could have done with a bit more shelf space in the shower room. The breakfast was included in the rate and was a buffet style of lots of eggs and toast, but no sausage or bacon. The price was reasonable given the location, quality and breakfast. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don’t know if this review is still helpful as we stayed here in 2009. My partner and I were students and were looking for budget accommodation. Only good thing about this hotel was its location. I was taken aback by the shabby hallways and room. Thank god we had a friend who was taking us around both days and we only returned to sleep here. The bed was fine and clean sheets thankfully.
Another good thing was their receptionist on the first morning. We had taken the early morning flight and arrived at the hotel way before check in time (with luggage). The receptionist asked us to wait in the lounge/dining area and offered the hot breakfast. Which was nice for us budget tied people.
I would not recommend this place though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Address: 277-287 King Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.