We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow....what a fantastic stay. Exceeded our expectations and will definitely be returning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wow....what a fantastic stay. Exceeded our expectations and will definitely be returning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I can't say enough about this hotel. We travel a lot and this time decided to stay out of the CBD for a change. We were welcomed from the very first moment we arrived. Our bags were wisked away (found them in our room once we had checked in) which was a nice touch. The rooms are fantastic (stayed in a deluxe balcony room) - very funky. They have thought of everything...right down to the slippers. My partner was super impressed that the (large) tv was mounted to the ceiling, movable and provided perfect viewing pleasure (unlike most hotels). We can't wait to try out the other hotels in the series to see if they are just as good. It is located in the heart of South Yarra with easy access to the city either by Train or Tram. The locals are all super helpful. Room service was quick and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    235
    81
    33
    13
See reviews for
101
407
87
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a large group (79 rooms) booked into the hotel for a special celebration, held nearby, and everyone was very complimentary of the hotel. The hotel staff worked well with our travel agent ensuring rooms and charging arrangements were as planned.

An excellent choice when looking for quality and service without the big hotel feel and the art work is a great point of difference.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Thank you for a fantastic review Shirley. It was great to hear that your group booking at our hotel was a success. It was on of the first book reservations that the hotel has had and I am glad to hear that everything went well. You look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The Olsen was terrible! It took ages to check in & the staff didn't seem to know how to work the system, our bags were just left in reception area & not stored while we waiting for the room to be cleaned, the room was tiny & we could hardly fit, the shower was cold & had no water pressure, the bed was just a double bed (but it was comfortable), we got two small towells for the two days & the towells were not changed, the fan in the bathroom went all night, the curtins were too small for the windows & the light came in the morning, the lighting system in the room was impossible to work & the hotel hallways were dirty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Thank you to the author for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very disappointed to hear of your concerns with your stay and I have passed on the information to our housekeeping and Guest Experience Team to look at ways of improving these issues. Please feel free to contact my self if you have any further quires or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We wanted a nice weekend in Melbourne as a family and we got one. We stayed in the two bed apartment at the front on the 11th floor (and put the kids in the second big double bed) with fabulous views of Chapel Street. Everyone was friendly and the location was great. We had a problem with the air conditioner making noise which the staff responded to. There was no fuss - it was just nice, clean and original. Can highly recommend - we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for such a terrific review. The room which you stay in is definitely an amazing room with some of the best views in the hotel. I am sorry to hear of your concerns with the air conditioning system and I hope it didn’t dampen you stay too much. Please feel free to contact myself if you wish to stay with us again in the future I will happily try to get the same room for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley Beach South Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed at the Olsen with our 5 year old son during the July school holidays. The price on Expedia was cheaper than booking direct with the Olsen. This is a brand new clean, trendy and stylish hotel. The only disappointment was the lack of heating in the open pool area and the cold water temperature ( + a few cigarette butts in the pool ). The pool has a glass bottom section that overhangs the Chapel Street footpath. We did try to swim but I think it was only suitable for seals and polar bears. The pool area is not designed for a Melbourne winter. We had no problems sleeping here, the room was quiet with a good bed.There is an excellent new large flat panel TV with only a limited few cable channels that can be rotated to view from the sofa or bed. The room includes a small but excellent kitchen area which we used during our stay. The hotel is opposite a brand new Woolworths and Big W. The Chapel Street location is great for a girls shopping holiday and a short walk to the Prahran markets. Nearby South Yarra railway station can take you direct to the MCG. The underground carpark costs $ 20 per day for guests. If you can get a good price / deal dont hesitate to book the Olsen.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for a great review. I have passed on your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel pool to our maintenance team and it currently is being heated at 27 degrees. Unfortunately as it is ‘opened aired’ it does has a chill factor getting in and out off. The Big W and Woolworths have both just recently opened and are becoming very useful to our hotel guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We booked on hotel club (got 7 nights for $1100) and were told there was going to be free wired internet. Arrived and had to pay $100 deposit for each night.... so that was an extra $700 and that staff member made me feel cheap and awkward for the rest of the stay.... however all the other staff were very friendly. Then nothing ready for our little one when we got to the room. Room was so clean and looking great though and ther was great views. Finally got extra towel and bedding sorted.... and found out no free internet. Need it to study at nights so really disappointed with that even though I showed them it states free internet. The first 3 nights we stayed the housekeeping was brillant and absolutely done with love and care however by night 4 it was only just done.... beds were made and everything was just put on the table for us to sort out. Must have been different staff because it was so different. There is a Woolworths that has opened only 50m away so that was great and the the train and trams were great to catch. We just got a ZONE 1 weekly ticket and then just could jump on and off wherever whenever. The staff at the end of the trip in reception were lovely and the even took our bags down to the bus who parked a block away. Oh by the way the pool is heated but outdoors so it was way too cold to swim for Melbourne. Other than that it was a nice hotel but not good for kids!!"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for you feedback regarding you last stay with us at the Olsen. I am terribly sorry to hear of you concerns with check in and I am glad the team were able to make it up by the end of your stay. The Olsen Hotel prides itself on exceeding guest’s expectations and I can assure you that your comments will be shared with all of our team at the next staff meeting. We hope to have you back again at the hotel again soon and please feel free to contact myself for any further queries or reservation enquiries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

As evident in the property photos, the hotel and rooms were beautifully appointed, immaculate and tasteful. Good amenities in the room, including kitchenette, and a fabulous view down Chapel Street. Very comfortable bed, some construction work nearby but didn't start too early. My family enjoyed the pool.
I was disappointed, however, by the poor quality coffee provided and that the assortment of teas were not replenished during our week-long stay. The only milk provided was long-life, yucky and cheap! Also a little annoying to have to phone to ask for cutlery, crockery and towels for our daughter, when we there were obviously 3 people in the room. While this oversight was amended promptly, a simple apology for the inconvenience would have been nice. Reception staff were friendly upon check in and check out, however, generally aloof at other times. A return smile wouldn't hurt! All of these are small things really, but just not quite the standard I have experienced from other 5 star hotels.
If you can find a good deal, I would still recommend this hotel for it's good location and lovely rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your last stay with us at the Olsen Hotel. You have made some very valid points that I have share with our teams regarding our service standards and I hope that we are able to enhance your experience on the next visit. We hope to see you at the Olsen again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.