We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a boutique hotel is supposed to be like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
1 review
“This is what a boutique hotel is supposed to be like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

In my last 7 trips to Melbourne I have stayed in 10 hotels. My next 10 trips to Melbourne I will be staying in only one, the Olsen.

I moved to this hotel after spending 2 freezing nights in another so-called "boutique" hotel in South Yarra. I have been looking for a hotel in the South Yarra area for a while that mixes comfort, style and service together with good prices and good food. Just when I had almost given up hope I discovered the Olsen.

At check in I was informed that as this was my first stay in the hotel I was being upgraded to a balcony suite. This really set the tone for a stay that was punctuated by warm friendly service and professionalism.

The room was beautiful and stylish, not particularly large, but comfortable and well furnished. The bed was apparently a special "olsen series" bed and was quite comfortable.

Parking garage was relatively easy to get in and out of but would probably fill up quick in busy times, the leftover spots then will be those really hard to get into corner spots.

The staff were friendly, polite and despite this being a pretty classy hotel in a classy area (I spotted more then a few celebrities over the 3 day stay) the staff were never snobby or patronising.

If you need to stay in South Yarra this hotel should be at the top of the list of choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Thanks for a great review and I am delighted that you had a great stay with us. I am pleased to read your comments regarding the staff and the design of the hotel. You really have summed up what our intentions were from prior to opening the hotel. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    231
    80
    33
    13
See reviews for
100
403
86
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our 3 day stay turned into an unexpected 5 day stay on experiencing The Olsen.
My partner and I decided that we could put off our return to our warm city of Brisbane, as we found the Olsen and its staff so warm and inviting!
We love Melbourne, but the cold we are not fan's of, so this time of year is never pleasant! The Olsen's rooms were comfortable and warm, decorated with John Olsen's works.
We stayed in the Spa room on the first floor, so no views or sky lights to be seen beyond the wall... (I would have enjoyed a little view)... we did venture into the spa one evening (very private) and almost caught pneumonia... our own silly fault! Retreating to the cosy lounge in front of the fireplace in our robes.
Everything flowed on this trip, maybe it was our good luck, but we couldn't complain about anything... Fresh linen, towels and bath products each day. Helpful and friendly concierge and staff.
The restaurant, convenient for breakfast as most of our lunches and dinners were out and about! The food however on the times we dined were delicious, although I found the servings too large for me!
Coffee was great... better than most in Melb's - and I went EVERYWHERE!
The hotel has day rental's on their Smart Cars which was a wonderful way for me to travel all over Melbourne whilst my partner attended business meetings... the staff arranged to have this ready for me and it was just as they had said! There are also bikes for the more 'adventurous' traveller...
We were sad to leave, it was a little home away from home!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Expience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Thank you for a wonderful review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your 5 night stay in our Spa Suite. It is unfortunate that the room doesn’t have a view, but it is definitely one of the best rooms in the hotel with the features that you have described in your review creating a very warm environment for those cold winters’ nights. We hope to see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Bit too small a room, and the the dishwasher didn't work. Not really a 5 star hotel, . Location is good though.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 31, 2010
Thank you for you review and I am terribly sorry to hear of your concerns regarding the dishwasher and room size. We have a number of different room styles throughout the hotel and I would be happy to help you select one that might be more suited on your next visit. Please feel free to contact myself at the hotel if I can assist with any further information regarding you last stay and I hope that our team will be able to enhance your next experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Qc,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

After a three month stay I would go back in a flash
Fantastic and very friendly staff,A restaurant (Bleu Bottle) with excellent food and service
A close location to shopping and dinning (Chapel Street)
A walking distance from downtown Melbourne (15 Minutes) and a 5 Minutes walk to the Royal Botanical Garden

An over-hall Very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
Thank you for a terrific review. It is great to see a review from a resident guest of the hotel. We thrive on making the hotel as comfortable as possible for our long stay guests and we hope you have us in mind for your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just want to say thanks for our stay. We really enjoyed it, the rooms and hotel design are fantastic, we used the gym and pool every day, the service was good and friendly, and even though we only had afternoon tea once in the restaurant we were happy with our experience there too. We’re looking forward to our next stay! Can only give a 5 star recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2010
Thank you for the great feedback Mr. Boyski and it was a pleasure having you stay with us that the Olsen. I am glad to hear that you enjoy the service at Blue Bottle. The Restaurant is coming along very nicely and has been receiving some glowing reviews. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Art Series group is a must when in Melbourne!

I was at the Olsen Hotel on Sat and it truly has a strong balance of everything a hotel should have - Comfort, Design with no attitude.

I arrived Saturday morning, with my favourite jacket Iost the night before in Sydney and the concierge called up all the bars i visited to try and track it down.....They were VERY helpful!

The bed is amazing and you are guaranteed the best nights sleep, I could have spent an extra day just relaxing in bed!

The central location will ensure you can have very fulfilling days, without traveling more than 15 min in cab (Unless going to the airport....I also recommend you check twice which Airport you're departing from. I turned up to wrong one).

My favourite aspect however, is the art and education you receive on some of the great Australian artist. The art Series is a MUST for anyone who appreciated GREAT design!

Phillip Merillo

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Dear Mr. Merillo,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review. I am wrapped the concierge team were able to track down your jacket in Sydney. It is great to hear that you appreciated the Art works through out the building and please feel free to contact me during your next visit to arrange a guided tour with our in house curator to get an in-depth overview of the Olsen Originals throughout the hotel. We Hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Having travelled the majority of this planet on business and experienced what 5* should be I was a little worried at staying at an unknown 'boutique hotel ' in South Yarra. My worries were soon put aside after we checked in (the only time I could fault the service having been met with a rather highly strung front desk person)and walked into our two bedroomed balcony room. The decor was great ,modern, ultra clean with fantastic floor to ceiling windows all around the room giving a bright feel and of course a great view of the City and also the sea.The rooms were a very good size and afforded my lively 20 month old boy ..loads of room to run about on the lovely new carpets. The suite came equiped with a very well equiped mini kitchen and a dinning setting which we used every night for the child. We took advantage of room service which was very good.
The service was fantastic and we were made to feel very special by all, in particular by James the concierge who is a credit to his proffesion and his hotel.
Location is great as two min walk to South Yarra stn and right on the doorstep of all the trendy coffee shops and eateries.
Try this place its good .....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review during your last stay with us at The Olsen Hotel and thank you for your positive feedback. I was very happy to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and I am wrapped to here that our concierge/ Guest Experience team were able to make supply you with fantastic service and I will pass you comments onto them at our next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.