We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel in South Yarra - Worth a Look!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #26 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel in South Yarra - Worth a Look!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I stayed at the Olsen Hotel in South Yarra over the long weekend. It is very conveniently located on Chapel Street just across the road from Hotel Como. It is just a few minutes walk from the Jam Factory, a load of nice restaurants and some of the best clothes shopping in Melbourne.
The hotel appears to be quite new. I really liked the rooms and actually wished I'd had the time to extend my stay there. My room was on level 1 and had a large terrace with a 5 person hot jacuzzi bubbling away on it. Nice! Pity it is the middle of winter otherwise I would have spent a bit of time in it.
The beds are impressively very large and soft. I had the best sleep. I actually slept in (which I never do) and had to be woken by the guy delivering my breakfast.
Each room has a small kitchen with microwave, kettle and toaster and some cooking/eating utensils. There is a large flat screen TV that can be pulled out for the wall with 20 TV channels.
The bathroom is pretty cool with LED lighting and enclosed in a huge glass box covered with John Olsen's artwork. The rooms really are very cool! And in the hallways funky music is playing away... you would swear you were in a hotel down in South Beach Miami.
The hotel has a small but very function gym. Mostly cardio equipment (see photos) and a great lap pool with a glass bottom for a view over the reception area down below.
There is one thing I should point out about this hotel.... there are many ideas introduced in this hotel that I have not seen before. It is a part of the Art Series hotels group. They leave lots of art books in each room, the walls are covered with really beautiful art work. Also, in the foyer you can hire one of the little smart cars (I heard they are just $10 an hour) or borrow a push bike.
I actually love this little hotel and will most likely visit again sometime. I heard the hotel restaurant is very nice too but didn't actually get a chance to try it out.
I have included photos of two rooms here. My friend stayed in a larger room on the 8th floor. It's well worth spending a little extra for a larger room. And a tip... for best light choose a north facing high level room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 28, 2010
Thank you for a great review and taking the time to upload some amazing photos of your stay at the Olsen, they look terrific. The hotel has defiantly taken the extra steps in creating a unique experience for our guests through quirky extras such as the Vintage bikes and smart cars. I am glad to hear that you had a chance to go through the art books in the room and made the most of your Jacuzzi. The Spa suites are my favourite rooms and I look forward to seeing you at the Olsen again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    268
    95
    43
    15
See reviews for
120
463
100
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I recently took a long weekend in Melbourne to catch up with some old friends, and being without my husband wanted to be somewhere in the thick of it.

The Olsen is certainly that! Placed at the top of one of Melbourne's fabulous bar/restaurant and shopping strips, Chapel St, everything I could possibly want was right at my fingertips.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and made me feel particularly welcome. The little touches in the hotel are also very well done - as you gaze in wonder at the beautiful artwork on the wall when you first arrive in the room, you notice that someone has kindly opened an artbook to the very page that talks about that piece of art by John Olsen. The swing tag on the door was creative and amusing and the guide to the hotel also gave you great ideas of what to do around Melbourne and was very personal and engaging.

All in all, alot of thought in its designand setup, and in how the staff look after you. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thanks for the terrific feedback. Our creative team has developed some great little touches to the hotel and it is great to hear that they are getting noticed. I will gladly pass these comments onto them. We look forward to having you back at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We took a punt on staying here as usually stick to one of the mainstream internationals in the CBD but both The Olsen and its sibling The Cullen looked very interesting. The arrival welcome was casual but fantastic w. valet service, check in etc. I had booked a 'deluxe studio suite' online (which shows a spacious room w. a sofa and large bed) and had asked for a view so we were intially extremely disappointed we were given a tiny room (811) w. a double bed, no sofa (and no where for any luggage) - yes it had a view of the CBD skyline and a small balcony but also of a construction site in the foreground etc. We asked to change rooms and were given the room we'd actually booked I think (1005) with a fantastic view right down Chapel St - the room was spacious and gorgeous w. a very comfortable bed. Bathrooms are small-ish but a fantastic shower. We ate in the room and the restaurant - both excellent and service very good. You can tell this is a new place as there are a few amateur service mistakes going on w. a generally very young staff (like delivering room service without any cutlery, and the room cutlery and glasses were missing also, and no salt/pepper, breakfast croissants being delivered cold, no jam) but in general the staff are really enthusiastic and helpful. The art is to DIE FOR - what a wonderful treat to have a room with two large prints of Olsen's stunning work, a stack of books relating to his and other Australian artisits work etc. The art is all over the hotel and just separates this place from the pack. The only disappointment in the end... the Steer isn't open yet - oh well, we'll just have to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back at the hotel again soon. The Steer Restaurant is set to open its doors in early July and we are all looking to tasting their South American menu. Your positive comments will be shared with the team at the next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

As a business and leisure hotel traveller throughout the world, l always stay at 5* properties. So my experience in evaluating properties stems from 20 years of such travelling, many of my reviews are here on Tripadvisor.
We decided to stay at The Olsen based on reviews and also the location.
Good Points:
>Rooms are amazing, modern, clean and have the best views of city from the balcony. >Beds are so comfortable and l can honestly say one cannot fault the rooms.The artwork in the hotel also amazing.
Negative points:
>On arrival no one is at entrance to greet you and take luggage or park the car for you, had to go to reception desk after unloading car ourselves.
>Reception desk staff didnt greet us, instead asked "Are you checking in"
>Breakfast Saturday morning in hotel restaurant, at 9.30am when ordering told they were out of Orange Juice and White Toast, took 20 minutes to get a waiter to take our order when we were seated. Meals arrived 30 minutes later. Dissapointing that they were out of main breakfast items early in morning. Manager was sitting talking to mates at the bar, my suggestion to the manager go to supermarket and get items to serve your guests before sitting around with mates.Guests come first.
Tried the same resturant for dinner with 3 friends, all of us found meals were tasteless, extremely boring, and overpriced.
>Room had no information booklet advising room service, internet costs,hotel services in general, etc
So all in all, the rooms are exceptional and 5*, but the service and the restaurant are no more than 3.5*. I will not return until l hear that service levels have drastically improved.
I will be returning next week to The Westin Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thank you for your review. Firstly, let me apologise for the service that you received during check in and at our restaurant. This is by no means the expectation or standard set by the hotel. Please be assured that this has been raised and addressed with the team. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and I look forward to enhancing your experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My girlfriend and I spent one night at The Olsen Hotel, Chapel Street, South Yarra, Melbourne and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

The location is perfect - close to all the bars, cafes, restaurants and shops that Chapel Street has to offer along with close proximity to public transport.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the art enthusiasts among you will love the art that dons most walls throughout the hotel.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. It is always a pleasure having art enthusiasts through the hotel even if it is just to view our collection of the first level. Our whole team has extensive knowledge of the pieces throughout the hotel through monthly Training with our in-house curator, Jane O'neil, and we would love to take you on a guided tour of the pieces throughout the hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logatec
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Great hotel with comfortable rooms and excellent staff. The restaurant is one of the best in Melbourne, if you find yourself in Melbourne you have to to try the food there, it is absolutely
fantastic. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the service and thank you for your great feedback. I have passed your positive comments onto our restaurant manager and Guest Experience team. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I travel around Australia on an ongoing basis. This brand new hotel would be the best i have stayed in It has great art...really great service...abslutely fantastic. It has a great feel ...the staff make you feel very welcome...i am a wheelchair guy so for me the room has to have alterations so that i can cope. ....and it certainly did allow me to cope well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Thanks for the great feedback Mr. Holland. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we look forward to having you back again soon. I will pass on your positive comments to the team at the next staff meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Splendia, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.