We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in South Yarra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in South Yarra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here in a Deluxe Studio Suite W/ Balcony for 4 nights last week and was extremely impressed by the decor, service and location. Rooms are comfy with great furniture and all the mod cons like iPod dock and LCD TVs. Bathrooms were amazing with LED lights above the shower and spa bath.

The pool and sundeck are the highlight of this hotel, the glass bottom pool overhangs Chapel St, while the sundeck is a great place to hang out on a sunny afternoon. There is also a state of the art gym with 3 huge LCD TVs to keep you fit.

Can't fault the service, they helped us change a booking without any extra charge and also didn't mind when we were a little bit late checking out. Room service was fast and great for those midnight munchies.

Location right near the corner of Chapel St and Toorak Rd makes this an ideal base for shopping, experiencing great food and wine and clubbing. I will definitely return to this hotel next chance i get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you for your review. I appreciate that you took the time to upload some photos of our place on your review. Your kind words will be passed on to the team that help create your experience and we hope to see you here again soon.

Regards

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    234
    81
    33
    13
See reviews for
101
407
86
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010 via mobile

Beware the pool is solar heated and even in early April was freezing and thus unuseable. Nice staff if a little inexperienced. We had a room overlooking the back of the hotel and were awoken at 4.45 am every morning by kitchen deliveries . If the pool was heated and rooms sound profed it would be a 9 out of 10. .

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you for feedback. We have been working on the pool temperature and happy to report that it is at a very comfortable heat now. We would love to have you stay with us again and provide you with a 10 out of 10 experience.

Regards

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Without a doubt a great hotel to stay at in Melbourne! I usually choose to stay in the city due to the lack of nice hotels in South Yarra. The service, the rooms, the art and location is all A+. They even significantly beat the price being offered on wotif.com for me. I will definitely be back. Hopefully when it is a bit warmer so I can make use of the glass bottom pool :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

A trip to Melbourne for the football turned into a lovely, relaxing couple of days away after we stumbled across The Olsen hotel. This hotel is brand new and they have gone to a lot of trouble to cover every little detail. From the LED lights in the shower to the bikes for hire in the foyer.
From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with friendly service and even a small gift of a canvas and paints to fit the art theme. We stayed in a studio suite and although we found it to be small, the design was well thought out. The glass wall to separate the bathroom and main room was impressive! We also had a fantastic view of the city from our room.
The location was great, shops in Chapel Street and great restaurants in Toorak Road right at your doorstep. Not to mention a quick drive to the MCG.
We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting The Olsen again in the near future. (Next time we'll remember our swimsuits, the pool looked amazing!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thanks for the great feedback. We are glad we could make you trip to the football as relaxing and lovely as possible. Please visit us again when your team is playing in Melbourne next. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to seeing you here soon
Regards

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I am a local but saw a TravelZoo special and was curious after lots of hype. I have to say I was totally pleased. Not only is the location terrific, but the room is well thought out, well decorated with Olsen prints EVERYWHERE, and the kitchenette could be useful with surprisingly good quality cutlery. Check-in was friendly and efficient. The pool was lovely, with the fun of being able to stand in the pool and look up and down and below at Chapel Street, and the sundeck chairs oh-so-comfortable.

A great place to stay even if you live around the corner for a total holiday feel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you for your great feedback Alex. It sounds like hand a great Experience with us. You positive feedback will be shared with our team at the next staff meeting. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Olsen Hotel on your next visit.

James Sharrock
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I'd probably second pretty much all of the previous reviewer. I'd left booking our trip til the last moment and a good deal for this placel turned up on travelzoo. I initially had some reservations about staying out in Chapel st but this turned out to be a good choice. My husband who hates cities felt much more comfortable without the highrises and even admitted to enjoying the clothes shops (this is a first believe me!).
We stayed in a deluxe studio. It was beautifully decked out although the amount of furnishings made the room seem a little small. For us, the massive tv seemed a bit out of place ( From the pictures I've seen of the one brm, this would probably be the way to go.) The tea and coffee went above the standard with Lavazza available for the provided plunger. Small things like lack of milk replacement probably just reflect a new structure that the staff will take a little time to get used to. Bed was really comfy.
To people staying here in the next few weeks, you should be aware that this isn't yet quite finished and there are still workmen on site. We heard a minimum of noise however. We met a few perplexed people in the lift unable make their swipe cards work.
A big highlight was the pool which is amazing. Something you have to see for yourself.

Its certainly something different, the art is fun and presented in a charming and well thought out way. Would definitely go back in 6 months if we can still afford it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsen_GM, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you to the author for your review, I appreciate your feedback and recommendations. The opening hic ups have been ironed out and I’m pleased to announce the hotel is 100% complete, I hope you will return to experience the difference. James Sharrock, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed at The Olsen a few days after the official opening and we couldn't have had a better experience. The rooms were beautifully done, with a small kitchenette and such a comfortable bed. The blinds were blockout blinds which meant the whole room was in darkness, giving us the best sleep! The staff were all so friendly and helpful, and made our experience memorable. We didn't get to sample anything from the restaurant this time. The location was terrific, even though it was on Chapel St, we didn't hear a thing.
We will most definately be back to stay when we are in Melbourne next and highly recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsen_GM, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 26, 2010
Thank you to the author for your review, I was pleased to ready you enjoyed the facilities and the service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.