We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well presented, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“well presented, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

first time visit to Melbourne, arrived around 1100 check in wasn't until 1400 but we were put into an available room straight away, I really appreciated this since I wasn't feeling well. room was really well presented, high floor close to lifts which was handy. view was a bit disappointing straight into high rise over the street meaning we had to have curtains closed for privacy. bathroom was small but modern with a great shower, there was a good selection of tv channels and a good variety in the mini bar. the bed was so deliciously comfortable! great pillows and just so soft and welcoming. had a small issue with a stain on the doona but had this fixed immediately when pointed out to housekeeping. room wasn't noisy, typical city sounds eg the tram and traffic, nothing that disturbed a good nights sleep. ordered off the late night room service menu, food was typical, ok but overpriced. this hotel is located on chapel st so there's plenty of shopping however it cost us a fair bit in taxis overall to travel to the city centre for attraction such as the casino and Vic markets. all in all we had a wonderful stay here, I believe we got value for our money and we would definitely recommend for a short stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear suziebee 11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. I am happy to hear that the team were able to accomodate your early arrival. Perhaps next stay we could accomodate a room for you with a Chapel Street or City outlook that offers additional privacy.

We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

At [The Olsen] we are very fortuante to be located next to many retail stores, restaurants and bars. In addition to this we are a short walk to the South Yarra Train Station and the tram to take you into the heart of the city. Melbourne has introduced the "MYKI" a travel card that is very cost effective for trips in and out of the city.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and would recommend [The Olsen].

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    235
    81
    33
    13
See reviews for
101
407
87
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pravia, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I'm an eleven year old girl. I thought this was a great hotel as it has many things a kid likes. The best thing was the infinity pool. It is a huge swimming pool with a clear glass floor so you can see people swimming from the street. The rooms are also amazing. They have fantastic artwork all over and the views are stunning. I truly reccomend this hotel for a family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Eva,

Thank you for writing a review, you may be the youngest guest to write a review of [The Olsen].

I am happy to hear that you had a fun stay and enjoyed swimming in the pool. It is lovely to hear a perspective from a younger guest of ours. I am delighted to hear that you recommend the hotel to families to come and stay.

Hopefully you will be back to stay with us again soon!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Olsen Hotel is in South Yarra just steps from the river (with a great running trail). It's part of the Art Series hotel chain and you can tell from entering, it's a hip hotel sort of like the W chain except it doesn't seem as sterile as W has become.

I had a one-bedroom suite which overlooked some athletic fields in the city and had a nice long balcony to boot. There was a kitchenette which I didn't get a chance to use. Parking lot is down an alley behind the hotel and it's a little tight getting around the underground structure.

Two bathrooms, both equipped with evo amenities (which is pretty good local Australian stuff): shampoo, conditioner, "soap dodger" body wash. Modern towel racks, slate tile. Tasteful.

Spoonbill down on the ground level does a good breakfast, but get there early if you want dinner. Staff is excellent; I've used them for recommendations and business guests, and I find the staff incredibly attentive and professional and always willing to help.

The key reason to stay at this hotel however is an awesome cantilever lap pool that juts out from the second floor over the sidewalk. Complete with glass sides and bottom, you can do get in a lap swim workout while watching people walk and dine (at sidewalk tables) underneath. It's truly awesome, I'm going to go back just for the pool! There's also a small gym facility by the indoor/outdoor pool but really, why would one sit on a stairmaster instead of swimming in this awesome structure. It makes the hotel a must-see!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ladodgerone,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review from your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. We are very fortuante to be situated in a fantastic location like you mentioned it's a hop, skip and a jump from the Yarra.

I am very happy to hear that you loved your suite! It is nice that you noticed the little touches like our Evo products.

I will pass on your kind words regarding Spoonbill and the staff. It does tend to get quite busy particularly over the weekend so defintely good advice to get in early.

The pool is a great place rain or shine to enjoy the buzz of Chapel Street.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a fabulous review!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is a little something out of the ordinary... Never had multivitamins in the mini bar before!
So original and boutique, so relaxing, perfect location, cosy, stylish... Everything you'd want for a stay in Melbourne.
You feel pretty special the moment you walk in and the staff are happy to look after you.
Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Shinead C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen].

I am very happy to hear that you were able to have a wonderful stay and experience all that Art Series has to offer. Here at [The Olsen] we want our guests to have a unique experience and defintely aspire to be something out of the ordinary.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here. We are very fortuante to have staff that also reflect our unique brand.

We look forward to wishing you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The room was beautiful. much lighter and brighter than The Blackman however the room was quite small. Very comfortable bed and super soft pillows that you just melt into. Great in house restaurants and as it is situated on Melbourne's famous Chapel Street it's close to great shopping and restaurants as well as Palace Cinemas Como.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear myhappytravels2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We love to hear guest feedback and I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay.

At [The Olsen] we are very fortunate to have so many of the fabulous Dr John Olsen's artworks which defintely brightens up the hotel.

We are now selling our Art Series Signature Bedding so you can take the comfort home with you!

Excellent to hear that you were able to enjoy our facilities during your stay. In addition it sounds like you explored the local area and all that Chapel Street has to offer.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

After staying at this hotel at least a dozen times I thought the wonderful team definitely deserved a review. After staying for a large variety of reasons it has been wonderful time after time. The team there doesn't just provide great service, they provide genuine service. My family, friends and I have celebrated many of our celebrations at The Olsen and each time the team has gone above and beyond to meet all of our needs.
The managers such as Lee, Amy and Jarrod are all very hands on and approachable. All the Front Office team was very helpful. The girls at Front Desk are always smiling and full of knowledge. Romy is a Superstar! The Concierge team there always recommends quality bars, cafes and restaurants to us! Cameron and Paul are very good at what they do. The swimming pool is wonderful with its glass bottom floor.
Finally I must mention the very unique decor as it really does feel like you are staying in a trendy gallery and one can see that Art Series Hotels really knows what they're doing!!!!

Room Tip: Spa suites are very romantic, 2 bedroom suites are ideal for those travelling with family or friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Brendan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your experiences whilst staying here at [The Olsen].

It sounds like you have become a familiar face at [The Olsen] and have met many members of our Team. I would like to thank you for your kind words and will be sure to pass on your feedback to the staff you have mentioned. In particular you mentioned that our staff provide genuine service, this is something that we strive for at Art Series.

We really do appreciate feedback and I am delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed each time you have stayed with us.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review regarding your time here at [The Olsen]. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very chilled out, whether for business or pleasure it is fantastic! The rooms are big and spacious, clean and smell great. Can not recommend this hotel highly enough to everyone I know!
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and quite honestly the Olsen is one of my favourites and I always stay here when I come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowena C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear 315Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us here at [The Olsen]. It is fantastic to hear guest feedback and it sounds like you really enjoyed your stay.

It is an honour to hear that we are considered one of your favourites considering you are an avid traveller.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Rowena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.