We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
THE COLLECTORS
Ranked #19 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stylish honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel, second week of our honeymoon in Australia and this was spot on. Hotel staff friendly and the location was good for coming and going to cafés and bars and we were very impressed with the art in the halls and room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Good Day EMJJSc,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials!

I am so pleased you had a terrific time with us here at the Olsen, should you need anything in the future do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will certainly take care of your needs.
Kindest Regards and thank you for your time


Amy Moylan
The Olsen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    206
    72
    31
    13
See reviews for
95
360
81
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were in Australia for a family holiday over the Christmas and New Year period and stayed at The Olsen on two occasions. From the moment we arrived, saw the stunning pictures on the wall and met the team at the front desk we knew it was going to be a special stay. The staff are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. It really did get our holiday off to a terrific start which then continued. The room we had was incredible with views across Melbourne and a lovely unexpected upgrade from the one we had booked. The Spoonbill breakfast was delicious (particularly the smashed avocado on sourdough!) and the kids loved the pancakes. We made full use of the facilities and the kids loved the pool. The location is excellent for exploring Melbourne and visiting shops and restaurants. We were sad to leave on the next part of our journey but looked forward to our return trip. I was slightly apprehensive that perhaps it couldn't live up to the first part of our holiday….but it was even better! Believe me, I have no affiliation to this hotel - we just had an incredible stay there. They were so accommodating and relaxed, even other family members visiting us were impressed. I am sure everyone has a different experience, but ours was really, truly amazing. I would like to thank The Olsen and all the team there, Alex, Jared, Kate, Chris (who discreetly popped in to fix a minor issue) and anyone I have forgotten - you really made our holiday super special. We will definitely be returning when we want to escape from London again and will definitely spread the word. Thank you, thank you, thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Greetings,

Thankyou for your glowing review from your time with us we were all thrilled to read such terrific feedback.
We are delighted some of our staff really made a valuable impression on your stay, we are very lucky to have great employee that love thier jobs.
We look forward to seeing more of you in 2014, Happy new year.

Kind Regards,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
The Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I cannot find fault in this hotel. Simply superb for the price range that it is in. Excellent check in / out staff, modern very well appointed room with the best night sleep. I will look forward to my return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Matt,
Thankyou for your glowing review from your time with us!
We look forward to seeing more of you in 2014,

Kind Regards,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
The Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here as a family in a studio room (2 adults and 1 baby). The QS bed was comfortable and the room was a little tight once we had the cot setup, but manageable. The room itself was very nicely furnished, and if you are interested in art, then this is a lovely place for that.

Some pros -
* great location with the Chapel St shops being only a short walk down the road
* access to many great restaurant choices nearby
* handy public transport access - South Yarra train station is about a 5-10min walk, and the tram is just outside.
* front-of-house service was very good

Some cons -
* car parking is very limited downstairs and the car park itself is quite a tight squeeze if you have anything other than a compact size car - so you might prefer to use their valet service if you don't want to navigate that.
* housekeeping staff - seemed very limited during our stay. We had to call repeatedly to get some extra towels and linen - and still it took almost an hour.
* if you have younger children (and require a bath tub), this isn't available in their studio rooms - which we probably should have checked beforehand, but didn't.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear RobertY,

Thanks for your review, I am happy to read overall you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the Olsen artwork.
I am disappointed to learn the room type perhaps was not the best suited to you and your family’s needs.
Looking forward if you were to stay again the Deluxe suite would suit as a better option as there is more floor square footage for the cot and a bathtub can be requested in this room type.
Hope to see you again,
Regards,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
The Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had a wonderful 3 night stay over the New Year period. Most hotels are quite pricey during this time of the year; however, The Olsen was actually appropriately and well priced! The bed was amazing and the over all details of the room was impressive- down to the current Vogue Mag, T2 Teas and Evo Hair/Beauty products! The location was ideal for me, as I needed to be around the South Yarra end of town and to head into the CBD it was only a quick train ride away.

I will definitely be revisiting The Olsen for my return trips to Melbourne! Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi CatM09,

Happy new year to you!

Thanks for your review, I am delighted to read you enjoyed the small touches of our room like the amenities, beauty products, current magazines and T2 selected range of herbal Teas.
We really feel it’s the small things along with the beds and a great rate as you have mentioned that make it a memorable place to stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
The Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for a week over New Year and the abiding impression is one of happy staff whose mission is to be helpful in any way and to make our stay memorable. Location is great with restaurants abounding in walking distance. Our suite on the 14th floor had views to the bay and the room lacked nothing. City was a short tram ride away. Breakfast options are a little limited, but there is much to choose from within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Happy New Year JonnyG1953,

Thanks for your outstanding 5 star review, our team was delighted to read the impression we left was one that we truly care and are happy whilst at work looking after our travellers.
Glad to see you had a great view on top floor!

Cheers,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
The Olsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked the Deluxe Studio Suite was according to the website overlooking the city. We were on the 6th floor and had a brilliant view of the office building in the side lane, complete with rooftop air conditioning units. Maybe you need to be up much higher in the building to get a view, but at $275 a night I expected a better outlook.

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The first day we arrived we requested hangers as there were none in the wardrobe. We were still waiting 6 days later for them to arrive. We also were given only 1 weeny bottle of bath wash during our entire stay. When it ran out it wasn't replaced, although the shampoo and conditioner were. The ECO products they supply are nonetheless very good.

I definitely would not stay in Room 610 again, as the hallway outside this room was always clogged with cleaning carts, black plastic bags of laundry? Or rubbish? The carpet was never vacuumed in this area and was dirty for our entire stay.

Spoonbill Restaurant (the in house restaurant) was a bit if a disappointment. The service was slow even though the staff were always pleasant. Our breakfast took an hour to come even though we ordered when there were only about 12 people max in the restaurant. Coffees alone took about 15 mins. Our reorder of coffee and juice took much longer. Breakfast fare is pretty ordinary really. Stick to the DIY breakfast on offer @ $10ea, at least you will have toasted bread instead of a soggy charcoal striped piece of sourdough. I expected better food here. The staff were struggling when the restaurant slowly filled up...only 2 of them to meet and greet, take orders, serve food and clean up! Also, be warned that if you want to eat here, don't expect special treatment or reservations for dinner when you stay here either. We stayed 5 nights and could never get a dinner reservation. A lot of non hotel guests eat here....don't understand why! For breakfast, head to a cafe called en Vogue. Prices are great, food is great and service friendly. It is on Chapel Street just a few minutes walk from the Hotel towards the city. Hunky Dory is also great for a fish meal.

While the location of the hotel is brilliant, I don't know if that would be enough to convince me to stay here again. I expect more at this price point.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Moylan, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good Day AssieEggy,

Thankyou for providing your feedback for your stay this past week.

I have found your feedback and recommendations to be most helpful, and the details that were overlooked throughout your stay shouldn’t have occurred.

I do sincerely apologise we didn’t achieve the level of service we do strive for when it comes to the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Certainly this is not the level of service we expect of ourselves and I do truly apologise.
In particular I am disappointed we let ourselves down on your breakfast and dinner reservations in Spoonbill. Please know that I have passed on this feedback to the General Manager and the Food & Beverage Manager to look into areas that can be addressed from your experience.

Again my apologies your weekend stay did not live up to expectations and should you decide to ever return please feel free to contact me directly as I would love that chance to host you again and deliver the service I am proud of here at the Olsen.

Kind Regards,
Amy Moylan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.