We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Chapel Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE FROM 20%
Ranked #21 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed twice for business. Some great deals if you book early. Plans To make it the preferred hotel for Melbourne business trips.
Some staff are just lovely, however some of the female staff are not quite as friendly as expected. Perhaps they were having a so-so day.
Spoonbill food was very nice, but expensive.
Rooms were gorgeous and well appointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JGibbs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review on your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you thought the hotel was lovely, but extremely disappointed to hear your comment on our staff, of which I will be sharing with them.
I do trust you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on business. Nice hotel and would stay again.

Pros:

- Great decor and rooms design
- Nice bar/restaurant on site
- Close (but not in) city

Cons:

- No free WiFi in this day and age
- Asked for a wake up call which didn't happen

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us.
I am however, extremely disappointed to hear you did not receive your wakeup call. This will certainly be addressed with the staff on reception.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for business and pleasure. Gorgeous hotel themed to the stunning works of Australian artist John Olsen. The decor of the rooms include prints of Olsen's works which are bright and fun. The glass wall in the bathrooms also feature Olsen's work and are just delighful. Another great inclusion are the art books covering the work by Olsen...a great alternative to watching TV!! The hotel is in a great location withn walking distance to shops, tram & train and the Yarra River and Botanic gardens for those that like a walk. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PixiePam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We love this hotel too!!!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. All comments will be passed on to our staff.
We are extremely honoured to have our hotel named after Dr John Olsen, and to have his works throughout the hotel.
We look forward to having to stay with us in the near future.
Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here in late August, just sensational, from the Reception staff to the staff at Spoonbill, the room and amemities were well above expectations too, all was fantastic, as was the lovely glass of champagne I was offered on the Friday evening (I had checked out earlyer on Friday morning) when after a day of shopping and collecting a hire car I headed back to The Olsen to collect my bags, alas could only enjoy a small glass as was driving down to Torquay that evening. I will definatly be staying again and again and have recommended to all my travelling friends. Next time I might just purchase one of those lovely John Olsen prints!
Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay at The Olsen

Room Tip: Make time to enjoy the artworks throughout the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

WOW! Thank you. This review is very pleasing to read, and will be passed on to all staff.
All staff are very excited come Friday nights - Champagne Lobby!!! A nice way to kick start the weekend.
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Warm regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here recently with 6 other couples, it was a fantastic weekend. The location is great, could walk up and down Chapel Street, Prahran market just browsing, it was very relaxing. I thought the breakfast was great and reception staff were fantastic, very helpful. The beds and the pillows were soooo comfortable, made sleeping very easy.

Room Tip: Realx and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Fabulous review, and thank you for taking the time to write this review and let us know.
The bedding is amazing- I totally agree. You can purchase this. Please let us know your details and we can forward you the costings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Olsen soon.

Kind regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed the theme here and our room. While a bit small, it was still very clean and quite beautiful. Also nice to have the small kitchen there. We cooked up breakfasts and did shopping to fill up the fridge during our stay.

The neighborhood is great. Lots of good restaurants and some nice shops too. Felt like it had a little more character than some areas of the city. Grocery store across the street, which was nice.

The only thing we didn't care much for was the service. They weren't all that adept at answering questions. There was a little false advertising here and there too (the welcome booklet says 'come on down for running maps around the city.' We are big runners and so we went to the desk, where the woman had no idea what we were talking about. When you join their hotel group club you're supposed to get a free drink, but they had no idea about that either).

Decent gym, and a very cool pool that overlooks the neighborhood and is heated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EETravelfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on tripadvisor, I really appreciate your feedback and glad you took the time to let us know about your stay.
The feedback you have provided regarding the Front Office Team's response to your questions are not not how I expect my team members answer.
Please be assured I will take necessary actions to have all my team members briefed in regards to the confusion over the running maps and the welcome membership drink which you definatly should have recieved.
I do truly hope that this interaction has not placed a full blight on your entire stay with us here at the Olsen, we really do strive to deliver genuine and personalised service and in this instance we did not reach expectations.
If you do happen to return to Melbourne, anytime in the future, please do contact myself directly so as I can take care of all your booking arrangements.
Kind Regards,
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice cosy room, clean. great location. Celebrating our anniversary, but our room was next to the lift which made our first experience @ the olsen not one to remember, as from 05:30 the constant banging and and the lift moving up and down was a nightmare. WARNING to anybody wishing to stay there make sure your room is not near the lifts. Also the resturant down stairs was less than impressive as during breakfast, my eggs were cold and my wifes meal was just warm. The coffee was ok. When asking the waitress could i please have some fresh eggs re made, she was going place them back onto the plate with the prevoius cold toast and bacon, very sad. A better Idea for guests that decide to stay @ the olsen , would be to grab a bite in any cafes down Chapel st , its cheaper and more appealing and better service than the hotel resturant on ground level.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Schmcr,
Thankyou for you feedback and Congratulations on your recent anniversary.
We are saddened to hear you were woken early by the lifts, certainly there are many different room types not located close to the lifts and should you wish to stay with us again we would be delighted to allocate a room away from the lift for you.
Your feedback regarding the breakfast in Spoonbill Restaurant has been passed on to the Food & Beverage Manager and we are looking at ways to improve on what you have described.
Again thank you for your valuable feedback,
Kind Regards
Amy Moylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing