We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olsen Hotel - absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Olsen Hotel - absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family recently stayed at The Olsen Hotel over a three day period. We had an absolutely fabulous experience. The Hotel's artwork is amazing and its decor fabulous. The Reception staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful; nothing was too much trouble for them. They were knowledgeable in explaining the artwork in the Hotel and provided good advice on close-by restaurants. The rooms are simply gorgeous and well equipped - the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We dined in the restaurant each day and had wonderful service and food. We also swum in the swimming pool which is divine. The Olsen Hotel provides a total awesome experience, and I cannot wait to come back again!

Stayed with family September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Pam P

It’s fantastic to hear you and your family enjoyed your three day stay with us at [The Olsen] The artwork the adorns the hallways, rooms and gallery spaces is a important element of [The Olsen] All of our staff from housekeeping through to upper management are all trained in the artwork of John Olsen by Our in-house Art Curator. As for our beds, they truly are like sleeping on clouds. They are so popular we even sell them.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to [The Olsen]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    228
    80
    33
    13
See reviews for
100
397
85
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for a family special occasion, so there were 10 of us (which included 5 grandchildren aged from 6-16 years). We booked 3 rooms, one of which was a suite with two king size beds and living area that we could all congregate in - there was also a good sized outside balcony where we could sit in the sunshine. The rooms were all spotless, light and airy and a good size, and the bathrooms modern in tasteful colours and included nice products. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The children (and adults) enjoyed the pool area, the sundeck above and the gym. We also really liked all the Olsen prints in the foyer, in the corridors and even the elevators.
We all had breakfast at the café adjoining - this was the one area that wasn't quite as good, with the food only average and the prices high for what we got.
The location of the hotel was excellent, with Chapel Street great for shopping, restaurants, and heaps of coffee places. The trams were only minutes away to go to Southbank and the city.
The best thing of all was the friendliness of the staff at the front desk, who were only too happy to help our group. Mention must be made of the main concierge Paul, who gave us absolutely excellent service, helping with parking of our cars, providing extras when he knew it was a special occasion, including activity packs for the younger children. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and we all appreciated his friendly manner and willingness whenever we needed anything. Thanks Paul, you are a great ambassador for The Olsen, and you made our time there much more special. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: If you have a family group the suite is good as it gives you space to all get together, and it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Kath3043,

Thank you for your review. Its fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at [The Olsen] We are fortunate to have a extensive collection of prints and original works by John Olsen for all of our Guests to enjoy. Being situated in south Yarra provides guests the luxury of being only minutes from the city without having to be surrounded by the hustle and bustle. Paul our Chief Concierge is a great asset to [The Olsen] team and we will pass on the Feedback to him.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Olsen and Hope you enjoy your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Wow! What an extraordinary find! In town for business I thought we'd also see the Monet Gardens exhibit. The hotel foyer was a great preparation with a huge yellow Olsen painting as one enters. The staff were exceptional - they clearly love their work - the room was large, airy and beautifully understated. Probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in and a great bathroom shower to wake me up. 5 stars at 3 star prices. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent experience staying at the Olsen! It sounds like you had a wonderful time, of which, we are all very pleased to hear.
All your comments will be passed on to our staff.
The beds, I agree, are amazing! (We do sell them, please contact the hotel for further information).
We do hope you will stay with us again, when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm wishes,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for our birthday weekend, and it was terrific. It ticked all of the boxes for me, although there are a couple of things that could be done to really make it out of this world.

Check-in was excellent, and the girl was absolutely lovely. Concierge were always friendly and helpful. Mini-bar had interesting choices. Room service was excellent - we got it three times, and I had the same thing twice (I dreamed about it one night, too). Living area was lovely, with comfortable lounges and a cool dining setting. Bed was really comfortable. The bathroom toiletries were EVO. We got facials at the day spa and it was the best facial I've ever had - very professional, exceptional service. The bar downstairs was nice. The location is excellent, close to all the best shops, good restaurants, and a cool pub called the Sweetwater Inn.

The towels in the bathrooms were quite thin, grey and ratty, and totally at odds with the rest of the experience. - some nice towels would have made a huge difference (and is something the hotel can do something about). It had a balcony, but it wasn't conducive to outdoor relaxation - it was narrow and basically a wind funnel, so that was a bit disappointing. While the bathroom attached to one of the bedrooms was a fine size, the main bathroom was tiny. It was a bit strange that when the room was serviced each morning, they would just replace all the toiletries (even if only a tiny bit had been used).

Overall, I would definitely stay here again - we had a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review about your stay with us at the Olsen.
Our staff will certainly love the comments you have written about them.
The details that were overlooked throughout your stay shouldn’t have occurred, and I have passed this onto our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for letting us know, to ensure we can recitify these issues.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Olsen in the near future.
Kind regards,

Julie Dale
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided to stay for the weekend at the Olsen Hotel......it was amazing. One thing that really stood out other than the immaculate rooms and bathrooms - was how friendly the staff were. They made us feel welcome from the moment we walked through the entrance.

Rooms are amazing - very clean, bathrooms - very clean - one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed at.

Location - perfect for shopping, restaurants, and bars. Toughest decision when staying at the Olsen will be where to eat. Restaurants in the hotel are brilliant too.

Swimming pool / sundeck / gym are amazing - definitely recommend going for a swim in the pool and relaxing on the sun deck.

We will be back - cannot wait to stay at the Olsen again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us- We are glad you enjoyed the room and hotel facilities, those little creature comforts are our specialty! It sounds like you also had a good experience with our front office team, we are so pleased to hear you felt welcomed on your arrival and throughout the stay. As for making a decision on where to go during your stay, feel free to chat with a member of our concierge team to find out about the latest local spots to eat, drink and shop! We look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a great weekend at the Olsen and can't recommend it highly enough. The thing about the hotel is more about an experience rather than just a place to stay the night.

We were welcomed very warmly by the concierge on arrival and I loved that there was water available as soon as you walk in (the cup is cute too, saying glass half full) - The front of house staff were very friendly and thanks to Jarred and his dining recommendations (which we used the next day).

The rooms are amazing - from the individual art work, the quirky products are awesome views down Chapel st it was all great - I have to say the bed was so comfortable.

We were sad to leave but Paul the concierge was there again to wish us well. Overall a great stay and thank you to all the staff for making it such a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wonderful to read this review. You have certainly gotten the idea that we’re going for – we want you to get the full experience of South Yarra , Art Series Hotels, and the John Olsen philosophy. We try to apply this to all aspects of our business, from our personalised customer service approach (We’ll pass on your regards to Jared & Paul) to the art and amenities in the rooms. We hope you can stay again soon!
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The customer service at this hotel was absolutely outstanding. The desk and concierge staff went above and beyond all my expectations. They were friendly, polite, talkative, attentive and always tried to help out wherever they could. Special mention for Paul who almost seemed to know what we wanted before we realised it, he was just great!!

Restaurant food was a slight let down, and that's the only reason for the 4 rating rather than 5. Also the pool was quite cold.

Overall a fantastic stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The suites were fantastic with gorgeous views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! We are always pleased to hear our guests say they’ve received great customer service - we’ll pass on your regards to Paul. Please contact the hotel direct to discuss your comments on the restaurant, we would certainly like to hear more so we can recitify.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.