We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Alternative to Usual Hotels - Perhaps a Little Confused Though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to Usual Hotels - Perhaps a Little Confused Though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really nicely presented hotel with a modern-rustic restaurant that did great drinks and breakfasts. Rooms are nice - I was in both a Deluxe and normal Studio Suite and the Deluxe is worth the extra coin. The Studio is probably the smallest hotel room I have had in Melbourne, made to look smaller because of the slightly confusing kitchenette, cook-top, dishwasher etc in what would be a very smart room (without it!). It worked in the Deluxe as the room is much larger - the Studios I reckon are only 24sqm. A good option though and I would stay again in Deluxe. Great location close to all of Sth Yarras restaurants and bars. In summary - to large to be a boutique hotel, too small to be mainstream, rooms too small to be serviced apartments but perhaps not big enough to be hotel rooms? It worked though.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Very constructive feedback you have written and The Team is very thankful for these kind words. The Studio Deluxe Suite is great value as for only an extra few dollars you can have a king size bed and there more generous when it comes to space. The studio suites do vary in size with an average of 28m though we are sorry to read yours was not satisfactory. The kitchenette is relatively simple however we find that the microwave and stovetops are generally very popular especially amongst the long term guests.
We may have 220 rooms however we do aim to be an artistic boutique style hotel as we are certainly not like what you would call a ‘main stream’ hotel. It is important to us to provide personalised service to all of guests while they are surrounded by some beautiful décor and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    223
    77
    33
    13
See reviews for
98
384
84
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at the Olsen hotel for the weekend that has just past. I have stayed here a few times before and each time the service has always been amazing, from the moment you drive up the drive way the concierge greets you and opens your door with a big warm welcome. The receptionist Julie made check in easy and quick and remembered me from my last stay. The room was clean and a great size for a 3-day stay with a welcome back card from the staff. The chicken taco and mini burger where wonderful and service was quick at the restaurant Spoonbill. This is my first review I wanted to share the fabulous experience that I always receive at the Olsen hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked the john olsen penthouse to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday with the family it was a perfect way to celebrate cooking our favourite food with a wonderful dining table overlooking the city and surrounds , was able to make use of the balcony spa which was a great way to finish off the evening. Staff were all very helpful and enjoyed the champagne and cheese platter on our arrival and a note from the general manager. Would recommend this for any special occasion and a wonderful place to spend with loved ones.

Room Tip: book the penthouse if its a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
All birthdays are worth celebrating and turning 60 is certainly a momentous occasion. Great to read you celebrated in style up in our John Olsen Penthouse and we thank you for the feedback. It sounds very delightful having a delicious meal up there followed by a spa. Lee Davey our General Manager doesn’t miss a beat; his attention to detail inspires all who work alongside him. The Penthouse welcomes many more celebrations as time goes on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are traveling to Melbourne and you want to stay in the heart of restaurants and shops and easy access to beautiful river side walks and gardens then this is a place to go.

I was in Melbourne on business arriving Sunday night late and after 8 hours on the road it was great to be greeted by a bright, cheerful and extremely helpful "Jacquie" behind reception.

Nothing was too much trouble, the check-in was quick and efficient and guidance for making the next morning meetings really helpful.

The room was exceptional and having stayed in more well known accommodation in the city centre, the Olsen was a cut above the rest. The beds were fantastic, the shower modern and efficient , the internet fast and the 40" LCD flat screen outstanding. There was also a i Pod player which makes a real difference.

The mini bar had most of what you wouldnt expect ...all in all very comfortable and outstanding

The Spoonbill restaurant downstairs was again a cheerful and accomodating place to be. Breakfast was well presented and a choice of a la carte or buffet, and the evening meal I had at the Spoonbill was outstanding. ( the strip sirloin steak was amazing and left for dead the steak i had the previous night at a rather expensive and more upmarket steak restaurant next door .)

All in all I stayed three days and would highly reccommend the Olsen to anyone who likes the creature comforts in life, and a very warm and welcoming team who made my stay outstanding

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
This review is seriously perfect and exactly what we want to hear back from our guests and we are very grateful for you for taking the time to write it. You really summed up [The Olsen] perfectly.
Jacquie is certainly an ambassador for the hotel and the art series brand in general; she is always working hard and is certainly a bright, cheerful face.
Delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from your room to our Spoonbill restaurant.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and management is aware of your feedback and we will certainly be congratulating Jacquie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here after a recommendation from my son. The room was exactly what we needed, providing a kitchen perfect for saving some money by cooking our own breakfasts. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was efficient and professional always happy to help. The location was perfect right on chapel st for great restaurants and shopping. I'll be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for this valuable feedback and seems your son has great eye for quality. The rooms here are certainly well furbished and the kitchenette enhances ones stay as one does not always feel like eating out though then again room service can be very tempting. You seemed to sum up our wonderful hotel perfectly and can’t wait to have you and your family visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff are friendly, knowledgable and went above and beyond my expectations.

The food is fantastic, the rooms are lovely and comfortable, and the hotel itself is pleasant and the decor has that "wow" factor.

The location is perfect; I always have a memorable stay, and this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in around the world. For short or longer trips to Melbourne I will always go back to the Olsen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
There is nothing more pleasing than to read how a guest appreciated the service provided by The Olsen Team and that you had such a memorable experience!
The décor is certainly unique just as Dr John Olsen is as the entire hotel was inspired by his work and his individual personality.
Until we see your friendly face again, best wish and kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The basic studio is large with excellent furnishings and a small kitchnette for those who are weird and don't want to eat out at Melbourne's awesome restaurants. Location is fantastic, right on Chapel Street and near the intersection with Toorak Road.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again. I also think the location beats the location of hotels in the CBD.

The cafe/wine bar (this is Melb afterall, serves a killer coffee also).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you kindly for the above review. Melbourne and its surroundings does cater for everyone when it comes to eateries however the kitchenette can come in very handy when staying for a few nights or just wanting to cook up something simple like eggs or even make popcorn while enjoying one of the in-house movies.
Melbourne is renowned for a great coffee and the St Ali blend in Spoonbill is as good as any around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.