We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy, unique and boutique....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“classy, unique and boutique....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

great little hotel in chapel street, very classy, amazing little pool. Good service and nice rooms. LED lights in the showers a nice touch. Can be a little noisy but nothing too bad. All round very good, worth a stay.

Room Tip: higher up the better levels 10-12 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
It was kind of you to give us this constructive feedback and you mentioned many valuable points. We may have over 200 rooms though we do aim to give one on one personalised service to every guest who checks in. The views from some of our higher levels certainly are spectacular and we always do our best to meet all requests we receive in regards to rooms and their features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    228
    79
    33
    13
See reviews for
100
395
85
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Sensational beds and pillows like clouds - we even bought two of the pillows from the hotel. Staff are so nice. Rooms are decorated with innovative style. It's new and clean and, with hangovers after a wedding the night before, we did retail therapy in Chapel Street. We were even permitted to leave our car in the car park for the day - without extra charge. That's service. Breaky downstairs was lovely. Excellent alternative to staying in the central CBD, out of the ratrace and just a great experience all round. Highly recommended from two regular travelers.

Room Tip: We had a studio which was perfectly big enough for a sleepover. Got a great special deal rate for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
The Olsen Team would like to personally thank you for writing this excellent review, you really noted lots of the positives which the hotel has to offer. We do our best to accommodate all of our guest needs and sometimes just sleeping in for an extra hour or not having to exit the car park at a specific time can make all the difference. The CBD does have lots on offer though it does not compete with South Yarra and its continuing increase in both the retail and hospitality industries. The only issue is where to start shopping or what eateries to dine at first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I organised to take my wife away for teh weekend without the little ankle biters and the Olsen was just the spot. It's an awesome location, just far enough out of the CBD but also close enough at the same time. Walks, Shopping, Dinners, drinks etc. all close by. Made for anniversary to remember.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you kindly for writing this review as we appreciate all guest feedback. An anniversary is certainly a milestone worth celebrating. The [Olsen Hotel] certainly is in an ideal location to ensure all of our guests have an amazing experience. Everyone deserves some time away and we look forward to having you both stay here with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A lovely hotel, in a fabulous location. The staff were VERY courteous and helpful. The accommodation was beautifully presented, the rooms were very clean and the facilities were excellent. We will definitely be returning. I went to Melbourne on a mother daughter trip with my friend, who also had her daughter with her. There was no outside noise, the room was very spacious and the girls could lounge around in the room with their shopping. We chose the open plan suite which was enormous. It had two king sized beds, with an open plan living area, kitchenette and two bathrooms. So close to the lovely Chapel Street/Toorak Road shopping precinct.

Room Tip: We chose the open plan suite. It gave us lots of room to move around and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was very kind of you to leave [The Olsen] such valuable feedback and we are thankful for this.

Our two bedroom open plan suites are ideal for families as the views are amazing, there is no reason to fight over the bathroom as there is two and the lounge room area in the centre of the suite is perfect for enjoying some room service or putting ones feet up and relaxing.

We look forward to hosting another fantastic weekend here at [The Olsen] for you all in the near future. We wish you all the best until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We always look forward returning to the Olsen hotel - the check in staff are so friendly - the feel of the hotel is just right
Food is great too
Located in south yarra near shops, restaurants and good transport
It's always a pleasure to stay there

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Conciege Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving [The Olsen] such a pleasing review as nothing pleases management more than to read about how a guest found the Olsen team to be happy and friendly. We aim to provide genuine professional service to every guest who steps into our lobby.
We look forward to welcoming you both back again before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at The Olsen for one night over the Easter break and were lucky enough to find a Zumbo bunny in our room and thus received our stay for free! Best promotion ever! We were already happy with the rate, as we had booked through the hotel's website and joined the priority rewards program and got a deluxe studio suite with balcony for a really good price. The hotel itself is cool, great design elements, top location on chapel street and all the staff we encountered were just excellent. The room was small but we expected that, and everything is very comfortable and stylish, especially the bed. We also hired one of the hotel's smart cars for a couple of days and it was so affordable and fun to drive. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and book through the priority rewards program - we found the rates were cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for this valuable feedback and it is excellent to read that you were one of the lucky recipients of the Zumbo bunnies and got to ‘hop out of your bill’. Was certainly another fun promotion that our wonderful marketing team created!
It is clear that you are a very experienced traveller and know quality when you see it; we loved your feedback in regards to the hotels design and in regards to how you find the service to be of an excellent standard. The Smart Cars are very trendy and affordable as we really aim to have them out on Melbourne’s roads each day rather than looking stylish in our driveway.
Congratulations once again on receiving your stay free of charge here at [The Olsen] and we look forward to welcoming you both back again before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I booked an 1 Bedroom Apartment for my Wedding, I found the Hotel and Staff delightful!
The Staff really looked after us and made our special day even more special, they sent up champagne and made sure we had everything we needed. the rooms are excellent, they pillows are amazing, I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat! Lovely Experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
The Olsen team would like to thank you for taking the time to leave the hotel such a positive review!

Getting married is certainly a momentous occasion and one worth celebrating in style. It was a pleasure for the team to be able to assist you in celebrating this very exciting occasion! We hope you both have an amazing life together and can have many more exciting celebrations at our Art Series properties. Best wishes from the entire Olsen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.