We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 23 February - 27 February. We stayed in one of the standard rooms for the first two nights (as the spa room was already booked) and then switched to a spa room for the last two nights.

The hotel was in a great location on Chapel Street with lots of dining options on offer. It was a short walk to the South Yarra train station and very easy to navigate Melbourne's public transport system.

We found both rooms to be extremely quiet, both were very clean and the beds comfortable. We had no problems at all in the standard room, but when we changed to the spa room there were a couple of issues. We were not able to check in at 2:00 as they said that there was an issue with the bathroom door which needed to be fixed. They did however give us a free drink each in the hotel's restaurant, Spoonbill. When we got to the room, the bathroom door had not been fixed and could not be closed - no big issue really as it was just the two of us, but disappointing that we had to wait when the door hadn't even been fixed.

The spa was great although when we pushed one of the buttons it cut out the power to the room. We asked if maintenance could have a look at it while we went out, but it was not fixed the two days we were there.

Despite the internet saying that we would receive a bottle of sparkling wine, we did not receive it.

The only other thing which I was not too pleased about was that the spa room is on the first floor of the hotel and some guests on the second floor were able to look down and see us in the spa. It would be much better if they put a wall or something there to give a bit more privacy.

All in all, it was a lovely quiet hotel and I would recommend staying there, however, probably not in a spa room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to leave [The Olsen] such a constructive and very informative review which presents us with many interesting points, all of which have been investigated and adequate actions have been taken to minimise the chance of these events occurring again.
It was unfortunate that our wonderful Deluxe Spa Suite was not available for your entire stay; it’s a suite like none other with its spacious outdoor living area, large spa and a very stylish fireplace.
Sine your stay the issue you encountered with the spa has been resolved as it has undergone a full service.
If you have any further comments you would like to discuss I invite you to contact my General Manager Lee Davey on 9040 1222 any time and we will make sure your next stay is a far more pleasurable one with the kind of experience we aim to give all who stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    236
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
101
410
88
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ballarat
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i both stayed at The Olsen for two nights over Valentines Day! The hotel is lovely!!! Studio room a touch too small but good enough for two nights :) We both had 45 minute massages at the day spa Norbu where we were both set up in the same room. My massage therapist was very good but the other massage therapist who was massaging my boyfriend didn't stop talking the whole time which made it a little hard for us both to relax. But she was friendly :) The swimming pool is great!! The hotel is just two short blocks from the south yarra train station about a 5-10 min walk and the location is very close to chapel street shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Valentine’s Day is a wonderful time of year and it was delightful to read that you both had such a wonderful stay with us. There is always lots of love in the air at [The Olsen] though Valentine’s Day is just magical.
The day spa Norbu is very luxurious and the team there have magical hands, sorry to hear that one of the masseuse was overly chatty as seems she may have noticed your partner was a terrific catch.
Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to have you both stay with us again while the sun is still around and you can take advantage of the pool and the recently refurbished sundeck on level one and two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just got back from another wonderful trip to Melbourne and the stay at the Olsen was a highlight. Staff deserve particular praise they were friendly, relaxed and helpful.
The room we had was really well equipped with fridge, sink and micro and well laid out although the glass partitions for the bathroom could lead to stage fright. The air con was great, not too cold and not too noisy but VERY necessary.
Ten minutes walk along the river to the botanical gardens and another 15-20 and you're right in the centre of the city. On the other hand the shopping and cafes right outside on Chapel Street also make this hotel a great option.
If you are arriving at Tullamarine airport at peak time it's easy to get to the hotel circumnavigating the city traffic, saving time and frustration. I would recommend asking the hotel to book a limo pickup for you which they are very happy to do, it saves standing in the revolting cab queue at the airport beside all the smokers, and it's not too much more expensive.
A quick walk across the river (one block over the bridge) to The Top Paddock or Baby Cafes is really worth it for breakfast or lunch, but don't go on the hour like everyone else unless you are happy to wait for a table!
Coming from Wellington we are a bit fussy about our coffee but can really recommend the hotel brew or if you're out and about up Chapel Street, 3 Monkeys or the Market Cafe on the edge of the Prahran markets are worth a try.
Oh and wonderful beds too!!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Your review is very informative and we thank you for taking the time to write this for [The Olsen] and our future guest.
The Olsen team are genuinely friendly and relaxed and we find that this definitely enhances ones experience when they stay with us. The Botanical Gardens or 'Tan' as the locals tend to call it becomes very popular especially during the warmer months.
Seems you had a terrific time here in Melbourne and really had the opportunity to experience some of Melbourne’s best aspects. We look forward to seeing you again during the year and will make sure we have a delicious coffee ready for your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at all three of the acclaimed Art Series Hotels now and cannot recommend them enough, particularly The Olsen for a romantic getaway.

I stayed in the John Olsen penthouse the night before my wedding and my husband and I stayed on our wedding night and we can say that it was by far the best hotel experience we have had in Melbourne.
The first night I was lucky enough to enjoy the room with my close family who were here from QLD for our wedding. We requested some cold champagne and beers on arrival and it arrived promptly. The staff knew it was my wedding weekend and bent over backwards to assist in any way that they could.

The views to Melbourne city are just amazing and waking up to hot air balloons flying above was just surreal. I enjoyed a room service breakfast on the balcony and it was just lovely.

The room decor is gorgeous with a beautiful fire place and great lounge area. But the most impressive thing was the spa on the balcony. Amazing!! The bathrooms are a great size with the one in the main bedroom big enough for my bridesmaids and I to each get ready with hair and makeup comfortably.

The beds are ridiculously comfortable and I was told on check out that they are in fact available for purchase!

The staff arranged rose petals to be scattered on our bed for when we returned from the day and the spa was switched on and the perfect temperature.

I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Melbourne. It was the best.

Room Tip: If you can afford any of the Penthouses - do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
It is always pleasing to see that our guest have taken the time to leave [The Olsen] a review and let us know how their stay was especially when the guest have celebrated such a momentous occasion such as yours.
Our John Olsen Penthouse is without a doubt one of the greatest suites Melbourne has to offer. It is certainly at its prime when functions are held up there and newlyweds such as you and your husband have the pleasure of experiencing what it has to offer. The living space which opens on to the large balcony with the spa is certainly my favourite aspect of the suite as well.
Rose petals sound like the perfect way to start of your lives together and we hope to have you and your husband stay with us again soon during your long and wonderful lives together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Olsen for a week long honeymoon.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by warm and friendly staff and this theme continued throughout our stay. Everyone was so inviting and helpful which made us feel so comfortable. I find it rare these days to come across such a personalised service in a luxury hotel - it was refreshing!

Our room was clean, comfortable and ultra chic. From the artwork, to the luxurious bedding, and the fun and unexpected mini bar items - it was all amazing.

The Olsen is positioned in a fantastic part of Melbourne. You will never want for something new and exciting to eat or drink and the shopping is heaven. Public transport is also conveniently located nearby so it was never a hassle to venture far away from home or to get back home late at night.

We would definitely recommend the Olsen to anyone and can't wait to visit again someday!

Room Tip: Discuss with the reception before booking. They can help you decide what's important to you for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
With a title like 'Chic on Chapel' we should recruit you to our marketing team!
Your review is exciting to read and we are very thankful for you taking the time to write such an extensive review.
Here at [The Olsen] we aim to demonstrate our friendly personalities to all of our guest as we all have wonderful qualities and love to ensure our guest have a unique experience with us.
The North End of Chapel Street where we're conveniently located is ideal for all as you noticed. The abundance of eateries, shops, cafes and bars ensures everyone has an enjoyable time.
We will look forward to having you stay here with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I absolutely love this place. Me and my partner have stayed numerous times and had friends with us too. mainly over the New Years period as its close to all the good things that go on over the festive season. Close to trams, shopping restaurants etc. This hotel has a great restaurant and great food. As i am from the country Victoria area its a bit of a drive, we have a holiday unit in Melbourne as well and can stay there when ever but just to splurge and have a nice pool to swim in we stay here in the hotter seasons so over the NY period its great and its fairly quiet too. the rooms are really nice and the decor is great, comfy beds and just a great hotel. i love this place really relaxing.

Room Tip: book early for a great price, if you have a ridges loyalty card you get a discount off your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Certainly is exciting to read positive reviews such as yours especially as you have stayed with us multiple times and have stayed in many hotels around Australia and The World.
You seemed to have summed up the hotel perfectly, the festive season is a wonderful time in Melbourne and New Years always goes off with a BANG.
We definitely look forward to having you stay here for your 5th stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Olsen for a long weekend and loved it. My room was huge and very clean. I really appreciated the friendly faces and chat upon check in, Julie was lovely.
The pool was nice and inviting, I love the ultra chick design.
I will defiantly be buying one of those beds!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave [The Olsen] such a pleasing review!

The Olsen Team is indeed friendly; Julie recently joined the team and was an excellent addition. We pride ourselves on being passionate, enthusiastic and informative employees.
Was great to hear you enjoyed splashing around in our pool. The glass bottom floor certainly makes the pool unique, the twin level sun deck has been remodeled recently and is very stylish and the table tennis table is indeed lots of fun!

We look forward to hearing from you in regards to purchasing one of our Art Series signature beds and hope to see you again soon for another long weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.