We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel concept!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“A great hotel concept!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Olsen is a stylish hotel with fantastic artwork by John Olsen enlivening the hotel and decor. The service is friendly and attentive. The amenities and toiletries are excellent. The bed is comfortable. It is centrally located to all South Yarra attractions - shopping, dining, cose to the city, transport etc. The only drawback is that the rooms are close together so you can hear the closing and banging of doors, and guests talking outside the room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the end of corridors, too close together so can hear doors banging close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan T, Concierge Team Leader at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We sincerely thank you for your review and it is always a pleasure to know that our guest appreciate John Olsen's art work as much as we do here at [The Olsen].

We aim to stand out from the rest by providing both professional and simultaneously providing down to earth genuine service. Our Art Series Signature beds certainly are comfortable and they are available for sale if you did want to have an amazing sleep each and every night of the year.

Our location is ideal and makes it very easy for all. Having so many transport options available at our door step and such a large array of restaurants, bars and of course Chapel Street is after all known as being the fashion capital of Melbourne and never seems to disappoint those shopaholics,
We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    218
    74
    32
    13
See reviews for
96
376
81
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parramatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying at The Olsen for 6 weeks but upon arrival we were very disappointed with the small hotel room. There was not enough drawer space for us both to unpack so basically lived out of our suitcases. Getting a car park each day in the hotel carpark was difficult and on weekends very, very difficult as it is open to the public and the hotel charges $8 a day for public parking. We paid a weekly price for the room and still had to pay extra for car parking.
Definately wouldn't recommend The Olsen for long term or permanent stays.
Had trouble with the WiFi service too and had to ring numerous times for new codes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations.

For people thinking of taking up a residency at any of the Art Series properties we always recommend speaking with our reservations team, so we can best match a room type to the needs of the traveller. We have a varierty of suites starting from our studios up to our 2 bedroom suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a fantastic time staying at the Olsen. It's central, clean, the staff were so nice and helpful. Had a fantastic concierge, Jarrod, whom pointed out great places to eat and drink and recommended some fantastic galleries and things to see in Melbourne. Overall- a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Just a quick note to thank you for mentioning our team member Jarrod. He is a man about town and knows his stuff. I'm glad he could be a help to you while you were staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I had decided to stay at the Olsen hotel with my friend for my birthday and we had an absolute ball. Being greeted by Brendan at the door with great service started a wonderful night. Our stay had no problems and was only an exciting and pleasurable stay!
- Stef Gormley

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at this fantastic Chapel Street location as we had a Christmas Function at the nearby Toyko Teppanyaki. Lovely central spot, beautifully decorated, very soft pillowy beds, great shower and little bits and pieces in the room. Tried to park in the hotel carpark which is very tight and limited for space but ended up over the road at the Como for $10 flat rate for the weekend (as opposed to $25). Staff were accommodating, room clean, amenities fautless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The decor is divine, the service attentive, location central and accessible. Had three nights of superb comfort and delight. John Olsen's work everywhere was also a treat. Staff could not be more pleasant. The T2 teabags were most welcome, what more can I say

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Gosh where do I start regarding our stay at The Olsen?! It was one of the best week ends we've had, we flew down from Brisbane, and normally stay at another fancy hotel in town, that was fully booked for the week end we had planned and found The Olsen thanks due to 3 other people's recommendations, and we were beyond satisfied. Nothing was a problems for the staff, from the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated like royalty. It was close to everything, and with it's own impressive restaurant & bar downstairs. The rooms were gorgeous, and the beds contributed to some of our best nights sleeps! Even when I contacted concierge before our arrival, to ask for some recommendations I was emailed a list of things for us to do thanks to the lovely Jacqui. Will definitely be back, and have already told everyone who asked us how our trip went. Thanks The Olsen!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's great when you stumble across something new that turns out to be such a good experience. I'm glad we could assist to make it an extra special birthday. All of the staff here at The Olsen Hotel, including Jacqui will be very motivated to continue doing what we do. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.