We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place...my home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
THE COLLECTORS
Ranked #19 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this place...my home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stay at the Olsen every time I travel to Melbourne which is almost every 2 weeks. I have staying there for a couple of years. That says it all doesn't it. The Olsen is a great hotel, centrally located in South Yarra. From here you can get everywhere easily. The staff are fantastic and now know me by name and know what coffee I drink and what room type I like. Once you stay here, you won't want to stay anywhere else. From a business standpoint, it just works! I have taken my family there a few times too and they love it now and don't want to stay anywhere else either. My wife loves the location because of all the shopping in Chapel street.

Stay here...you will love it and get attached...I did,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    205
    72
    31
    13
See reviews for
95
360
81
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at the Olsen for two nights (Fri and Sat) in November. Gorgeous room, very different and stylish, well appointed. Tiny bathroom but the design made up for the small space. Comfortable bed and lovely furnishings, everything you could want. The room is small but the best use is made of the space. The window can open which I like but my room was on the Chapel Street side and there was a lot - and I mean a lot - of noise. My friend was on the same floor on the opposite side of the hallway and she got no noise. Staff very helpful, restaurant excellent. Brilliant people watching.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Chapel Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Olsen in June 2012. The only reason that I'm not giving it an "excellent" is that there were a few maintenance issues with the room. Having said that, the issues where sorted out and I highly commend the staff on their pleasant and efficient attitude. I'll definitely return to the Olsen.

One minus - the heated swimming pool was a little too cool.

This hotel is in a great location. Chapel Street shops on the doorstep. A great French patisserie and coffee shop within a three minute walk (in Toorak Road) just outside the Como Centre.

If you tire of Chapel Street, take the train to Armadale and wander along High Street. Great shops, particularly Market Imports near the Armadale station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Enjoyed the location of the hotel, as South Yarra is quite trendy and the train station is quick walk from the hotel. The staff at the Olsen "did their jobs", but I would not say they were best in terms of service. For example, the front desk staff checked us into the hotel ("their job") but they did not welcome us to Melbourne or the hotel. We asked if there was internet access in the rooms and the response was a vague yes. I then asked if it was free and the answer was no. It took a third question to try and find out the cost, but they never provided a clear answer. I think the hotel staff needs to remember that they work in the service industry. The room was small but quite well laid out and the kitchenette is very useful. The bathroom was small and a mess after you had a shower. Using the shower flooded the bathroom floor every single time. Overall, despite not being a perfect experience we did enjoy our time at the hotel (especially as it is a stone's throw from Mama Baba - great restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask if the shower leaks onto the bathroom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback about your stay at The Olsen Hotel. I'm sorry that our team was not as welcoming as they should have been and that their communication was poor. I believe based on other reviews that our staff are very friendly and welcoming, however this proves how important it is for us to be on our game at all times. I expect that each and every guest is treated in a welcoming fashion, and I will ensure that my team is aware of this feedback so we can improve.

In terms of the issue with the shower we will ensure that this is resolved. In terms of the size of the room we always recommend that you speak with our on-site reservations team to ensure we help select a room that best suits your needs.

Thank you for some very useful comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe Spa Suite - simply amazing. We had our own private balcony, with a jacuzzi. Absolute bliss! A great 5 star place! The service was a little on the poor side - I paid for a late check-out, and got a knock on the door at the standard check-out time demanding to know when we'd be leaving. Other than that it was good. I wouldn't recommend the day spa within the hotel - there are better ones around that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best way to describe the branding of The Olsen is that you may think you're at a W Hotel but without the attentive service. The staff just aren't there enough with one person only frequently on the front desk and one porter that is often busy. I did alert the manager on our first night of some service failures and had a prompt response to this and some cleaning issues but the small amount of mould in the shower couldn't be resolved during our stay. The devil is in the detail and this wonderful property is hit and miss. Location is fantastic, if you haven't been to Melbourne this is a great alternative to staying in the city. South Yarra is a great place full of many shops, cafe's and restaurants.

The room itself is lovely. Decor is extremely tasteful and the small kitchenette is perfect for a 4 day stay. The water fountain at the front door is a nice touch and the unused bicycles look charming at the front door! Oh to have had more time! Hubby enjoyed the heated pool. Walk to Two Birds, One Stone cafe for breakfast. Steer restaurant as part of the hotel is apparently a great steak experience and Spoonbill did a good morning coffee.

The room itself has paper thin walls and you can hear everything. A private function at the pool level on Saturday night produced unwelcome noise levels way too late. The wind does tend to be noticeable outside the window. The bathroom is very tight and had my one major irritant of no space for females to do their makeup and the bin couldn't be opened next to the toilet but the shower is lovely and large. Staying a few nights, we asked to have the mini-bar removed to make way for our own fridge items. Kitchenette well stocked but only had one glass for 2 people so needed to ask for another. When we did ask for the room to be cleaned, it was serviced very well.

We'd love to give this hotel a better rating, but when you have to deal with one person on checkout and no one helping you with your bags, you can't give better than average as the room and location just can't make up for the rest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift and not on top of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review. We really respect the thoughts on someone who has contributed to Trip Advisor so much.

My major concern is that you did not receive the service levels that we pride ourselves on. From the feedback that we generally receive the issues that you speak of are a rarity. Reading your review is a timely reminder for us to ensure we are staffing correctly and providing the best experience that we can. I do apologise that you did not receive the attention that you deserved.

We are aware that some of our bathrooms are smaller and are tailored toward a traveller on the run. For this reason we recommend that you speak with our on-site reservations team so we can assist with the best suite possible. We have a number of different types to suit a variety of guests.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and South Yarra. There are some nice attractions and Mama Baba is one of those close to our hotel. Thank you for your review; we appreciate your honest feedback. We will be doing everything we can to improve so that we can offer the best experience possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I don't recall a hotel that pays such close attention to the details. Beautiful rooms, exceptionally well-appointed and clean, clean, clean. Awesome bed and linens. Wonderful amenities including a mini-bar that's not only well stocked but reasonably priced. Welcoming and accommodating staff. Gorgeous artwork throughout. Great and warm swimming pool. Located close to South Yarra Station and good shopping. Really enjoyed the lobby restaurant - Spoonbill. I've booked additional days in Melbourne just to stay longer at The Olsen. Truly a fabulous hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.