We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR SPECTACULAR!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“SPECTACULAR SPECTACULAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I were lucky to stay at the Olsen Hotel a couple of Saturdays ago. From the moment we drove into the hotels car park we knew we were on a winner. The staff rushed out to greet us adorning smiles and a genuine sense of care. We were privileged to stay on the top floor of the hotel. The rooms themselves are luxurious, spacious and dappled with romantic and charming elements. I slept like a baby on the 'cloud like' king bed, so much so that I was keen to buy it. Breakfast the next morning was scrumptious and filling. WE'LL BE BACK!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    202
    70
    31
    13
See reviews for
94
357
80
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a top spot to base yourself for a weekend in Melbourne. It is super easy to get to the CBD, St Kilda and good shopping in Richmond via tram, train or if fit walking. With a great feel to this hotel due to the subtle art and designs that litter the hotel, It is a refreshing place to stay. Check out the Steak restaurant in the hotel and choose your steak off the chef before it is cooked for you. With a great pool that allows you to look down over the street through it's glass bottom, this hotel really impressed us.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After reading so many great things about The Olsen we stayed just this last week end (30th June)and so happy we did, all of the reviews are true, this place is amazing. Loved the Art everywhere. Loved the room. Loved the pool area. My 8 year old daughter even dipped in the pool . I mean dipped the temp was all of 10 c, but she just had to do it. Felt like we were on holidays with the comfort of being at home. My daughter was given a canvas and paints from the lovely reception man. Thanks, its the little things that matter and make the stay fantastic. We had a King size bed which felt like floating when in it. Our deal also included parking and breakfast. Had our evening meal and breakfast at the spoonbill and can not fault that at all. Service and food fantastic. Loved all the room goodies and very reasonably priced which is amazing for a city hotel. Had a kitchenette in the room which would be handy for travellers. Went for a walk along Chapel st. Hotel in a great location. Spent far to much time in the B & P cake shop a couple of doors down. YUM!!!.
Just a couple of things that I think would improve the place is: One: This hotel as far as I know is non smoking but the people in the above floors smoke and throw the butts out the window, landing on the below balconys. We woke in the morning, opened a curtains to find at least 10 butss on the balcony. YUK! YUK! YUK! come on people have a little respect for others, put your butts in a bag and throw them away, dont throw them out the window. Not sure how the hotel could improve this??? Two: We stayed in room 105 gorgeous room but during the night there was a clicking noise, which woke all three of us at 4am, could not find where it was coming from maybe it was the people from the above floors opening their windows to throw butts out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Having said that I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel and will do in the near future. This may become our yearly stay. The staff are wonderful, nothing was to much trouble and happy smiley faces all round..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for such a detailed review. These kind of reviews are so helpful for us and travellers who read them. Having kids in the hotel always adds some fun and enjoyment. The pool is a generally a hit with children, but the art canvases really light up their faces. Our team are always on the search for the next little John Olsen.

We are aware that some guests throw cigarettes out of the windows. A) We are a non-smoking hotel, and B) guests should think of their environment. I cannot agree with you more; this is disgusting and unfortunately we do have some people who don't respect life’s rules. All we can do is make sure our housekeeping team are really thorough when they clean the balconies. I do apologise that you had to experience this.

It's always pleasing when our guests, especially families have such a great time. There is so much to do on Chapel Street and close by and I'm glad you got out and explored what is on offer. We hope to see you again soon at The Olsen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed at the Olsen for only one night in Melbourne for a friends's birthday. Have nothing negative to say about this hotel the entire experience was fantastic. The lobby was beautiful, and the room even better! We even took photos of the room for inspiration at home! The mini bar was well stocked and quirky, even supplying a canvas and paint for purchase t the reasonable price of $12. If I had to pick one negative it would only be the size of the balcony but in the middle on Melbourne we isn't expect anything more. Great hotel, will stay there again or perhaps have a go t one of the other art series hotels. If you get the chance, choose to stay at the Olsen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks Tara S for your review; it's pelasing that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, or welcoming you to the Blackman or Cullen hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved our stay at The Olsen - as soon as you walked through the door, you felt you were on holidays. The sleek and modern edges were perfectly complemented with John Olsen artworks throughout.
The rooms felt and looked like they had been lifted from a modern design magazine, but so comfortable! The signature art piece in our room of the giraffe on glass was amazing and really added a quirk to the room that I have not seen before. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, so relaxing.
The service was exceptional especially the night Concierge staff member who went beyond the call of duty to help me get something out of my car. And when we were unable to access the car park, he kindly assisted me in getting what I needed - great service and very friendly!
The function room with open roof was amazing also - highly recommend for an engagement party or a wedding and the food was great, nothing too fancy, just really yummy food and lots of it.
We'll definitley be back!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently held our Engagement/Surprise Wedding on Level 1 at The Olsen. It was the perfect venue - completely unique and trendy. Staying in the Penthouse we enjoyed spectacular views of the city and all the modern luxuries fitted throughout. Overall we were super impressed with the friendly staff, tasty food and awesome location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for the super review. We were so happy that the surprise wedding went well for you and your husband. Our John Olsen Penthouse is a special room. It has some amazing views of Melbourne's skyline and surrounds. I'm glad that amongst the stresses of the wedding you got to enjoy the suite. Good luck for the future and we hope to see you for your first anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel's taste in art is not my own, which is inconsequential, and I mention it only because it's the only thing I could possibly complain about, and it's not a complaint.

The rooms are clean, spacious, but what makes the hotel is the staff that is friendly, committed, attentive, and responsive. Arriving in Australia after 16 hours in the air is a rough landing, and they've done every single thing right to make it softer and more comfortable. I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.