We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magnificent work of art!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (South Yarra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“A magnificent work of art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved our stay at The Olsen - as soon as you walked through the door, you felt you were on holidays. The sleek and modern edges were perfectly complemented with John Olsen artworks throughout.
The rooms felt and looked like they had been lifted from a modern design magazine, but so comfortable! The signature art piece in our room of the giraffe on glass was amazing and really added a quirk to the room that I have not seen before. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, so relaxing.
The service was exceptional especially the night Concierge staff member who went beyond the call of duty to help me get something out of my car. And when we were unable to access the car park, he kindly assisted me in getting what I needed - great service and very friendly!
The function room with open roof was amazing also - highly recommend for an engagement party or a wedding and the food was great, nothing too fancy, just really yummy food and lots of it.
We'll definitley be back!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    536
    203
    70
    31
    13
See reviews for
95
357
80
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently held our Engagement/Surprise Wedding on Level 1 at The Olsen. It was the perfect venue - completely unique and trendy. Staying in the Penthouse we enjoyed spectacular views of the city and all the modern luxuries fitted throughout. Overall we were super impressed with the friendly staff, tasty food and awesome location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for the super review. We were so happy that the surprise wedding went well for you and your husband. Our John Olsen Penthouse is a special room. It has some amazing views of Melbourne's skyline and surrounds. I'm glad that amongst the stresses of the wedding you got to enjoy the suite. Good luck for the future and we hope to see you for your first anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel's taste in art is not my own, which is inconsequential, and I mention it only because it's the only thing I could possibly complain about, and it's not a complaint.

The rooms are clean, spacious, but what makes the hotel is the staff that is friendly, committed, attentive, and responsive. Arriving in Australia after 16 hours in the air is a rough landing, and they've done every single thing right to make it softer and more comfortable. I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Olsen for our first wedding anniversary recently. After a minor mix up in rates quoted via email the manager gave us a free upgrade so instead of being in the spa studio room we were in the sap deluxe room the main difference being extra space. On arrival the guy on reception was very friendly and welcoming and when we arrived in our room we found an anniversary card from the staff along with a complimentary cheese board and champagne on ice! This was such a nice personal touch and really gave us a great impression of the hotel. The room was amazing roaring fire, comfiest beds, kitchen with microwave and coffee making machine. There is also a large fridge with freezer box and is fully stocked the best range I've seen in a not so mini bar. A dining table and chairs and magazines to read along with lots of art books. The best part by far was the large outdoor balcony with massive hot tub. It was absolutely amazing relaxing in the tub at night with bubbly. The mini bar I also thought was reasonably priced compared with bars in Melbourne. Room service was also good. We had such a great time we actually rang reception and asked was the room free the following day and booked another night! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We had looked at all the top hotels in Melbourne and chose this as it has way more character than the boring dated bigger chain hotels. Thank you all at the The Olsen we had an amazing first anniversary.

Room Tip: Deluxe spa studio was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Weddings, birthdays, anniversaries; they should all be celebrated. Our job is to do all we can to make sure you have a great time while you are in the hotel. Especially when you are in the spa suite, it's important that you have a few bubbles to drink. That is the least we can do to make your experience a special one.

Thank you for telling others about your time at The Olsen. We look forward to welcoming you back for your second anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with awesome views of South Yarra and Richmond. Its super trendy and close to the shops on Chapel Street. We had both dinner and breakfast in Spoonbill restaurant and simply couldnt fault the food or service. For business or leisure this is definately one of Melbourne's prize hotels and we'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We chose to stay at The Olsen during our wedding.

The staff were very helpful - we asked them for some local knowledge on bars to meet up with friends afterwards and they were keen to help us. They accommodated an early check-in on the wedding day, and were pleasant to all the friends we had staying there also.

The vibe of the hotel is very typical of Melbourne - minimalist, luxurious and arty. The standard rooms aren't huge, but what's lacking in the size of the rooms you get back in comfort, style and location. We had the Deluxe Spa Studio Suite - the perfect size for everything we needed that weekend (including my dress etc). That particular room is large, the spa holds 8 people apparently, and the balcony is actually spacious too, as it's only on the first floor. The wall is really high, so you don't hear the noise of Chapel St. The only noise we did hear was from people wanting to use the pool which was opposite our door - not an ideal wake up call at 7am! Luckily it was easy to get back to sleep in the king size bed...!

We found the minibar in the room to be reasonably priced, but that was the only extra added on to our room. I couldn't tell you about the cost of parking etc, or room service.

Overall - loved it. It deserves to rated as highly as it is and I would love to stay again some day!

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade - do it. I saw three different types of rooms in this hotel, and it def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are so glad that you chose to spend your wedding time with us at The Olsen. We are all really pleased that it was a special time for you and that you enjoyed the spa suite. Not that we get a chance, but I'd imagine it would have been really relaxing in the spa after a hectic period for you.

We have only recently changed our mini bar items and pricing. We think it is fairer to charge a reasonable price for a packet of chips than go over the top like some other places. I hope you tried the colourful giant lolly pop!

Thank you for taking the time to give us and others your feedback. I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here 3 times and I will not stay anywhere else. We come from Adelaide and have stayed in most of the popular places the Olsen is the best followed by the Cullen. In particular we got the penthouse at Olsen during grand final week and it blew us away!

Personally I think most of the bad reviews I read we're a joke. I'm sure some had some problems but I read one about the tv menu not working properly! Get a life lol this hotel looks amazing, beds are sooo comfortable, the service is spot on, a good selection of entertaient, very very nice gym, great pool and it's on chapel st. the end!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > South Yarra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.