We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #24 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was here for a business trip and I found the rooms clean and stylish - quite different from your regular business hotel. Needless to say, the decor was beautiful. You get everything you'd normally expect from a nice hotel. That said, it's more like a little serviced apartment than a hotel, it has a nice little nook for your kitchen suppliers and of course, a comfy, supportive bed - which are all nice things to have! No complaints and will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    284
    101
    43
    16
See reviews for
125
484
106
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at Olsen with my partner over the long weekend in a spa suite, room 101 it was fantastic,
room was sparkling clean and so big we could easy leave in it, special touches with magazines,art books, kitchen,spa in the bathroom and huge spa otside with out door furniture, swimmingpool just outside the room, king bed which was fantastic I had a great night sleep. After 30 min. of our arrival the cheese platter was deliverd to our room what a suprise .... staff was very friendly... serivice was great...amaising excperiance. My mum booked this room for my birthday and it was best gift ever......thank you mum thank you Olsen we will be back.

Room Tip: book room 101 and leave the kids at home with baby sitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Wow, what a headline! Thank you for such a great review. Our aim is to be the best hotel we can be and it is always pleasing when we receive feedback such as yours. Each guests experience should be special, and we are glad that your birthday fell into the same category.

When you are next looking for a relaxing spa, we hope you will think of us here at The Olsen. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you for your next birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just spent a night at the Olsen. The art concept is great and you do feel immersed in the art of John Olsen. The rooms are an average size, but very smartly appointed. The bathroom is small (with no bath) but again is smart and modern. The art books and the documentary on Olsen playing on the tv on arrival are a nice touch. We only stayed one night but the staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. My wife who travels all the time and is a pillow "nazi", loved the pillows.

If you want the big 5 star lobby etc and a large bathroom, this wouldn't be for you. But for a very smart 4.5 star hotel with a twist, in a great location for shopping and cafes etc, the Olsen is hard to beat. Certainly made me want to try the Blackman and the Cullen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for taking to time to tell us about your stay. We obviously love the concept too and it's great to see you enjoyed your Olsen experience. The beds and pillows always get great comments; many people actually buy them from us. Guests who stay with us usually love the location like yourself. There are heaps of cafes in our area; Movida Bakery has just opened 5 minutes from the hotel. It has been a real hit since coming to South Yarra.

I'm glad you enjoyed your suite on this occasion. Next time my recommendation is to request a room with a bath and even ask our in house reservations team about our larger suites. They are always here to give advice so that you are comfortable during time with us.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Olsen or helping you get to The Cullen or Blackman Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Special thanks to the staff at the Olsen and in particular Vallantyen for making our stay so special. We had a fantastic room, beautiful furnishing and art work throughout and to top it off a great view. Thanks for the bubbles! We will definitely be back again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Part of an Art series hotels, Olsen's premium location and spacious, beautifully decorated rooms are the winner.

My daughter and I stayed in a twin room for only one night but wished it was much much longer.

The foyer of the hotel is decorated with amazing Olsen landscape paintings and wherever you go, whether it is a spa, hallway or a lift, you are pleasantly confronted with one or two Olsen remarkable paintings. On our short stay I have fallen in love not only with this impeccable 5 star hotel, but also with very inspirational Australian artist, Olsen.

The twin room we have stayed in was very spacious with view over Chapel street. The two kings beds are very comfortable, with a quality crispy linen and separated by a wall. There are two 42” flat screen televisions. So when my daughter decided to go to bed earlier, I stayed up for a few more hours, lying in bed, watching TV, sipping wine and enjoying my luxurious surroundings. Because of the wall that separated two king beds, my daughter could blissfully sleep without being disturbed by the noise coming from my TV set and my wine sipping….mmmm.

The twin room has a small kitchenette with all the kitchen utensils you will need to prepare your own dinner or breakfast. We decided not to go out and cook our own dinner. All the cutlery, crockery and dinnerware looked untouched and it dawned on us that we are probably the first ones ever who decided to cook in this hotel. My daughter and I contemplated for a few minutes on a likelihood of anyone who decides to stay in this luxurious 5 star hotel with its abundance of restaurants in Chapel Street and a short walk to Toorak street, bringing in their own cooking ingredients. Giggling we came to the conclusion that yes, we are weird and probably the first ones.

Yes, we have enjoyed our home/hotel cooked dinner and yes we enjoyed our short stay at Olsen and undutifully be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I booked the Olsen following reason reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't let down. It really is lovely and so conveniently placed for shopping in Sourh Yarra and getting further afield using Sth Yarra train station literally five minutes walk.

I stayed here on my own. Came down on a Friday night to go to the ballet on the Southbank. So easy to get there by train and felt very safe coming back here alone on the train. Nice area with lots of folk around.

I wanted to stay over here rather than near the State theatre on Southbank as I wanted to do some shopping as well and this is certainly the place to be right on top of the Chapel St shops.

All in all I had a lovely overnight stay and m aged to squeeze two days of indulgence in Melbourne out of it. Take other reviewers point about quirky bathroom but as I was on my own didn't bother me. Would have shared room comfortably with my husband but not a girlfriend - it would be too 'personal'.

Staff fab and little surprises re personalized service - I won't spoil them - come stay at the Olsen and see for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Olsen for nearly two weeks and and can highly recommend the place. The staff are really helpful, the room service prompt, the beds very comfortable and the John Olsen art brings joy and life to the place. I stayed in two different rooms, a deluxe room on the 14th floor and a two bedroom suite on the 10th floor, both of which had great views of the city and were modern and bright in tone.
Only a couple of tiny points...it seems that one can hear the lifts operating whatever room you choose, but it's better to be as far away as possible, otherwise there's a constant bumping sound to contend with. Otherwise the sound proofing of the windows means no noise penetrates from outside so the rooms are nice and quiet. Secondly, the food is good from the Spoonbill restaurant, but it would be great if the menu was a bit more extensive, particularly when it comes to the room service choice.

Room Tip: choose as far away from the lifts as possible since they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,456 reviews
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Ovolo Laneways
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.