We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olsen review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Olsen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Olsen to your Saves list
Art Series - The Olsen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Olsen review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were very pleased we stay at the Olsen. It has the look and feel of a boutique hotel and South Yarra is the place to be. The warmth of the staff and the wonderful service they provide us is without question. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them, whatever the request. Highly recommended and if you need to name drop then these are the names you need, Callan, Mitch, Rowena, Amy, Georgia and the list can go on.

Drop in for a good place, great location and fun staff

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Service makes your stay and it is so great to read the names of a number of staff members. We do not have name badges because we encourage our staff to introduce themselves to each and every guest. The fact that you have the names of so many staff members is fantastic. We do have a great product and a hotel with a boutique feel and look. However it is the staff that make the hotel and I am pleased to read that you felt their warmth.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    276
    97
    43
    15
See reviews for
121
479
103
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our first time here and upon checking in I happened to mention it was our wedding anniversary. Very shortly after arriving in our room a bottle of champagne arrived! the service was very kind and our thanks goes to Kate who was kind and informative. The room was wonderful with a great view, clean and thoughtfully decorated. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and other travellers about your fantastic anniversary experience. It is often those little touches that can make your stay so much more special. It pleases us all to read that you appreciated the champagne surprise. I will also pass on your comments to Kate. She will be excited to hear her efforts were noticed.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Olsen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have previously stayed in the Blackman and the Cullen, love all three, hard to say which stands out over the others. Such a great concept. The Cullen is probably the edgiest, the position of all three is great, we enjoyed being in Chapel St at the Olsen, staff very personable. The Olsen is perhaps little more worn than the other two. Housekeeping could pay more attention to cleaning of mirrors and glass panels in the bathroom and windows certainly ready for an outside clean with afternoon sun shining on them, but overall very smart and now we know lots about John Olsen!! I do have a problem with a surcharge for credit card usage, one would hardly pay cash!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. You have mentioned the positives as well as some areas that may need improvement. This type of review is appreciated as we continue to strive to provide the best experience possible for our guests. Your feedback regarding our housekeeping will not fall on deaf ears, with action to be taken immediately to ensure this does not continue.

It pleases me to read that you find the Art Series concept to be a positive one. We certainly believe it offers an alternative to the black and white concept of a number of major brands. We aim to offer a unique experience, while providing the personable touch that you found with our staff.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to see you back at an Art Series Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ronja who is working in The Olsen in South Yarra, she was very patient to me that helps me out to get the best view of the hotel that I requested. The room that I got has excellent very beautiful night view facing the chapel st. I love it very much. Ronja gave me a remarkable memory when I was visiting Melbourne. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
On behalf of Ronja I would like to thank you for your kind words about her service standards. Ronja certainly goes out of her way to ensure each guest has a wonderful experience. She is a great asset to our team and has a work ethic like no other.

From a management point of view it is so pleasing to read that your positive memory of our hotel was due to the performance of a staff member. We can have the newest hotel and fantastic facilities; however it is the staff that can influence just how memorable your experience is.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Olsen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

After months of jealously coveting The Olsen's glass-bottomed pool while walking down Chapel St (usually to the chocolatey delights of Burch and Purchese a few doors down) I surprised my girlfriend this past weekend by turning her left into The Olsen on the way to picking up her cake at B&P (the salted caramel and burnt mandarin choc mousse by the way -- mmmm).

Having been asked of the occasion for our stay when phone booking, the girl at check-in wished my gf a hearty happy birthday cementing her already-giddy smile. We were then given our room card and headed for the elevators. However, our room appeared to be on the 14th floor (the top) -- labelled Penthouses on the elevator panel, even though we'd only booked a Studio Suite. We actually started making our way back down to reception to see if there'd been a mistake, but a staff member then happened to step into the lift, and upon our question swiped our card, said 'Nope, you're on the right floor' and smiled as we whooshed up.

I still wasn't convinced until I keyed the door to Room 1407 (thankfully not 1408 as in the Stephen King story -- not that I'm casting aspersions on The Olsen's Room 1408, as I can't say for sure whether it is or isn't haunted) and it opened. Being perfectly happy with a small room -- as we were only staying overnight and'd be going out for dinner in North Melbourne (coincidentally close to our real home, so we actually dropped in to see the cat on the way through) -- the size was perfect, but it was the view that blew us away. We could see high above all the way up Chapel Street and would find ourselves sitting on the couch at various times just staring out over the vista, especially when the traffic jam that is Chapel was lit up at night.

Before we could get to night however we *had* to use the pool and ran downstairs to the slightly-chilly exposed-roof glass-bottomed and -sided pool. Somehow Melbourne chose to be sunny that afternoon (and for longer than 15 minutes -- yay Melbourne) so we spent a lazy hour or two swimming laps and waving to the people passing beneath. Sorry to the two cafe ladies spluttering their scrambled eggs up at the sight of my grinning face above.

After far too much dinner at The Crimean (another good pick for the weekend) we found ourselves in a bed so amazingly soft it induced a strange inertia where we couldn't move or change the remote and so we became stuck watching back-to-back episodes of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (they have so much and yet they're still not happy, sigh). Perhaps that should be a warning given to guests.

Pleased to say The Olsen lived up to our expectations, which was particularly important considering how many times we've been past in the last year wanting to stay there (there's just something about that pool). It seems weird to stay in a hotel in your home city, but the treatment given us justified it.

Definitely like to stay again given the chance. Maybe for my birthday... (After all, we'll be going to B&P anyway!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I chose the Olsen as the place to stay for a shopping weekend with my girlfriend and boy am I glad I did! From the minute we checked in (very early....the staff were phenomenally accommodating) to the minute we left I was incredibly impressed. The hotel itself looks fairly simple from the outside as soon as you walk in the art and atmosphere is fabulous. The room had 2 beds and 2 bathrooms and was incredibly spacious.

When we needed extra tea it came quickly and the concierge was very efficient and helpful. Easy to get cabs into the CBD and quite cheap too. With amazing restaurants 2 mins walk it is a fantastic spot to stay.

Basically the place was amazing and it was the most comfortable and best night sleep I've had in forever. I will definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a chic and luxurious stay in Melbourne. Fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank you for this "fabulous" review. It's great to read that your experience with us was a positive one and it pleases me to read that you will be back. In my opinion your review captures everything that we are about, whilst touching on some real benefits of staying in our area of Melbourne. Close to the city, plenty of shopping, and lots of food.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. We are always striving to be efficient, while providing a real genuine approach to customer service. Your kind words will help to motivate us to continue to provide a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to The Olsen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were very pleased when we saw the Olsen. It has the look and feel of a boutique hotel in a lovely area of Melbourne (which it is) The Art Series theme is really great. What pleased us even more was the comfort of our room, the excellent amenites, and beautiful features of the Hotel. The warmth of the staff and the wonderful service they provided during our stay we will remember for along time.. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them, whatever the request.
Highly recommended and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of The Olsen Hotel. Most pleasing was your mention of our staff. The Olsen being a new property has the advantages that come with a new building. This helps to make the stay comfortable, however the efforts of staff can make the experience stand out above any other. Your review will motivate us all to continue to provide the best service that we can, and inspire us to go above and beyond.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Address: 637 - 641 Chapel Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Olsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.