We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed one night in a balcony room and it was super comfortable!.
The bed was lovely (and my parents and bedding manufacturers so I like a good bed!! LOL!) and so were the pillows/linen (in fact, went home and ordered King Pillows like they had for home!!
Lovely and clean and quiet.
Bit of a hike up St Kilda Road but the tram trip was pretty quick (and an eye opener at 12pm :-)
Great views over to Albert Park Lake.
Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for this fantastic review. I am glad to hear of your wonderful stay at The Blackman. We are very happy with the feedback we have been getting in regards to the bedding. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    305
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
548
73
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed in the Deluxe Studio Suite for two nights. Superb attention to detail with top quality furnishing and fittings. Very friendly staff and a room so beautiful I wish it was my own personal studio. Great selection of snacks in the minibar, amazing bed (I slept incredibly well both nights and usually don't sleep well in hotels), also completely quiet. Very spacious, modern bathroom with an awesome bath. Wonderful cafe downstairs with great coffee as well as food. Best of all, you can order your own Blackman bed.

For those visiting Melbourne for the first time, These are some of my favourite places:
Cafe: Brother Baba Budan (359 Little Bourke Street)
Bars: Sister Bella (End of Sniders Lane, off Drewery Lane) and Supper Club (161 Spring Street)
Restaurant: Movida Bar de Tapas (Hosier Lane)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your great Blackman experience. I loved to hear that you loved your so much that you wished it was your own, you are more than welcome to come back as often as you like! Also thank you for mentioning the bedding for sale it has been hugely popular.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We had an apartment in the Blackman from mid December 2010 until mid January 222011
The accomodation was pleasant and spacious.adequate catering facilities.Kitchen units rather high for persons of average height, Staff very pleasant and helpful. Pleasant location just off St. Kilda Road, convenient for trams. Restaurant menu rather limited but quality of food good. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. it is great to hear feedback from our long term residents. I will be sure to pass on your feedback at our next staff meeting.

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Beautiful hotel with amazing attention to detail. The room was as it looks in the photos and the bed was truly the best I've ever slept on. Colourful & modern artwork adorns the walls and is etched into the glass bathroom door. Balcony was small but a great view over Albert Park Lake. The room was spotless & very quiet. No traffic noise from St Kilda Rd and with the blackout curtains it was easy to sleep in.
The staff could not have been more accommodating and we would not hesitate to return to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for this amazing review. I am thrilled that the staff were very accommodating and we cannot wait to have you back here soon!

Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked a night at the blackman for our wedding anniversary and were looking forward to the art theme - which was nice. We arrived at 1.45pm (15 minutes prior to official checkin time) and were understandably told that our room wasn't yet ready which was fine. Reception suggested we go for a walk and they would phone us when the room was ready. The phone call never eventuated, but we returned to reception around 2.30 and were checked in. The moment we opened our door (Room 208) we were struck with an obnoxious odour - it smelt like very 'off' mince meat. We investigated the fridge and cupboards but could not locate the source. We openned the doors to the balcony and turned the AC to full - which helped. We didn't request a room change as we understood the hotel was fully booked and stayed in the bedroom area where the smell was less noticable. The room was nice with a servicable kitchenette and tiny yet functional bathroom. The bedroom was likewise tiny with room for only a double bed. Location was quite a long but enjoyable walk into the city were we went to dinner. When we returned - so did the off meat smell. We now felt it was too late to do anything about it. The bed was very comfortable (if small) and the blackout curtains worked well and there was very little street noise - all aided a good sleep. I felt the room service was a little overpriced and a $5 'tray fee' was added to the bill - this was not mentioned anywhere. Service was friendly and professional and when I questioned the 'tray fee' staff apologised and reversed the charge. In the week since our stay I have been further disappointed with two charges (totalling close to $500) being billed to my credit card over the week. This took two days for the hotel to resolve. While again apologising, it appears that some other (completely random) person's accomodation and associated costs have been chaged to my card. Again staff have been friendly and apologetic - but it doesn't encourage me to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that the service received from our staff was of a high standard. I am however disappointed to learn of the unpleasent odour in the room. We will always do the utmost to accommodate all our guests and any issues that may arise during the stay, even in the case of a fully booked hotel which may or may not have been the case, we regret that we were not notified and therefore could not make your stay a more enjoyable one. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Blackman in the near future and we can show you just how fabulous The Blackman can be.
Thank you once again for the feedback.
Kind Regards

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Victoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

This hotel had only been open a few months when we stayed here. The rooms are wonderful, they have cool 'features' such as artwork on the bathroom door, funky lights and bedside tables etc.
You can easily catch a tram into the CBD from outside and there is free street parking on weekends when you can park right outside the hotel (a rarity in Melbourne). The cafe downstairs is also a must for breakfast, great little pastries, omlettes etc (french inspired). Staff were a bit slow and looked confused sometimes but I think it was just because they were mostly all new.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I and grown-up daughter stayed here two nights mid-Jan. We had a deluxe twin studio - open plan room with a bathroom separating the two queen bed areas and a kitchen/sitting area. Charles Blackman art adorns the walls of the entire hotel, which is "boutique" style and still pretty new. Room was very good. Beds were excellent. Front of house staff were exceptionally good. In-house French style cafe served very good breakfasts in attractive surrounds. We had a competitive week-end rate. Short tram ride to CBD. Room unavailable for third night so we stayed in an unremarkable CBD apart/hotel costing much more, which only served to underline the credentials of The Blackman. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your Blackman experience. I am thrilled to hear that you and you family had such a fantastic time while you were here. Friendly and professional service is something we take great pride in, so when we love hearing that our staff added to the quality of your stay.
Thank you once again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards,

Ben Ezard
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.