We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL BLACKMAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #14 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL BLACKMAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

What a hotel at a fantastic hotel - i would say it is 4 star ammeneties but 5 star fit out. Everything you could want from a hotel apart from a pool/spa. When we arrived we were upgraded from a deluxe room to the alice suite on the 17th floor. A one bedroom suite with seperate lounge,kitchenette and two balconies with amazing views of the bay/st kilda and beyond. The room is decorated beautifully although a little glam fro my personal taste with wifi and 42 inch giant plasma and designer furniture. Beds are the best i have slept in, like another reviewer has said "Cloud like", bathroom was lovely with spa bath and monsoon shower plus all the usual toileteries and fluffy bathrobes, slippers ect. We got the suite for a cracking rate and a bottle of champers and late 1pm check out thrown in. I will look no further than the blackman but if i were unabale to get a room there i would also check out there other hotels the cullen or olsen or probably the Hyatt as the rooms there have been refurbished in recent times.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. We at The Blackman are pleased to hear of your wonderful stay and that you would love to return. Our beds are proving to be very popular and we are getting some great feedback on them. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    360
    92
    24
    22
See reviews for
142
614
81
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Foot steps away from the trams, just on the edge of the CBD about a 5minute tram ride. lovely staff, courteous mindful and friendly. quick swift check in. clean rooms, comfortable, and inviting.
All amenities on site. small kitchen with EVERYTHING. loved the view from the balcony, and we got the cheapest room!!

Loved that we could be far enough away from it all, felt like going back to a home. house keeping were spot on, mindful of our items, and made the room look like a brand new check in.

Have decided this series of hotel is the only one i will stay in. Best location, roomy, trendy, parking on site, parking free on weekends on the street, car rental from hotel, bicycle rental. Only thing is, no breakfast included, however its Melbourne... lose yourself in the alleyways!

The fact that the hotel is brand new made it even more inviting. you wont be disappointed.

LOVE LOVE LOVE! have already told family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. We are very happy to hear of your wonderful time at The Blackman. We are very lucky to have our great views and great location but it is most satisfying to have service noticed. Thank you for including the fantastic picture of our room and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Blackman in the near future.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepparton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

They have not long been open but these hotels (the Art Series) are going to work!
Friendly
Comfortable (incase you need me to say it, Very clean)
Well situated
With a great coffee / baker downstairs for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. It's great to know that you had a pleasent stay at The Blackman. We loved to hear your thoughts on Art Series Hotels and being a young group we are extremely excited for the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

If you've ever wondered what sleeping on clouds would be like, the Blackman provide beds and pillows which are extremely soft. My partner and I are used to our beds being a bit more firm so found it a bit more difficult to fall asleep and stay asleep.
We managed to get a deal on the Blackman via a travel website and decided to have our two day stay in Melbourne here after a long 10 hr drive from Sydney. We were disappointed that it wasn't a little more central to the City but luckily we had our own car with us.
The rooms are large and nicely decorated and we were suprised to find a small self contained kitchen in the room too. We unfortunately got stuck with a balcony that looked out to carparks so didn't spend too much time out there.
The shower was fairly standard and small, nothing really special with a shower head over a single spa bath tub.
I could hear the hallway music from my room and it's unfortunately the same song playing over and over again which got a little annoying when trying to sleep. The lifts were always fast and street parking during the weekday is available at the front for a maximum of 2hrs at $3 an hour. But you only need to pay between 8am- 6pm so we managed to park for free during the night and only had to end up putting money in the meter in the morning when we wanted a bit of a sleep in.
The staff seem friendly enough but when I asked about parking on the street etc. she didn't seem to know much stating they'd only been open for 3 weeks now as the reason.
Also, they take a massive bond out of your credit card and when I asked the front desk how much it is and when I'll be getting it back, she told me it's about $200 and I'll get it back in about 3 days. It's actually a bond of $538 and it's now been 6 days and I still haven't gotten it back. The hotel will be getting a call from me tomorrow if it is not back in my account by then. When I was at the desk another man had told the hotel he had to go to the bank to get a second credit card just because he wasn't aware of this large bond sum.
It was a nice hotel but I think I'll keep an eye out for other hotels for my next stay in Melbourne.
I'd rate the overall for this hotel to be more like a 4 star. Also, you have to pay by the hour to use the internet and there's no pool at this specific hotel but you are allowed to go to other Art Series hotels to use theirs (I'm not sure many people would bother).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. We love hearing all of the positive feedback you have provided and we will be sure to pass on all of your constructive comments at our next staff meeting. We hope that next time you are in Melbourne you consider giving The Blackman another try.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Must say that I really enjoyed my stay at The Blackman. The rooms at comfortable, the staff friendly, Breakfast at the bakery was great and dinnner at Classico was delicious. It's close enough to town for it not to be a drag and the views from my balcony were great. Will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. We are very happy to hear of your wonderful stay at The Blackman. It is always a great feeling when our guests say they will be back again. We look forward to having you back at The Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

we stayed one night only, having tried Sofitel, Crown and others - and this place tops them all... not overly big and intimidating, just friendly warm and great value. we will stop trying other hotels now that we've found the blackman!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. It's fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us at The Blackman. Our team takes great pride in making sure that all of our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman in the near future. Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My stay here was excellent. The hotel is well located to public transport with trams at the doorstep to head towards the city, St Kilda or Chapel St. As I stayed on a Friday night, parking in the area is free on the weekends which is very handy. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, comfortable, modern with LCD TV, microwave, sink etc., The view from my room (which was a basic room) was exceptional with clear views of Albert Park Lake and also the sea in the distance.

The front desk service was okay. The room was booked through a travel website at a substantially discounted rate and included a late checkout (1pm) and a small gift on arrival which aptly consisted of a small canvas and paint set. Very thoughtful.

Will definitely stay here again, congratulations to hotel management and staff for doing things well. Will also be recommending this hotel for colleagues when they visit Melbourne as it is conveniently located to the CBD without being smack bang in the middle of it and also good for St Kilda Rd/Sth Melbourne etc.,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thanks to the author of this review. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have our great location so close to the CBD and Chapel Street as well as being able to provide beautiful views from our rooms. Our staff are always excited to hear that we are doing things well. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to The Blackman. Regards, Ben Ezard Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.