We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, good value hotel, in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Smart, good value hotel, in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Great location - quiet, close to Fawkner Park and the Botanical Gardens, a comfortable walk or short tram ride to the CBD, MCG, etc.
Good cafe and restaurant, for a hotel.
Excellent coffee across the street.
The room was spacious, very clean, with appealing decoration, quiet, efficient air conditioning, and the only thing wrong with the balcony, were the chain smokers on the adjacent balcony.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thanks for the review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Blackman. We look forward to having you visit again soon!

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    306
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
548
73
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Service was good but I have to admit I was a little disappointed with a few elements of this hotel. We stayed in a junior suite which was very spacious... except for the bathroom, which was ridiculously small! Given the size of the room, it was a shame to have to deal with such a poky bathroom. I'd ordered some sparkling wine to be in our room on arrival... however it didn't arrive until that evening. A minor oversight I guess. Location-wise I was a bit disappointed that it wasn't a little closer to 'the action' - but that's my fault for not doing better research. It's right on the tram line so it's easy enough to get places, but it was a 20 minute walk from the Chapel Street nightlife. We hired the bikes for a few hours which was fun, though they could probably do with a little maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Rooms Division Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you Tiffiney for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious Junior Suite but apologise if the size of our bathroom negatively effected your stay. As we sometimes do not know when our guests are going to arrive, it is not always possible to have the sparkling in the room on arrival. For this reason we aim to deliver the sparkling between 4:30-6:30pm. I would very much love to look after you on a future stay so please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance with organising a future booking.

Lauren Hodder
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I stayed at the Blackman for 4 nights and loved the place great rooms and public spaces breakfast room was fantastic.the whole hotel was very very clean and the staff were very helpful.the hotel is in a great position for sporting events and it is ver y easy to get into the city by tram.T he decor is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Hey Gary N,

Thanks for the review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at The Blackman. I will pass on your messages about the service and cleanliness to our team. See you for the next big sports event!

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine NT Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming and courteous delightful ground floor coffee patisserie Room very welcoming and art in all areas well presented and lit Staff most helpful and knew i had stayed before My favourite hotel in Australia

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Philin752,

So excited to read that we are your favourite hotel in Australia! I’m glad you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the art by Charles Blackman. I look forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Regards,

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

What a fabulous hotel. How much fun are the rabbits, they just keep popping up where you least expect them. We stayed for a girls weekend and had two rooms on the 16th floor. Amazing rooms, spacious with great balconies with brilliant views. The bed would have to be the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in - I felt like a princess from a fairy tale in this big plush bed ready to sleep for a hundred years. I loved the funky touches to the rooms. What a fabulous little café downstairs - we had high tea there on Sunday before leaving just to top off a great weekend and the coffee is great. A little out from the city but worth the cab ride in and out. Thanks Blackman.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Hey Jodie M,

Glad to hear you like our signature Art Series Beds, they’re always for sale if you feel like sleeping like a princess at home! I would be interested in finding out just how many rabbits we do have hiding around each corner, every week I find another that I've never noticed before! I'm sure the cafe will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your high tea there too. We look forward to seeing you here for the next girls weekend away.

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

They do so many things right in this place! It is unlikely we will ever stay anywhere else in Melbourne.
The front desk staff knew we had been here before; They provided us with an upgrade that was like an up market one bedroom apartment with spa bath, King Size bed and double balcony.
The art comes for free and brightens your day the minute you walk into the place. The beds are so good that we are actually buying one from The Blackman (they sell a lot of what is on show at the Hotel) It's a shame we are only here for two days as the place is set up for a much longer term stay. Inclusions are a full kitchen with coffee machine, full size fridge and dishwasher (in order of importance) great soft furniture, reading materials and YES, did I say art!?
We have stayed here a few times now and each time had a different room but never disappointed with any of them. Try and get a room with a view over the water. During our stay there was a sailing regatta on which was great to see!
Downstairs you find a couple of great little restaurants. One for breakfast with lots of nice home made stuff and one Italian for all day and evening dining. We have tried both and will use them again.
In short, with the amount of traveling we do and the limited reviews we provide for Hotels (we like reviewing restaurants instead) we could not leave here without making comments on this great place. Treat yourself to a stay at The Blackman on St Kilda road in Melbourne!

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the water on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Alex F,

Thank you so much for your review! It was great to hear that you were well looked after. It sounds like you’re planning on creating your own little slice of Blackman at home! I will also pass on your review to our team in the restaurant and cafe. Once again thank you for your message, we look forward to seeing you here again in the not too distant future.

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed for our anniversary last night. My partner called up prior to us arriving to let them know that it was a special night for us, when we arrived the staff surprised us with a complimentary upgrade and bottle of sparkling with a lovely note! We loved the room, artistic and modern, everything was clean. The staff were super helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and will be booking again for our next anniversary. Thanks Blackman!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Elisha N,

So glad to hear we were able to assist in making your special night just that bit more special. We wish you both the very best together for the future and who knows, we might see you in 12 months time? Thanks again for the review, I have passed on your comments to the team.

Nathan Culevski
Senior Guest Experience Agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.