We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Blackman is situated in a pretty pleasant spot, being just a short walk or tram-ride to the city. the room was well appointed with a small kitchenette and an incredibly comfy bed. add to this a great cafe downstairs and pleasant staff and the blackman is a real winner

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Patrick for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    279
    77
    20
    19
See reviews for
112
525
70
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here during the Australian Open, and my mum and I loved the location (short tram ride into the city), and all the trimmings and detail in the room. The small kitchen meant we could prepare food for the days ahead, and have breakfast in-room.
Loved all the art detail around the room, and the floors - we had asked for the mentioned art tour, but noone was available at the time, so we conducted our own walk-around!
Comfortable bed, even the rollaway.
Would love to stay again - will need to keep an eye out for special deals!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Australian Open in Melbourne is a great time to be in the city, as there is a real buzz about town. Whether you take the tram or walk through the gardens, it is easy to get to Rod Laver Arena from The Blackman. We have recently finished a round of art training for the team, this way we can offer the art tours 24/7. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in the Blackman for two nights and they were the best sleeps I have had in years. The beds are magnificent. As was everything else.The staff were great: helpful, efficient and kind. We had an executive balcony suite and it was lovely, overlooking the bay and Albert Park Lake.The suite was very well furnished and very comfortable.One very small criticism: two people need more than two large towels. A minimum of three is really required as two towels are used when showering and washing hair.Having said that, the very sweet person who was housekeeping on the floor immediately provided us with extras. Blackman art in the rooms and throughout the hotel. Breakfast in the bakery downstairs was terrific. Great stay, great hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 13th floor, facing the bay. Plenty of natural light and lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback following your stay at The Blackman. We place great importance in our customer service delivery so thank you for your kind words. All of our bedding is available for purchase so please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any further information. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in a double room with our daughter on the 6th floor with great views over Melbourne. Rooms are very well appointed, ours had a small kitchen, inc fridge, cook top, large sink etc. Two rooms, double bed each, both with large flat panel TV's. Found the rooms to be modern, clean and well organised. A very trendy feel with many Charles Blackman pieces displayed. Staff were friendly but not in your face every time you walk in or out of the foyer, which makes for a more relaxed stay. There's a tram that runs past the front of the building, for easy access to the city, and doubled glazed windows meant we couldn't here it or any traffic noise until we were out on the balcony. We did find parking to be a hassle sometimes, the car park underneath was full on our arrival, but we found a park within walking distance. Over all, a very good experience, and yes I would stay again and intend to.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 6 have the best views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review following your stay at The Blackman. I could not be happier to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Please be aware that our staff will assist in parking your car if you have trouble finding a space in our car park again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the suite with a kitchen and a balcony (cleaning crew forgot to clean it though). Even though the kitchen was a little close to the bed for our liking it was an overall great experience. The king bed was fantastic, had the best sleep ever. The reception was helpful and sweet. The fact that there is parking in front of the hotel is a plus in a city. It has a tram stop two minutes away. We booked online and then decided to stay another night by just letting reception know. Best to book it online for cheaper rates especially if you intend to stay over on a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love the art of Charles Blackman, so to stay in a hotel inspired by him was a great opportunity. Thankfully it was a great experience. Our room was very modern and well appointed with beautiful Blackman art placed strategically. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the hotel is within easy reach of the CBD. For its amenities I thought it was reasonably good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Wayne for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts following your stay at The Blackman. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient customer service so thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman again.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not 5 star at all.. The worst service I've ever had.. Reservations stuff up my booking which resulted in a 20 min check in.. I was made to feel like I'd made the mistake and it was made very clear that I was an annoyance to the guy checking me in.. The rooms are ok but nothing to rave about,, not even a bottle of water supplied.. And wifi at a cost! Even maccas provide wifi.. So my suggestion is to stay somewhere else if you want a complete experience (good service) because you won't get it here I have spoken to front desk a few times now and have always been left annoyed..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We understand the guest’s point of view; however do believe that the reservations errors are a result of misunderstanding at the time of booking. As this review was written prior to check-out we have had the chance to make amendments in order to compensate the guest for inconveniences caused, that may not have been fully understood at check-in. We do believe that that this is an isolated incident, however my team will be trained further to ensure that these type of cases are avoided in the future. We have invited the guest to return later in the year so we can show them the experience that the should have had during this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.