We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last evenings in Austalia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
St. John, Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Perfect last evenings in Austalia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Found on tripadvisor...chic, trendy, very cool large airy rooms with art everywhere. We even had a sunny balcony. Convenient to city, but not in the hub. Two very good restaurants. Would recommend highly!
Great service from staff. Booked on hotels.com

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback from your recent stay at The Blackman. I was very happy to receive your lovely comments about our staff and your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    308
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
549
73
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staff were friendly and went above and beyond to map out the sights of Melbourne for us and ensure we had a comfortable stay. The room was clean and beautifully furnished with art work and high end furnishings. Only 5-10 minutes from the city in a cab and 5 minutes from the Rod Laver arena. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a one of a kind stay with a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us at The Blackman. It is great to know that the highlight of your stay was the dealings you had with our team members. We do try our best to offer genuine service, while recommending those aspects that are truly Melbourne. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found a great deal online for a long weekend. Loved this hotel! We found that the art series theme of the hotel was well executed. We had a corner room that looked out over Albert Park. The room itself was great, especially the fully stocked kitchenette. A small detail, but the bathroom products were really nice. The location was great, a 10 minute tram ride to the city, but also the perfect location to get trams to Toorak, Chapel Street, and St Kilda. A great base for the weekend, would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice review following your stay with us at The Blackman. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Although it may not appear that we are near any major attractions, our location is actually very central. With St Kilda, Albert Park, the Botanical Gardens, South Yarra/Prahran and the CBD, all within 10 minutes of our door step. It opens up the opportunities to many different activities within Melbourne. Thank you for mentioning the bathrooms products. They are made by a company called EVO and do complement other great brands such as T2 and Little Creatures that you find within our suites at The Blackman. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on the 3rd floorwhich looked directly into some units next door.Withstanding that ,the room was modern and delightfully fitted out with Blackman's prints.It is pity you can't buy copies from reception . The beds were comfortable and there was extra seating available in the room. The bathroom was large enough with a spa bath and another Blackman painting on the frosted door.
We were disappointed to return home and find that we were charged for three freckles biscuits (11.00) which were definitely there when we left the room. This has been rectified and we would definitely stay there again if we need to stay close to St Kilda Road.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, it is pleasing to know that you will return to stay with us. I am glad that we were able to rectify the mini bar issues that you experienced. If you are looking to return again, please do not hesitate to call us beforehand to ask for a higher suite. You will be impressed with the higher floor views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We chose this hotel because of location due to business, easy access to the city and walking distance to many restaurants in the area.
The reception staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to provide us a room to suit our needs. Our room had lovely views of the lake and the bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms are small but functional. This hotel is not for everyone on extended stays but perfect for business. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bath have a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Blackman Hotel, we hope it won't be too long until you are back with us. As you said, we are not for everyone, however our location does provide easy access to the corporate areas of Melbourne, whilst also being a great hub for those who are here touring. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

How arrogant can Melbournites get? Extremely, I've learnt, following my stay at this hotel. From struggling to drag our two long haul flight cases (plus extras) up the front steps, to the particularly slow and 'couldn't give a dam' attitude at the front desk... I'm astounded this place still functions! Overpriced with little soul and zero service. The hotel tries badly to be something it isn't. Find something more classical and hang out in the bar if you want to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
As we always aim for 100% satisfaction, we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, or your time in Melbourne. We appreciate your comments and will use them to ensure we are constantly improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Blackman was very welcoming from our first interaction. The reception staff went out of their way to ensure that our stay was special. Assisting with flowers, reservations, transport and recommendations. Located just outside of the city centre, there are plenty of nice coffee shops, restaurants and the tram stop is right at the intersection. It has been over six months since we stayed there and our memories of the hotel still bring a smile of satisfaction.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a view, it will be worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback from your first stay at The Blackman. I have passed your lovely comments about our staff on to the team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of customer service so i am very happy to hear how helpful our staff were during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.