We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel with a difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY 2 SAVE 20%
Ranked #7 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Quirky Hotel with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose The Blackman because we wanted somewhere different to stay in Melbourne while celebrating our Anniversary. We didn't need to be right in the city and as my husband travels to Melbourne regularly for work we opted for South Melbourne for its versatile location. We had the Alice Suite on the 17 th Floor which had 3 areas. The bathroom although not huge was well planned to make use of the space. It had a shower over a spa bath and there was plenty of storage. The bedroom had a huge sliding door if you needed to shut it off from the open plan lounge/dining area, as well as a small balcony. The king bed offered a good nights rest and the décor was very modern. Loved the fact there was a charging station for our iPhone. While there was no TV in the bedroom, the TV could be positioned to be watched from bed or the bath if need be. Lounge and dining area was very well proportioned and the kitchen while not required was very user friendly. Another small skinny balcony is off the lounge, with great views. Only bug bear was TV remote, not sure if battery's were low but it caused me a wee bit of grief.
Check in was very easy and the staff are absolutely lovely, very helpful with all our inquires. We much appreciated the champagne awaiting us when we returned to our room after a quick shop...with a lovely note congratulating us on our 10 year wedding anniversary.
The mini bar is reasonably priced and Hubby made good use of it. We ordered room service twice and the food was excellent and well priced. We had breakfast each morning at Classico and it was worth every penny, excellent staff there too.
We hired the Smart car to get around Toorak and other shopping areas...now we are not midgets or small framed and we were very comfortable in this shopping cart car. Its is very cheap at $50 per day and is better than a Taxi/cab if you want to do a bit of sightseeing.
My husband is adverse to public transport but catching a Tram is an easy way to get into the CBD from The Blackman. Will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: A room facing the golf course, has lovely views. We had room 1709 The Alice suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your 10 year wedding anniversary. I have passed your lovely comments about Classico on to the team. For those travellers who may be interested in the room you occupied, it is one of our Bay Executive Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Just to clarify for our travellers, our location is classed as Melbourne, being only 3kms from the CBD, with South Melbourne next door to us.

Lauren Hodder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    742
    263
    73
    17
    19
See reviews for
106
507
68
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great hotel. Have stayed at a few of the art series hotels and they are all great! Really enjoyed stay. Rooms are unique and fun. Staff are helpful and friendly. Worth the little extra money. Would stay in any three of them again anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We just love to hear such positive feedback and have shared your review with the team. We genuinely appreciate your support of The Blackman and Art Series and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed a few months ago and it was a little disappointing... It was a little cold, felt like the staff didn't like us much and they weren't very helpful in terms of telling us how to get around... Rooms were quite nice. We wished the bar was open later... A bit too business-like, not great for someone in town on pleasure. The beds were pretty amazing, probably would have been a better stay if we knew Melbourne a little better. See-through bathroom doors made for an uncomfortable stay but the bathroom wasn't bad. Enjoyed the balcony in the room and the Blackman art hung in the rooms. Room wasn't cleaned the second day. Didn't seem particularly child friendly.
Our main problem was the condescending staff and location of the hotel.
Probably wouldn't stay again, which is a shame because we expected it to be spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback following your stay in May. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. We identified at the beginning of the year that we had to work on our staff engagement. Following a lot of training and a number of new staff starting with us, we are confident that our team are now friendlier, more knowledgeable and generally engage better with our guests. Looking at the most recent reviews I believe we have improved in this area. Although our location is not for everyone, we have the CBD, South Yarra/Chapel Street and St Kilda right on our door step, offering many activities for those coming to Melbourne for pleasure. I would encourage you to try us again, or at the very least, go and experience The Olsen or Cullen hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Art Series Hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We purchased a night at this hotel through a discount website and it was a mystery deal. We didn't know what to expect other than we got a good deal off the standard rate. From when we arrived to when we left the whole experience was awesome. We were greeted in the room by some chill out music being played on TV with the screen displaying information. The room was amazing, with a little kitchenette and also what seemed to be the only lounging balcony on the side of the building. Art is a theme throughout these chain of hotels and there were arty type books in a trendy book rack insde the room. I've never seen multivitamins as part of a mini bar before; there were male, female, sleep and liver detox (I assume for after the fully stocked mini bar had been consumed!)

All in all including the cafe's downstairs we would definitely stay again. Also a very good point is there is a Tram stopping point one min walk outside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Greg,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We do our best to create a chic but welcoming atmosphere, so I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel. Thank you for your mention of our interesting minibar items and our convenient location as well as Depot de Pain! We sincerely appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stay at the Blackman every time I travel to Melbourne. The staff are always friendly and welcoming and have gone out of their way several times to make my stay as enjoyable as possible.

The croque monsieur at the little french cafe is the best I've had outside of Paris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for being one of our repeat guests! I’m thrilled to hear that you find our staff to always being accommodating and courteous and I’ve shared your lovely comments with Depot de Pain. We genuinely appreciate your continuous support of The Blackman and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, Queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels all over the world in the past 15 years, I rate The Blackman as one of the best. The service is excellent while not over the top, the rooms are perfect and the vibe of this hotel is very relaxed and comfortable yet professional and upmarket. I stay here whenever I'm in town on business (which is every month this year!) and choose to eat at the hotel because the service and quality is great compared to many of the restaurants in the locality. I'll always stay at the Blackman when I'm in Melbourne.

Room Tip: The views from all rooms are good although the bay view rooms are worth the extra. If staying as a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback! As we’re constantly striving for perfection, we’re just delighted to read that you rate The Blackman as “one of the best”. We just love to hear such positive comments and have shared your review with the team.

Thank you again for your kind words and for your support of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again at The Blackman again very soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A modern and fresh hotel with friendly and helpful staff. I was recommended local attractions and the bar downstairs has a good selection of wines and light meals. I would recommend staying at the Blackman to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We genuinely appreciate your recommendation and are quite happy to read that you’ve enjoyed our “funky” atmosphere! We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.