We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artful, Awesome, A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Artful, Awesome, A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a returning guest to The Blackman, it's time to sing out about the fantastic, warm, welcoming staff; the comfortable, inspiring yet restful rooms and the soul soothing ambience. It's close enough to stroll around Albert Park or cruise the city. I look forward to returning in November for 10 days! So wether it's for work or play - the Blackman's a cool choice for your Melbourne stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Nadine,

Thank you very much for your continuous support of The Blackman and for taking the time to share your feedback! We genuinely value our repeat guests and we’re thrilled to read that you’ve found our staff to be so accommodating. We’ve passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 10 day visit in November!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    305
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
548
73
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at The Blackman in a twin room for a 4 day R&R in Melbourne and were impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Lovely view - the beds were as comfortable as home - well appointed kitchenette - spacious and great location. We had a great view looking out over the city and toward the MCG - will be requesting a bay view next time though. Tram just a minute walk away and never waited longer than a minute or two for the next one to the city (about 5 minutes away) or to St Kilda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Anita,

Thanks so much for choosing The Blackman for your R&R visit! I’m so happy to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the views we have to offer. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman for a repeat visit soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I regularly stay in the Art Series hotels. I have only stayed in the Blackman once and the room quality and all facilities are on par with the other Art Series hotels. (Although I still prefer The Cullen for location and staff helpfulness) However I accidentally left some work tools in my room and knew exactly where. Only 4 hrs later, the room was cleaned and tools gone. Couldnt be found or recovered.
Theft. I wont stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. As a hotel we are obviously aware of this particular incident from March 2013 and do sympathise with you. I understand that this has been an inconvenience and I do apologise that we were not able to locate these items. Thank you for your support of Art Series Hotels. If you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at The Blackman Hotel.

I do need to assure travellers that all efforts were made to assist this guest to locate the items. This included one on one discussions with staff, electronic lock reads, sifting through rubbish bins and viewing over 12 hours of CCTV footage. We take all allegations of theft seriously and do have a strict dismissal policy if staff are found to have stolen from the hotel or guests. Unfortunately there was no evidence available to suggest that this has happened in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent one night here in August and enjoyed a one bed apartment. Good size room and excellent art work and decor. Very clean and well furnished.Great view from our room over Albert Park and to the Bay. Trams are very close and city is a few minutes by tram. Toorak Road and Chapel Streets a short walk. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and lunch in the Italian Restaurant on site and this was very good. Would recommend this for a good alternative to staying int he City as it is serviced by numerous trams.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Paul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property! We strive to provide outstanding guest service and I’m so happy to hear that you found our staff to be so forthcoming and pleasant. Our customer feedback is very important to us, so we just love to hear such positive comments! I’ve passed your review on to the entire team and we all hope to welcome you back to The Blackman again soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Blackman on the weekend just for 1 night. It was by far the best place we have stayed! We were in a junior suite on level 9. The location is good,nice and close to the city but not right in the busy centre. The views from our room were really nice (we had a cute balcony with a little table and chairs). The room its self was amazing, from the furniture to the lighting! The bathroom was really cool, the bedroom had a beautiful sparkly curtain across the door way, Bed was comfy, Little kitchen was very nice and the mini bar was pretty well priced compared to other places. Parking is $25 a night. Our new favourite place to stay in melbourne!!

Room Tip: Junior suite is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Josie,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend our property and provide pictures of the junior suite you stayed in. I’m delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the ambiance of our rooms to be pleasant. We do hope that you’ll return, hopefully for a longer visit!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are reading this you have come to the correct hotel. This is where you need to stay!!!
I stayed at the Blackman for two night. First night was in the executive suite which was stunning! Great view of Albert park and the bay!

Second night, and currently still here as I write this! The PENTHOUSE! What a wonderful place! If you think you've seen Melbourne, you thought wrong! Get in this penthouse and enjoy the spa out on the balcony while the whole city shines in front of you.

In regards to the staff, they have been fantastic! Phoebe from reception provided me and my girlfriend great customer service and answered any question i had.

Overall, this place is seriously like wonderland, as every room has its own fantastic feature.

Aleks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for choosing to stay in our Penthouse. We strive to create a quirky but luxurious ambiance and I’m so happy to read that you enjoyed our “wonderland” vibe! I’m also thrilled to read that you found our rooms to be impressive and our bay views to be stunning.

We just love to hear such encouraging comments and have passed your feedback on to Phoebe and the entire team. We hope that you’ll return again for another special occasion! Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rooms were very clean, location close to trams and transport, taxis readily available. The bed was excellent, I had been told how good they were and they did not disappoint. Cafes on site were good, food and service met all expectations. I would recommend the Blackman for a weekend stay or longer. Staff were really pleasant and helpful, a credit to the hotel chain.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back of the hotel furthest from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Chrissy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read your five star review and to see your comments in regards to our staff service. Our guest feedback means the world to us and I’ve shared your comments with all staff members. We hope to see you again at The Blackman again soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.