We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Styled Room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully Styled Room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This boutique style hotel is conveniently located close to the city and Chapel Street. Parking in the area is free during weekends.
Check-in was smooth and quick. We had a corner room with double balconies and views of Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. The room featured a modern design, ipod docking station, magazines and nice books and fully functional kitchenette. The TV is awkwardly located on a side wall. Balcony doors had nice black out blinds and curtains, perfect for sleeping in.
Bathroom was nice and spacious shower but sadly no bath tub.
We loved it and we'll definitely try other Art Series hotels in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with a view of Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip. Certainly worth the extra sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We’re so happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and our amenities to be beneficial. If you return, please contact us prior to your arrival and we’ll ensure that you’re allocated a room with a bathtub!
Thank you again for your encouraging comments and we look forward to your next visit with Art Series!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    306
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
548
73
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

i stay in Melbourne The Blackman hotel. I travel alot and not very many hotels wows me...This was an exception...highly recommended. Its Clean, good location, amazing suite style, modern, very friendly staff and keen to help. This hotel is part of groups of hotels and they also have other locations which i am sure they are great as well. Its called the ART group hotels. They will be opening more hotels in Australia. cant wait

Room Tip: get a suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your five star review! We strive to give our guests a unique and memorable experience, and we’re delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman or one of our other Art Series Hotels soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June. The rooms were spacious and luxurious with two incredible queen beds to lay our heads on at night! The view over St Kilda Rd was fantastic and service very promt. Great escape out of the hustle and bustle of the CBD! Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation of The Blackman! We’re elated to hear that you found our service to be fantastic and the room to be “luxurious”! We sincerely appreciate your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to our property soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Blackman staff ruined the last night of my holiday due to staff incompetence during the booking process. I booked and paid for our stay at The Blackman 6 weeks prior to the check-in day. Turned up at the hotel, discovered the booking wasn't secured (despite receiving a confirmation email stating my booking was confirmed because I'd paid in advance - a condition of the rate) and had to outlay money I wasn't expecting. Spent the night in the hotel (flight home was early the next morning) trawling through emails and records to work out what had gone wrong with the booking and if The Blackman was charging me twice. A horrible way to spend the last night of your holiday with friends for a birthday retreat (and time away from tragic friend/family/self health issues). Should've stayed on at the Crown as we were there the nights leading up to The Blackman. Experienced no issues or dramas due to staff incompetence there!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are aware of this situation and have been in contact with the reviewer prior to this being posted. We have apologised for this technical error and although we sympathise with the guest, this is not typical of the service that we offer. This was a genuine error that we have investigated fully and we do not believe it will occur again. I am disappointed that you were unable to enjoy the hotel during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had my birthday in the penthouse in June 2013 we had an excellent time, Nathan and Nick looked after me and Nathan especially was spectacular throughout the night. Only slight shame was we had a couple of complaints from the below rooms that we hoped to rent out initially ( so this didn't happen) because of this we had to turn the music off at 11. But that aside we had a great night and would highly recommend the hotel . The penthouse has some of the best views i have experienced in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor facing albert park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Jon,

Thanks so much for your “excellent” feedback and for your recommendation of The Blackman! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your 30th birthday with us and we’d love to welcome you back for future special occasions. We’ve passed your positive comments on to Nick and Nathan, along with the rest of the team.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This review is long overdue (as my husband and I stayed at the Blackman over a year ago), but I would be remiss if I didn't share my absolute pleasure of staying at the Blackman while visiting Melbourne. Yes, the hotel is located away from CBD, but I quite liked that. It was a quick tram ride away, with the tram stop just down the street (passes can be purchased at the convenience store across the street from the tram stop). I even decided to walk a couple times and enjoyed a nice 20-30 minute walk (passing through the Royal Botanic Gardens along the way). The surrounding neighborhood is very quiet and well-kept.

The room itself was wonderful! We had a studio that included a kitchenette and a balcony. The room was very clean with plenty of room for my husband and myself. The bathroom was a little small and lacking counter space for our toiletries, but we were able to adapt. No big deal for us. The bed was VERY comfortable for us, and it was the best we'd slept the entire time we were in Australia. We wished we could take the bed and the sheets back home to the US with us!

The staff was very accommodating and courteous, and we felt welcomed.

My husband and I often talk about how much fun we had in Melbourne and how we can't wait to go back and stay at the Blackman!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable experience with us and have shared your encouraging comments with the entire team. We appreciate your mention of our comfortable beds and linens, (they’re fantastic, aren’t they!) and we’re very pleased to read that you found our location to be ideal. Your positive comments mean the world to us, and we genuinely hope to welcome you back to the Blackman if you return to Australia!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One word, exquisite. The Blackman is a gorgeous, truly wonderful hotel. Everything from the décor to the guest amenities were quirky, modern and stylish. Immaculately clean, plenty of natural light and a fresh scent made for a truly comfortable stay. The mini bar holds plenty of variety, with lots of delicious choices and even "liver detox" vitamins for those who have had one too many the night before! We were delightfully surprised to find that the mini bar items were actually cheaper than if you were to go out and buy them at a 7/11 or have a drink at a bar. You may struggle to get out of bed with the mattress being as soft as a cloud and one of the most amazing beds you may ever sleep in! You can hire bikes, or the smart car, and during the week they offer a shuttle bus service into the city (which is only a few minutes away anyway). I didn't have a chance to eat at either the Italian restaurant or the French Patisserie, but had a peak and they both looked incredible with lots of scrumptious choices! Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Erin,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We’re absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the entirety of your experience with us. We do our best to offer an experience a bit quirkier than your standard hotel, and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s ambiance, amenities, and beds! Please, move in- we’d love to have you back!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.