We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June. The rooms were spacious and luxurious with two incredible queen beds to lay our heads on at night! The view over St Kilda Rd was fantastic and service very promt. Great escape out of the hustle and bustle of the CBD! Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation of The Blackman! We’re elated to hear that you found our service to be fantastic and the room to be “luxurious”! We sincerely appreciate your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back to our property soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    269
    75
    19
    19
See reviews for
112
515
70
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Blackman staff ruined the last night of my holiday due to staff incompetence during the booking process. I booked and paid for our stay at The Blackman 6 weeks prior to the check-in day. Turned up at the hotel, discovered the booking wasn't secured (despite receiving a confirmation email stating my booking was confirmed because I'd paid in advance - a condition of the rate) and had to outlay money I wasn't expecting. Spent the night in the hotel (flight home was early the next morning) trawling through emails and records to work out what had gone wrong with the booking and if The Blackman was charging me twice. A horrible way to spend the last night of your holiday with friends for a birthday retreat (and time away from tragic friend/family/self health issues). Should've stayed on at the Crown as we were there the nights leading up to The Blackman. Experienced no issues or dramas due to staff incompetence there!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are aware of this situation and have been in contact with the reviewer prior to this being posted. We have apologised for this technical error and although we sympathise with the guest, this is not typical of the service that we offer. This was a genuine error that we have investigated fully and we do not believe it will occur again. I am disappointed that you were unable to enjoy the hotel during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had my birthday in the penthouse in June 2013 we had an excellent time, Nathan and Nick looked after me and Nathan especially was spectacular throughout the night. Only slight shame was we had a couple of complaints from the below rooms that we hoped to rent out initially ( so this didn't happen) because of this we had to turn the music off at 11. But that aside we had a great night and would highly recommend the hotel . The penthouse has some of the best views i have experienced in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor facing albert park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Jon,

Thanks so much for your “excellent” feedback and for your recommendation of The Blackman! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your 30th birthday with us and we’d love to welcome you back for future special occasions. We’ve passed your positive comments on to Nick and Nathan, along with the rest of the team.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This review is long overdue (as my husband and I stayed at the Blackman over a year ago), but I would be remiss if I didn't share my absolute pleasure of staying at the Blackman while visiting Melbourne. Yes, the hotel is located away from CBD, but I quite liked that. It was a quick tram ride away, with the tram stop just down the street (passes can be purchased at the convenience store across the street from the tram stop). I even decided to walk a couple times and enjoyed a nice 20-30 minute walk (passing through the Royal Botanic Gardens along the way). The surrounding neighborhood is very quiet and well-kept.

The room itself was wonderful! We had a studio that included a kitchenette and a balcony. The room was very clean with plenty of room for my husband and myself. The bathroom was a little small and lacking counter space for our toiletries, but we were able to adapt. No big deal for us. The bed was VERY comfortable for us, and it was the best we'd slept the entire time we were in Australia. We wished we could take the bed and the sheets back home to the US with us!

The staff was very accommodating and courteous, and we felt welcomed.

My husband and I often talk about how much fun we had in Melbourne and how we can't wait to go back and stay at the Blackman!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable experience with us and have shared your encouraging comments with the entire team. We appreciate your mention of our comfortable beds and linens, (they’re fantastic, aren’t they!) and we’re very pleased to read that you found our location to be ideal. Your positive comments mean the world to us, and we genuinely hope to welcome you back to the Blackman if you return to Australia!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One word, exquisite. The Blackman is a gorgeous, truly wonderful hotel. Everything from the décor to the guest amenities were quirky, modern and stylish. Immaculately clean, plenty of natural light and a fresh scent made for a truly comfortable stay. The mini bar holds plenty of variety, with lots of delicious choices and even "liver detox" vitamins for those who have had one too many the night before! We were delightfully surprised to find that the mini bar items were actually cheaper than if you were to go out and buy them at a 7/11 or have a drink at a bar. You may struggle to get out of bed with the mattress being as soft as a cloud and one of the most amazing beds you may ever sleep in! You can hire bikes, or the smart car, and during the week they offer a shuttle bus service into the city (which is only a few minutes away anyway). I didn't have a chance to eat at either the Italian restaurant or the French Patisserie, but had a peak and they both looked incredible with lots of scrumptious choices! Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Erin,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We’re absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the entirety of your experience with us. We do our best to offer an experience a bit quirkier than your standard hotel, and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s ambiance, amenities, and beds! Please, move in- we’d love to have you back!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

my husband and I were travelling to Melbourne for a function and I was told about the Art Series hotels by a friend, so we decided to stay at the Blackman over a long weekend. We usually stay at the Casino or in the city centre, however decided that it would be a nice change to stay a little out of the hustle and bustle. We arrived about 6:00pm on a Saturday and were checked in to a beautiful room with a balcony and little kitchenette (studio suite)- The room was decorated so nicely and had absolutely everything that you could ever need. The kitchenette had a stove top, little microwave oven, sink, full size fridge and even a dishwasher. Only downfall was that the bathrooms are a little small - but a not a big deal at all.

I had signed up as a priority member and this entitled me to 20% off in the restaurants, so we decided to have dinner in the little Italian restaurant 'Classico' downstairs. We sat at the bar and enjoyed a drink and shared pasta and pizza (which was delicious). With my free drink (priority members welcome drink) and 20% off the whole meal only cost $40...crazy!! The food was delicious and we went back again the next night as well.

We had breakfast twice in the other restaurant - 'Fleur Depot De Pain' a french style pattiserie. Food was delicious!

Both days we hired one of the hotels smart cars - for 1/2 day it was only $30 and this included the excess insurance...BARGAIN! they were very easy to drive and it meant that we could get out and about in Melbourne, without having to pay for taxis.

Overall I cannot fault this hotel, it was such a relaxing place to stay and the staff were all very helpful and friendly - I will definately be returning and checking out their other hotels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We try to provide great value to all of our guests with the Priority Guest Rewards program and hotel amenities, such as the smart cars and kronan bicycles- and we’re so happy to hear that these services enhanced your experience with us! Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Art Series Group soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a lovely night at the Blackman recently with my wife. We stayed one saturday night about a month ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Service when we checked in was excellent and the room was fantastic. We were in a corner room on one of the top levels and the views were spectacular. The balcony was enormous and although it was a bit chilly the night we stayed, we enjoyed the views as much as we could.

We didn't try the restaurant when we stayed but have heard really good things from friends who live nearby and eat there quite often. It was busy when we checked in with people enjoying lunch, packed at night and busy again in the morning- a good sign that the food is great there!

Overall it was a great nights stay and would definitely recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
What a great review! Thanks so much for your feedback and for your recommendation of The Blackman! We genuinely appreciate your encouraging comments and have shared your thoughts with the rest of the team. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.