We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
THE COLLECTORS
Ranked #7 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks in November with our young family. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we were looked after very well, every request was met with a smile (particular thanks to Hayley). Our two year old daughter was even given a little art canvas and paints as a mini welcome gift which resulted in a very happy little guest. The room was a spacious and modern design and conveniently included a small kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable and deserve a special mention! The location of the hotel was also very convenient for exploring central Melbourne and beyond. The tram stop is opposite the hotel and taxis were readily available. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service into the City; one day the shuttle was unavailable so a team member promptly offered to drive us in the hotel Range Rover and kindly dropped us off at our exact destination and not the usual set location. This hotel definitely cares about its guests and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We have a strong focus on providing outstanding customer service, and we are very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating! We’ve shared your remarks with Hayley and the rest of the team.

Again, we are so grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    739
    262
    73
    17
    19
See reviews for
104
507
68
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here for a work
Conference. Luckily our company is very close to this hotel. The hotel itself is decorated lovely and has a fantastic atmosphere. I'm loving the change from boring hotels to something with a little character.

The rooms a very large and have kitchenettes if you feel the need to cook. Beds were very comfortable for a great night sleep. Bathrooms and amenities are very nice. There is also a full bath with jets if you feel the need to relax. For the girls hotel
Has a proper hair dryer!!

I didn't eat at the hotel however the bakery downstairs looks amazing!!! And if you are a raider of the minibar you will be pleasantly surprised!

My partner is from Melbourne and I will be taking him to stay here next time we are down. Only draw back it's about $10 can ride to the Crown... If you can call that a drawback!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Jasmine,

Wow! Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We’re definitely striving to provide an atmosphere that is a bit quirkier from your standard hotel, and we’re delighted to hear that you found The Blackman’s ambiance to be “fantastic”! We’ve passed your positive feedback on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

our stay at The Blackman was for our son's wedding nearby . The room, an executive suite , was ideal for our needs. Its location close to venue and city parks was exactly right. The room was quiet, bright , well equiped and spacious and the bed very comfortable. No A/C noise at all. We enjoyed the art work very much. Best of all the staff were courteous and helpful. We can not fault this hotel and will stay again.

Room Tip: our room an executive suite was bright, quiet and spacious. the bed was very comfortable. the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Arthur,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us on such a special night! We were delighted to hear that our executive suite fit your needs and that our customer service exceeded your expectations. We love to hear such positive feedback and have passed your comments on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fantastic facilities, modern, funky, fun and friendly staff and all the magic of a winter wonderland in the presence of Greatness with the artwork of Charles Blackman everywhere. Special thanks to Alina and Nick. Xx

From the moment I walked into the reception area and was greeted by the Art work of Charles Blackman, I was sold! It was all up from there. Life sized replicas of Blackman wonderful art series, Alice in Wonderland embedded in the lift walls, the bathroom walls and on every wall of the hotel. What a treat, what an honour, what a legacy!

The loop video of Blackman's life playing in the room is education and entertaining and I am so grateful to the people who came up with the idea of honouring this great Australian artist in this way!

From the practical touches that make the difference, like shower taps on the inside of the shower entry rather than under the water spout, to the little mirror cut-outs of rabbits that appear throughout the hotel. What delight!

I'll be back! xxx

Bravo! xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Trish,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for your mention of Alina and Nick! We’ve shared your encouraging comments with them, along with the rest of the team. We just love to celebrate Charles Blackman’s artwork with our guests and we’re thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Nice hotel. Good food in the cafe downstairs and very helpful people on the front desk. We were greated upon stepping out of our shuttle and were looked after throughout our stay. A short tram ride away from everywhere that you need to go. Thank you, we will definitely be returning. The bed was also SUPER comfy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Renee,

Thank you so much for your five-star review! We do our best to provide exceptional customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to your next visit at The Blackman.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Friday and Saturday in May 2013. Our room was superb, large with a table and chairs, desk and chair, couch, very comfortable bed, kitchenette with every convenience including dishwasher. Bathroom was large and all was spotlessly clean. Small balcony.One small thing, no light over the mirror in the bathroom and as make-up had to be just right for a celebratory function this proved difficult. Only a female would be concerned so all in all a very nice place to stay. On St.Kilda road so very handy to the city and easy access to other parts of Melbourne.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Rob,

Thank you very much for recommending our property! We aim to provide each guest with a faultless stay, so we loved hearing your positive comments in regards to our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and room cleanliness. I can understand that the lighting in the bathroom might be a bit inconvenient, so if you return please contact us prior to your arrival and we’d be happy to add an extra lamp to your bathroom.

Thank you again for your encouraging feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From experience hotel receptions can be as neutral as Switzerland but we walked into a vibrant light filled space with carefully selected décor and prints by the artist Charles Blackman.
The well-groomed staff were sharp and courteous with no attempts to upsell nor talk of discount sightseeing even though I detected a quiet confidence in their own knowledge of the city and ability to arrange for a helicopter at short notice if needed.
The rest of the establishment oozes uber-chic and one would be less surprised to find elevator music performed live by Kraftwerk than by the magnificent views over Albert Park and the Bay that greeted us from our room.
Our room was big enough to entertain our eight guests without feeling cramped, it was our anniversary after all, and the complementary bottle of bubbles delivered by a part-time model a nice touch and pleasant surprise.
Away from the tourist traps of Southbank and the Crown Complex the Blackman is but a few minutes’ tram ride into town and we enjoyed a night out in this great city to return to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Damian,

What a great review! We strive to create a chic, but welcoming atmosphere and we’re so happy to hear that your time at The Blackman exceeded your expectations. I can’t confirm or deny whether we have part- time models working here, but our team members were all very flattered when reading your review!

Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your response with all departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.