We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY 2 SAVE 20%
Ranked #7 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on a Friday and Saturday in May 2013. Our room was superb, large with a table and chairs, desk and chair, couch, very comfortable bed, kitchenette with every convenience including dishwasher. Bathroom was large and all was spotlessly clean. Small balcony.One small thing, no light over the mirror in the bathroom and as make-up had to be just right for a celebratory function this proved difficult. Only a female would be concerned so all in all a very nice place to stay. On St.Kilda road so very handy to the city and easy access to other parts of Melbourne.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Rob,

Thank you very much for recommending our property! We aim to provide each guest with a faultless stay, so we loved hearing your positive comments in regards to our spacious rooms, comfortable beds, and room cleanliness. I can understand that the lighting in the bathroom might be a bit inconvenient, so if you return please contact us prior to your arrival and we’d be happy to add an extra lamp to your bathroom.

Thank you again for your encouraging feedback and we hope to see you again at The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    742
    263
    73
    17
    19
See reviews for
106
507
68
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

From experience hotel receptions can be as neutral as Switzerland but we walked into a vibrant light filled space with carefully selected décor and prints by the artist Charles Blackman.
The well-groomed staff were sharp and courteous with no attempts to upsell nor talk of discount sightseeing even though I detected a quiet confidence in their own knowledge of the city and ability to arrange for a helicopter at short notice if needed.
The rest of the establishment oozes uber-chic and one would be less surprised to find elevator music performed live by Kraftwerk than by the magnificent views over Albert Park and the Bay that greeted us from our room.
Our room was big enough to entertain our eight guests without feeling cramped, it was our anniversary after all, and the complementary bottle of bubbles delivered by a part-time model a nice touch and pleasant surprise.
Away from the tourist traps of Southbank and the Crown Complex the Blackman is but a few minutes’ tram ride into town and we enjoyed a night out in this great city to return to the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Damian,

What a great review! We strive to create a chic, but welcoming atmosphere and we’re so happy to hear that your time at The Blackman exceeded your expectations. I can’t confirm or deny whether we have part- time models working here, but our team members were all very flattered when reading your review!

Your positive comments mean the world to us and we’ve shared your response with all departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently celebrated my 30th birthday in Melbourne and after some research on Trip Advisor we chose to spend three nights at the Blackman.

The room was immaculate, modern and furnished in a wonderful quirky style; loved the rabbits! Kitchenette was functional with modern appliances and the T2 tea was a lovely surprise. The Bathroom was clean, new and chic; the white bathrobes and slippers were a wonderful touch. The Bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet with no noise from neighbouring rooms and minimal traffic noise.

We had a nice meal at the Italian restaurant on site and made use of the patisserie for breakfasts.

The staff members were great. It was wonderful finding a bottle of complimentary birthday bubbly on ice waiting for us in the room on the second day.

The price was pretty reasonable too, working out at about $170 per night.

It's very rare that we find a hotel that ticks all the boxes and we will definitely be returning for future Melbourne trips.

Room Tip: Our corner room had a double balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Agatha,

Wow! Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We love to hear such positive feedback, and we’ve passed your encouraging comments on to the team. We’re thrilled that you chose The Blackman for such a special occasion, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel next time that you’re in town!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed this weekend. Room cost $355 for the two nights. Staff pleasant, location good with tram stop at the corner, elevators efficient, decor lovely, our room not large but had kitchenette and two small balconies, bed excellent. Downside - very dim lighting, could not see to read or see heating controls, asked for heating to be turned up but staff obviously inexperienced & it did not heat all night:(. Two bulbs in bathroom blown and sink would not drain properly even after telling staff. They knew there were problems, it's enough to make us think twice, unfortunate as it is so close to a top rating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Glenda and Mike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We genuinely value our customers’ comments and I’m very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am however, disappointed to hear our staff did not immediately respond to the maintenance problems you experienced during your stay. This type of service is simply below our standards, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. I hope that you’ll give us another chance to provide the five-star customer service you both deserve!

If you return, please contact me prior to your arrival and I’ll make sure to personally look after your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
03 9039 1444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel aside from the smoke detector green light above my bed. This is obviously not an issue for most, but if your a light sleeper it is as if your sleeping under an exit sign. Consequently since the main reason for staying is to sleep...the excellent service, hotel and room design and quirkiness can't compete. We stayed in a deluxe studio suite twin balcony, beds separated by the bathroom (great) looking onto a building (avoid if possible). Easy access to city via Tram 3/3a, 6, 16, 64 or 72 from stop 23 slater st (across the road from hotel on st kilda rd). If you stay you will be amazed (just bring an eye mask)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate both your positive and constructive comments, as we are constantly searching for means to improve our guests’ experiences.

I am delighted to hear that you found our customer service to be excellent and our location to be convenient, but I’m disappointed that the smoke detector in your room had such a negative effect on your stay. As the main reason to use a hotel is to sleep, I can certainly understand how this must have been frustrating. I can assure you that not all of our rooms are set up this way, so we don’t find this to be a common complaint. If you return, (which we genuinely hope that you do), please mention this to our reservations department prior to your arrival, and we’ll do our best to ensure that you are allocated a room with the smoke detector in a different location.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back The Blackman soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The moon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A welcome sideways step away from the traditional 5 star beige formula, The Blackman is fresh, new, edgy and vibrant. Dark hallways to the lift area slightly reminiscent of a nightclub, but forgiveable amidst fresh stimulating décor and spotless rooms with quirky, artistic quality throughout. A pleasure to stay, and service was excellent. Faultless. The perfect base to explore the best of arts and culture in this amazing city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Jason,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We try to give our guests an impressionable and unique experience, and we’re elated to hear that your stay was “faultless”! We hope to see you again at The Blackman soon.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm so glad I did.This was my first time visiting Melbourne so I wanted something a little different from the 'stock-standard' hotel and the Blackman certainly delivered.

We stayed in the Deluxe Studio Suite Twin Balcony and the configuration was perfect for my mother and I. Two queen beds separated by the bathroom gave us each our own space (I understand not all twin rooms are configured this way- I put a request in for this room type). The rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished- no expense had been spared. Small comforts like art books, robes and nice drink/food items in the mini bar/kitchenette made the experience as well.

It isn't smack-bang in the CBD but I quite liked it that way. There is a tram stop on St Kilda Road out the front and we walked to and from the city a couple of times so it wasn't too far. It's also quite close to St Kilda which we loved visiting as well as a nice walk to Chapel St.

There are two restaurants downstairs which I would also highly recommend; 'Classico' for dinner and Fleur Depot De Pain' for our breakfasts.

I enjoyed it so much that I can confidently say that I wouldn't stay anywhere else upon return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Ash,

What a great review! We love to hear such positive remarks and have passed your feedback on to the team. We definitely aim to offer our guests an experience different from the “stock standard”, and I’m thrilled that your stay with us lived up to your expectations.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.